GA Snuffles

Status
Not open for further replies.

Larry and Kitties

Member Since 2009
I said goodbye to Snuffles on June 7. He was losing is appetite At the end his no longer needed insulin. WHich can be a surprise for an acromegaly cat.

I adopted Snuffles as an untreated diabetic on Dec 9, 2018. He was urinated outside the litter box. When I started treatment his insulin needs rapidly increased. Based on my experience w/my previous acromegaly cat, MurrFee, I thought that might mean acromegaly. He was tested for it and the results showed he had acromegaly. I started cabergoline and his insulin needs decreased and stabilized at ~8 units. I could maintain his BG below 130. However, i very very seldom obtained BGs between shots since he was mean and sent be to the dr once and ER another time when ripped my arm even though I was wearing a long sleeve t shirt and sweatshirt.

Because he was difficult to handle I concluded diagnostic tests were not accomplish anything since I could not safely medicate/treat him.
 
I’m sorry you lost Snuffles, Larry. You really are amazing to have done so much for him when he was so difficult to medicate. I am surprised you were able to shoot insulin twice a day, let alone give Cabergoline. How old was Snuffles? Thank you for taking him and giving him a better life.
 
I am so sorry that it was Snuffles time Larry. Five and a half years for Snuffles was a testament to your care. Especially given how hard it was to handle him. You gave him the best life he could have.
 
I am very sorry that you had to let go your little fighter Snuffles. I find it amazing, that you kept him well for such a long time considering how uncooperative he was. Hugs for you
 
Aww, Larry, I’m so sorry. That’s a long time for an acro cat, and a fractious one at that. Obviously you did a lot right. Thank you for being his safe haven and for caring. Thinking of you.
 
I'm sorry for your loss. I always admire your willingness to take on the hard cases, giving kitties a chance that they probably couldn't have gotten without someone like you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top