Socks pmps 293 advice on dose

Sock's mom

Member Since 2024
Hi again, I don't think I'm posting correctly so I apologize. I just was hoping someone could give me info on if I'm doing something wrong with my cat and her doses. Someone suggested i drop her dose from 1unit to .75 bc the 1 unit was dropping her number pretty low so i wasn't able to give her 2nd dose. Now her numbers seem very high even after insulin. They raised throughout the day today rather than dropping. I'm feeding her about 3 cans of FF per day. Is that too much? She eats about 1/2 the can in the morning and every few hours all day she follows me meowing like she is hungry so i will open a new can if she has grazed enough to finish her previous can. I always check her BG before I feed her and today it raised all day. I had to give her am dose late because her numbers were 158 amps so i didnt give a shot, 188 +1.50, and I couldnt get back home until +4 after her shot time to retest and give insulin and at that time it was 258 and raised all day after. Normally I would be home to do a shot every 12 hours. I've only been doing this 6 days and I feel super overwhelmed and don't think I'm doing it right or maybe im over feeding her? .75 seems like such a tiny amount and looks like about 5 drops or less in the syringe and is so hard to judge the amount. Maybe she is too fat under her skin where I poked her today so the insulin didn't absorb? Idk I'm just worried.
 
Hi Kelsey! It’s totally normal to feel how you’re feeling being only 6 days in. I think a lot of folks here would agree that the logistics get easier (testing, shooting, etc.). Hang in there.

How much does Socks weigh?

There are calculators online that will give you an idea on how many calories to feed, then do the math on the cans (FF pate 3 oz cans are like 90 calories each). For reference, I feed my 18 pound guy a little over 300 calories per day, which is 3 to 4 cans.
 
I never thought to look up how many calories she should be getting. She weighs 11 pounds so I bet I am letting her graze way more than she should be. She has always been a cat that would mindlessly eat her dry food anytime she walked by it lol so I think she probably just likes the taste of this and wants to eat lol
 
Welcome. Sorry nobody got back to you about dosing. Here’s your post from the main forum. We link the previous post each day for continuity.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/first-post-newly-diabetic-cat.296989/#post-3232392
When following SLGS the does is lowered the next cycle if the bg falls under 90 and that becomes the new dose for 7 days UNLESS you catch another drop under 90 after you reduce the dose sooner. If so you reduce again.

As for the way to post your title, you need the date but you got the important info. The posting guidelines are in a sticky at the top of this forum.

As for why the bg rose it’s most likely because of a bounce. When the cat’s bg drops lower than normal for a cat, the body reacts and the bg rises. Bounces can take up to 4 or more cycles to clear or clear quickly.


  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
Hi Kelsey! It's normal to feel overwhelmed, and I am impressed by how well you are already managing all that!
Her appetite should stabilize once she is regulated, at first diabetics are starving because they do not process carbs normally. I think it's fine to feed her often, usually it's recommended to feed mostly in the first half of the cycle (up to +5-6), and if you can, try to take away food for the last 2 hours before shot time, at least until you have a good idea about how food influences her blood glucose.
Her numbers are high today, probably for several reasons: you skipped 2 shots in the last few days (and you were right to do so), you decreased (again, you were right), so her insulin depot is not as full as it was. She could also be bouncing: her body is not used to low numbers and reacts to that. She might already be on her way down from the bounce (those pink high numbers yesterday).
I am linking your last posts here for continuity, so members who answer you can see Sock's story :-)
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-31-socks-amps-158ns-188-1-25.297055/
First post..newly diabetic cat
 
Thank you everyone! I haven't sat down to chart to her SS yet but her numbers weren't this morning so I skipped her dose because they were still 120 4 hours after her shot time. Does that mean I need to lower her dose to .5u at her pm shot if her BG is high enough for her shot? And leave it at .5u for at least a week?
 
I would stick with .75 as well. If the bg falls under 90 then a decrease is rearmed. It’s already going up. You don’t want to make dosing decisions at +4. A lot can happen from then until pmps as you can see. To see 120 at +4 is a good nadir. Looks like a bounce is starting again.
 
Kelsey - on the Lantus board, you start a new thread every day. The thread should have the date, your cat's name, and you list the blood glucose values for the day in the subject line.

I think people may be looking at the numbers from yesterday. Given that your AMPS today was 64, you need to reduce Sock's dose. Given the subject line on this thread, people are not looking at today's values.

It's also important get a minimum of one test during the PM cycle. A point for your consideration -- it's very likely that Sock's numbers fell below 90 last night. He had to get from his PMPS of 293 to his AMPS of 64 and likely dropped below 90 during the PM cycle.
 
I'm really sorry about not making a new post for today. I will do that and won't reply to this one after this. I didn't even think about it. Thank you everyone for the help and information. I'll make sure to test more often after pm shot
 
Back
Top