Spicoli pt 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wesley and Spicoli

Member Since 2017
pmps 463 He didnt rise much after the +6. I do regret not giving him more insulin this morning but not being around today...I just didn't feel comfortable with more than 1.25u. Since we shot late last night, tonight will be the first 3u dose.

I hope I get to see a blue before bed :)
 
No blues yet... but he did at least drop 50% at nadir. AMPS- 480 +6.5- 238. His nadir is usually +5 just wish I had been home to grab that number. Curve day tomorrow :)
 
Nice! And getting closer to those blues anyway.

I'm still curious what has thrown him out of remission. Or remission-ish anyway. This seems like such a dramatic shift from where he was a couple of weeks ago. I wish they could talk.
 
I'm still curious what has thrown him out of remission.
You and me both. We've had our ups and downs before but nothing this drastic. He does have suspected IBD, but no surgery yet since a food change /probiotics helped greatly. Who knows...he likes to throw curveballs.
 
Yikes! We have not had a pretty curve today. I wonder if he was bouncing from that early yellow..but probably not.

We finished our ear drops Friday, but he's still shaking his head and sneezing a little so I think we may go back into the vets to see if his ear has actually healed and he hasn't developed an upper respiratory infection. He was sneezing the time before when he stayed over at the vets but they didn't think he had one at the time.
 
Ah I haven't done one today. I need to stay on top of those better! Gosh it's been 2 weeks.... I'll try to catch him in the act tonight. His litter box isn't far from where I watch TV/Computer so if he goes it'll be easy for me to run over. Thanks for the reminder :)
 
Yikes is right on those numbers today! I suppose it's possible he bounced from something lower last night, later in the cycle.

The good news is that he actually had a pretty decent curve, considering where he started. Let's hope 3.25u shows some nicer colors.
 
It looks like he's hitting nadir somewhere around +4-+5, so you could just grab those two hours if you want to give his ears a break.
 
Yuck. Another ugly day. I noted on my SS that his fur did smell like insulin at the injection site, but i think it was from a drop on the tip on the needle since his fur wasn't wet. I switched him back to FF classics last night because I wasn't happy with how picky he was being with the other foods. He has been asking for food most of the day, but he had also lost 2.5 lbs before he was hospitalized 2 weeks ago - so I'm just letting him eat as much FF as he wants while I'm home. Could be part of his high numbers today.
 
That is an ugly +8. The food may be contributing, but FWIW I think feeding him if he's hungry is the right decision. At those numbers he isn't going to be absorbing as much from his food as he should, so the extra calories will be good for him. Are you going to increase again in the morning?
 
Assuming 3.5 doesn't end up to be the magical number, I would say after that to go up to 0.5u increases.
 
So still running a little high at 3.5u. It seems strange to me that his nadir with 2.5 and 3.5 don't vary much. It looks to me that he pretty much has been responding to those doses the same way. Is this because we just haven't hit our breakthrough dose?

I guess we're moving up to 4u tonight.

Vet apt. Friday since he's still a little sneezy and now pawing at his other ear. The poor thing. It's been a rough year for my old man.
 
He's not looking too bad, really...sure those preshots are high, but you're getting some nice yellows mid cycle. My guess is you haven't hit the breakthrough dose yet and you just need to keep moving up consistently and you'll get there. If you look over his SS, he was getting all pinks mid cycle and now he's getting yellows...which tells me you're getting closer!
 
Yup, he's getting a little bouncy which is actually a good sign sometimes. It may be a ways still, but it does indicate that the insulin is at least enough to do something even if it isn't quite doing what you want it to yet. If you go up to 4u tonight, make sure to grab a test as late as you can.

Sorry to hear he's still a little under the weather. Hopefully whatever that is will clear up soon!
 
I agree with Rachel and Djamila. Try 4 u either tonight or tomorrow AM. His numbers are slowly improving - ignore the bounces and focus on the mid cycle.
 
If you look over his SS
I stare at that damn thing all the time lol and thanks for taking a look. I know we're getting closer, just not quick enough for impatient me. :)

Sorry to hear he's still a little under the weather
He hasn't really been acting sickly, except yesterday morning and that was just acid reflux, so we did some pepcid and nausea meds. Just want to make sure there's nothing still going on there... I put some Dexamethasone solution on the little area outside his ear and it actually helped... He gets itchy sometimes.

ignore the bounces and focus on the mid cycle.
I HAVE to focus on those mid cycle numbers more. Those high preshots get discouraging...

Did 4u tonight. PMPS was 537. Forgot to add that to SS earlier.
 
Went to the vet today. His bacterial infection in his right ear was gone, but now he has a yeasty infection in both. We were given Surolan for that - 2x daily. Also was given a Convenia injection since he's been sneezy on and off for 8 weeks and Dr A just wanted to make sure we didn't have an upper respiratory infection that wasn't showing up on blood work since his WBC count was normal. I had talked to the vet about this before but I guess it was pushed to the side since we had a few other problems going on at the time.

AMPS 522
+7 212 :) new low for us
 
Wow! That 212 is great! I really hope that convenia injection kicks a$$ on whatever infection he has and helps him out.
 
In all fairness, I have no idea what his nadir was today... and +7 212 I imagine he dipped into actual safe "normal" numbers and his little body went into emergency mode.
 
Last edited:
So previous to our latest "high" times, he didn't bounce this much. Is there any way to decrease these bounces or is he just being a slow learner even though he's been in good normal ranges before?
 
There are two main directions with that. First, there are some kitties that are bouncy and there isn't a whole lot you can do about it. Second, you hold the dose longer. However, you don't want to do that until you're getting a nadir that's under 200. You're getting close. Once that happens, then you'll slow down the increases to every six cycles, or maybe even longer. So you raise the dose, the kitty responds and drops lower....then sticks up high for a few cycles, and then either starts to respond again, or stays stuck and you do the next increase.
 
First, there are some kitties that are bouncy and there isn't a whole lot you can do about it.
Oh dear. Thats promising :)

Once that happens, then you'll slow down the increases to every six cycles, or maybe even longer.
I had no idea. Thanks for this. I was reading over all the prozinc stickies tonight and either missed this or perhaps it wasn't mentioned?
I'm certain his nadir for today would have been under 200. Usually +5 +6 is our lowest and I had to work... but that +7 gave me some good insight all the same. Work tomorrow too, but curve on Sunday. So I think I'm going to hold at 4u till at least Sunday.
 
I was reading over all the prozinc stickies tonight and either missed this or perhaps it wasn't mentioned?

Oops. yes, that would be because it isn't in one of our stickies. It's in the TR protocol and we don't have a copy of that over here (although we probably should have our own version). You can find it in the Lantus forum, and I believe the idea of increasing every three cycles and then slowing down once you get sub-200 nadirs may have also come from reading around in old threads. It's definitely more of an idea than a rule and requires some flexibility in figuring out what will work best for Spicoli.

I agree that he may well have hit a blue earlier in the cycle today. You could hold the dose now, or do just a little increase to 4.25 since he'll probably be high and flat from the bounce, and is still in safe enough numbers. Go with whatever seems best to you.
 
4.25 defiantly seems like an option and I actually mentioned that dose to our vet today (after telling him I didn't do his recommended 1u increases) and he agreed. I obviously don't jump to what is recommended by him and I explained to him why today and he didn't object. It did make me feel pretty good when he told me I was far more on top of this than many FD cat owners (slaves :)) that he's dealt with. Couldn't do it without you guys!! :)
 
On the bright side with the bouncy kitties, they USUALLY stop bouncing over time...the problem is they jump back on the trampoline too! We did have one kitty here MANY years ago who bounced his way right into remission!
 
Thanks!! I was a little panicky since we haven't had a preshot that low in forever (except when I had to shoot early). He must be feeling better because he hasn't eaten as well as tonight in forever. Nearly made it through 2 cans of FF :)
 
So we've been at 4.25u for 9 cycles. He did finally give me that blue, but I'm wondering if I should do another increase or hold where I am and try and let this bouncing calm down a bit?
 
I was thinking so...


I haven't this week... Things have been crazy around here with getting married on Friday... I doubt that he will go tonight but I'll catch him after he has breakfast. And as always thanks for the reminder!! :)
Yes, you've had other things on your mind! Congratulations! :smuggrin:
 
upload_2017-8-4_12-27-28.png
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top