? Spike 9/14, AMPS 439, 0.75 Fat Given.

Lee Renfro

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/spike-7-25-pmps-369-1-0u-given-5-0-257.265731/

Spike saw the Vet this afternoon. With the Benazepril, his BUN as well as Creatanine & other lab numbers are holding stable and basically the same as they were 60 days ago. She said that with me/us doing home bg testing, to just keep doing what we are doing and set his next appointment for February unless there is cause for concern. She renewed his Benazapril and gave me a 180 day supply.

I'm just checking in with y'all @FrostD and @Suzanne & Darcy. Oh, and yes, it hit 106° on my sensors at 3pm today here at home.
 
Hmm. Looks like something needs to be reworked just not sure what...

I think I like the 1.1 fat above 300, and the 0.5 skinny today...it's a good balance between capping a bounce, but no hypo if he doesn't bounce. Something in the 200 range seems to be wonky but can't say. I guess you could try some skinnies if he's in the 200s?
 
Hmm. Looks like something needs to be reworked just not sure what...

I think I like the 1.1 fat above 300, and the 0.5 skinny today...it's a good balance between capping a bounce, but no hypo if he doesn't bounce. Something in the 200 range seems to be wonky but can't say. I guess you could try some skinnies if he's in the 200s?
Sorry I haven't been keeping the thread updated lately, but SS is up to date. Pls look at yesterday and see remarks column for yesterday...a bad bounce i think, but with regular dose amount, he was back to normal levels by next shot time.. And oddly enuf, he's been a laid back kitty.

I'll try my darndest to get more tests in SS, so you can see if we need to adjust.

Should I record the high or low number when my OCD kicks in and I get 2 results from same earprick??? Because that 476 was also 512!!!

When is a good time to change batteries in meter. It's not saying it's low, but better current might equal better testing ..lol. factory batteries used since 3/2/2022.

Have a great day.
 
Last edited:
That was a nice catch with the 140. Tells me that dose you gave was probably spot on. Next time you get a mid yellow preshot, see if you can get a midcycle one in. I know it's challenging. Not critical, just something is telling me those doses are a little off.

My meter was down to one bar on the battery indicator and it started throwing higher numbers, back to normal once I changed. So, worth a try I guess? But I used my meter for 2+ years before the battery got that low.

Split the difference? Lol
 
I'm just checking in @FrostD and @Suzanne & Darcy . Please take a look at Spikes SS at your convenience. There isn't anything wrong, but I am just touching base with y'all and the group.

I hope you're feeling better by now and that everyone is well. Thank y'all so much and have a great day.
 
I was looking last night and just shaking my head at these blue starts and pink finishes lol Oh Spike. I think the 0.5U might have been too much given that it looks like he bounced a bit after.

I think you're just stuck in a holding pattern! Not much else to do.

(And yes we are all good!)
 
Hi @FrostD and @Suzanne & Darcy. Finally a week of rain here in Nkrtheast Texas to drop the Temps. Spike has been doing well in my opinion. Please check out his SS and see what he's been up to lately.

I hope y'all and everyone's kitties have been doing well.
 
He looks pretty good! The only thing I'd say is keep an eye on those cycles that start blue/yellow and end in pink, mostly look for trends and see if maybe time to adjust the scale. It's not a consistent trend, but I do wonder how low he may be going and if it's causing a bounce. I don't think it's too low but also don't like to say for certain.
 
He looks pretty good! The only thing I'd say is keep an eye on those cycles that start blue/yellow and end in pink, mostly look for trends and see if maybe time to adjust the scale. It's not a consistent trend, but I do wonder how low he may be going and if it's causing a bounce. I don't think it's too low but also don't like to say for certain.
Ok, I'll try to get some +4 and/or +7 readings for you. Are you thinking that when he's in the low 200's like 201-229 that he should get a .4u skinny dose? We might want to discount tonites PMPS@408 because I brought indoors the barn kitties dry food this am and sure enuf, Spike was sitting on the table washing his face by the now empty bowl when I returned this pm. It's been quite a while since I messed up on doing that, but Spike is ever vigilant...lol

How goes it these days?
 
Ok, I'll try to get some +4 and/or +7 readings for you. Are you thinking that when he's in the low 200's like 201-229 that he should get a .4u skinny dose? We might want to discount tonites PMPS@408 because I brought indoors the barn kitties dry food this am and sure enuf, Spike was sitting on the table washing his face by the now empty bowl when I returned this pm. It's been quite a while since I messed up on doing that, but Spike is ever vigilant...lol

How goes it these days?
That's what I'm thinking possibly, yes. It's hard to say whether he's bouncing from going legitimately too low, or just a little lower than he's used to.

Spike!

Everything is well over here, thanks! Busy busy with the end of summer trying to get everything done with yardwork, etc, plus prepare for baby.
 
Hi @FrostD and @Suzanne & Darcy. Finally a week of rain here in Nkrtheast Texas to drop the Temps. Spike has been doing well in my opinion. Please check out his SS and see what he's been up to lately.

I hope y'all and everyone's kitties have been doing well.
Lee! How are you? I did wonder when I saw that red on Spike’s sheet for last night! But then I read what you said about the dry food! Lol. Spike must have been quite proud of himself!

We are back into a very rainy pattern here in Georgia again- I’m tired of it, but it does help keep the temperatures down. I’m also very grateful that we are not having flooding like other parts of the country.

I’ve been super busy and stressed dealing with a very sick cat - my calico Ginger with a bad heart. I thought it was all over since we’ve had two crises and two taps to remove fluid from around her lungs — but she’s made a fantastic turn around with the right medications now. She’s like a whole different cat.

How are your other kitties doing, Lee?
 
Thought I'd check in with y'all. Things have been going good for me and Spike and I feel he was doing really well for several days, but over the past 48 hours he's scored a couple of really high numbers that I'd like some eyes on. @FrostD and @Suzanne & Darcy , if yall could take a gander at his SS I'd really like yalls input.

I do hope yall have been doing great.
 
All's well here! We finally broke the heat

Hmm I guess two separate thoughts:

It could just be the wonkiness of that food working it's way out

Or, you might want to change the scale. Get rid of the 1U, so you're left with 0.75U any time above 250. Given how low he is at the preshots after giving 1U, I'm a little concerned that dose may be too high. I'd consider skinnying the 0.5U as well...I'm not entirely convinced that red the other night was just from food, plus he's ended up mid/high pink a few times after a 0.5U.

Those aren't suggestions I'd normally make because his preshots are good, but I just have to be cautious given testing limitations.

Or, you could do nothing lol his preshots at least look really good for the most part...just the midcycle that concerns me
 
All's well here! We finally broke the heat

Hmm I guess two separate thoughts:

It could just be the wonkiness of that food working it's way out

Or, you might want to change the scale. Get rid of the 1U, so you're left with 0.75U any time above 250. Given how low he is at the preshots after giving 1U, I'm a little concerned that dose may be too high. I'd consider skinnying the 0.5U as well...I'm not entirely convinced that red the other night was just from food, plus he's ended up mid/high pink a few times after a 0.5U.

Those aren't suggestions I'd normally make because his preshots are good, but I just have to be cautious given testing limitations.

Or, you could do nothing lol his preshots at least look really good for the most part...just the midcycle that concerns me
I think we should try ur advise on changing the 1.0u to .75u and making all the 0.5u doses at least on the skinny side like maybe 0.4u. If it gets crazy or out of control over the next few days, I'm sure I'll be asking you to look at it. It's just so hard when I see a high 350+ PS and not want to give a full unit. Starting tomorrow, I'll go with this new plan. We can always revert back if it's apparent that it's not working.

Thank you so much for your input.
 
Hmm not so sure I like this rainbow trend lately on the SS. He's had some nice nadirs this way, but isn't as stable. Perhaps give it another week and see how he does.
 
Hmm not so sure I like this rainbow trend lately on the SS. He's had some nice nadirs this way, but isn't as stable. Perhaps give it another week and see how he does.
I've updated his SS as of this AM but somehow it didn't save yesterday's PMPS. I'll fix it when I get back home and re-read the meter memory. Please check out the current data points. I hated seeing all those mid-reds in there. This AM he got a 0.50u as he was cruising at 213 I think. But it was scary just the other day for sure.

I'll continue this reduced route until you say it's time for a change. It's weird how the reduction is working.
 
Hmm not so sure I like this rainbow trend lately on the SS. He's had some nice nadirs this way, but isn't as stable. Perhaps give it another week and see how he does.
Tonite he was into the black for the first time in ages. I raised his dose to 0.9u tonite, because as you said, this .75u and reduced doses aren't giving stable numbers. I plan on getting a couple tests in tonite. Please let me know what you are thinking when you get a chance. Thank you so much.
 
Spike!

I was actually waiting for PMPS, because I was suspecting that 0.5U in low 200s is too much.

So I'm thinking 0.25U in the 150-225 range, 0.5U 226-275, 0.75U above that.

Hopefully it was the 0.5U throwing everything out of whack, and by adjusting that he settles down....will take a few days of course
 
Spike!

I was actually waiting for PMPS, because I was suspecting that 0.5U in low 200s is too much.

So I'm thinking 0.25U in the 150-225 range, 0.5U 226-275, 0.75U above that.

Hopefully it was the 0.5U throwing everything out of whack, and by adjusting that he settles down....will take a few days of course
Well darn! I sorta screwed up and went the wrong direction tonite then. When I saw 508/505, I jacked it up to a solid 0.9u dose. I hope that he don't crater then bounce tonite.

Should I write down the dosing on the above msg and use it for now?

I'm off tomorrow as I've got 2 different med appointments in the AM. I can get a AMPS+5 or +6 tomorrow.

I just knew I should have just gave him his usual 0.75u tonite, but it's been done now. That original vial is 6 months 5 days old today.
 
Ah this looks a little better, if he doesn't jinx me!
Well, I Jinxd him today. I MISSED his AM shot and he is at 396 now at 11:30am!!! What should I do? Just wait until his pM shot time now??? He is at 396/404.

I totally overslept on the alarm today, my only day off.
 
Last edited:
Ah sorry didn't see this. I think just skipping altogether is best given your schedule, because his next shot would have had to be at least 11 hrs from whenever you shot
 
Ah sorry didn't see this. I think just skipping altogether is best given your schedule, because his next shot would have had to be at least 11 hrs from whenever you shot
Yes, that's what I figured and I'll be back at work tomorrow.

He was 437/438 @6:00PM so I waited in order to stay on track. All seems well with him and I'll get a +4 or +5 tonite hoping it's bringing him down.

Hope your weekend was good. Mine has been awkward to say the least. It's been a long time since I screwed up on Spikes shot time...lol
 
I think he's just trying to get back on track. The only dose that would possibly have been too much was the 0.5 fat but I really don't think so

That or he's stealing food on you again!
 
I think he's just trying to get back on track. The only dose that would possibly have been too much was the 0.5 fat but I really don't think so

That or he's stealing food on you again!
He was 439/466 this AM. He was outside on the patio with no food for 6 hours b4 I let him in and checked him. Do you think that I need a new bottle of insulin? Mine is 6 months 11 days old today. The vet told me that it really doesn't expire once it's been punctured but the bottle says 80 days...lol

Spike seems to be fine and is eating, but I really haven't seen him scarfing down his groceries like he's done all of his life. He just eats a couple bites and goes and gets a drink then he's done for awhile. He seems happy and begs to lounge on the back porch. I keep him indoors while I'm gone with plenty of food and water for him.

I'm getting a bit worried that he doesn't seem to ever go into the mid blues that I can tell.
 
He did on the 10th and very likely the 12th as well.

No, the insulin is still working, you can see it's still dropping him quite a bit. That said, 6 months is about the upper limit so it wouldn't hurt to get a new one.
 
Back
Top