Spicoli pt 2

Status
Not open for further replies.
well now that all this craziness has calmed down, I'm back.

We moved up to 5u but this evening when i got home he was at +10 124, we arent due for a shot for 1.75hrs... but I worry that he had actually dropped too low today while I was at work.
I know he's not going to rise 300 pts before its shot time, so should I reduce or just stay and try to get a few extra tests through the night?
 
First of all, congratulations! How was the wedding?

As for Spicoli, he might surprise you. Cats can go up a lot in those last two hours. The last hour, especially. If he isn't there yet, but clearly rising (pink?), you could probably go ahead with your normal dose since that's a pretty odd number. If he only makes it to yellow.....ugh....these choices are always so hard. Most of the time when we reduce, we didn't need to and they end up higher. But sometimes they really are on a low run, and giving the full dose can mean you won't get much sleep, and Spicoli will get lots of high carb treats. I have no doubt you could manage the monitoring and steering, but it depends on how tired you are, and how early you have to get up in the morning? It's important to take care of yourself in this whole process.
 
The wedding was an old fashion Justice of the Peace wedding. His parents were visiting and the week before we decided what could be better than having all our parents there :) I never really cared for having an actual wedding or planning it for that matter. And thanks :)

I don't have work tomorrow, so as long as he rises quite a bit I'll more than likely just shoot 5u. I regretted the time before when I reduced because I had to shoot early and he was super high that night. If he's only in the 200s I think I might just go for 4u.

I'll update closer to shot time. Gonna go grab some more cat treats...
 
So we're 20 mins till... 173.
I can't really stall tonight as I do have a thing I have to do. But that'd mean I can't shoot till +3pmps...
 
So 124 to 173? Will you be back by +3 to monitor?

I think at least a little reduction would probably be safest. Especially if you're going out tonight and won't be around.
 
259 reduced to 4u... will watch till +5

have plenty of supplies just in case he starts dropping too fast.

nice to see him this low though. maybe he ran out of bounce fuel
 
Last edited:
So I had bumped him up to ~5.25 (had to get syringes from vet only had whole unit markings) but it seems his nadir has changed and is later than it had been before... So I'm thinking about backing down to 5 and running a full curve tomorrow. He's still bouncing ALOT but hey, what can you do.

AMPS 562
+2 383
+5 247
+8 112
 
I don't think I'd back down on the dose. he's still in plenty high numbers. But I would hold this dose for a bit until he settles down. A full curve sounds like a good idea as it does look like the nadir is hitting pretty late.
 
I don't think I'd back down on the dose.
Oh, gosh too late :) I'll put him back up to 5.25 in the AM.

A full curve sounds like a good idea as it does look like the nadir is hitting pretty late.
It's so weird! His nadir used to be +5 +6 but that's obviously not the case anymore... Is there anything that could be causing this? Or is it just the way it is?

I still have so much to learn.

So relieved to see some good (well, better) numbers lately!!!
 
It can just be because he's a cat. It can also sometimes be a hint that the dose is a little too high, but that's usually accompanied by some low dives. Although now that I say that....562 to 112 could certainly be called a pretty steep dive, even if not a particularly low one. My hesitance in having you lower the dose is just that I'm honestly more afraid of DKA than I am of hypos, and Spicoli keeps hanging out in those high numbers that make me nervous. Plus, it's just nice to see some better numbers on your spreadsheet!

It does look like he might need a couple of extra cycles at this dose though. You should start to see either a) the pre-shots start to wiggle down a little, or b) the nadirs start to rise back up again. If (b) happens, then you'll know it's time to raise the dose again. If (a) happens, we'll have to watch and decide.
 
Now I really regret taking him down that .25 tonight even though his preshot was a little lower than it has been. DKA scares the crap out of me and I really don't want him to go through that.
Will do the 5.25 tomorrow...along with a curve and another ketone test.

He's had no symptoms of DKA but I think as long as he's hanging out in these high preshot numbers I'm going to try to grab a ketone test every 2-3 days just to be safe. Which I should have already been doing.

On a more positive note I really feel like we're finally getting close to where we should be :) The past several days he's actually been running to me at the door when I get in from work, and all around more playful and demanding. Such a momma's boy, but I wouldn't have it any other way.
 
Another thing to remember is that he is more than just a number. You want to focus on how he's doing besides numbers. If he seems happy and playful and himself that's good! Do get ketone tests like you said...more is better while he's in high numbers but don't worry too much. If DKA was going to happen I think you'd know fairly quickly just from how he acted.
 
He's much more. He had a few different ear infections (bacterial then yeast) and is just really getting over that. It's so nice to see him happy again, at least for the most part. He's been confined indoors for quite a few weeks now and just isn't giving up.
 
No no, I'm sure he's fine tonight! Please don't worry.

It is a good idea to test when you can, as Rachel said, but you'd notice if he stopped eating and was out of sorts too.

It's so good to hear that he's starting run around more and play! I wonder if the ear problems finally clearing up might be contributing to the appearance of those blues? Fingers crossed they start showing up more often!
 
I wonder if the ear problems finally clearing up might be contributing to the appearance of those blues?
Could be possible... Also I think that both ear meds he was on contained steriods (Tresederm and Surolan). The vet said it couldn't be possible that that was keeping them elevated but I wonder.
 
Could be possible... Also I think that both ear meds he was on contained steriods (Tresederm and Surolan). The vet said it couldn't be possible that that was keeping them elevated but I wonder.
I do think that there can a little absorption of topical or inhaled steroids. Example: humans who are on inhaled steroids for asthma long term are prone to developing a specific type of cataract.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top