Larry and Kitties
Member Since 2009
I said goodbye to Snuffles on June 7. He was losing is appetite At the end his no longer needed insulin. WHich can be a surprise for an acromegaly cat.
I adopted Snuffles as an untreated diabetic on Dec 9, 2018. He was urinated outside the litter box. When I started treatment his insulin needs rapidly increased. Based on my experience w/my previous acromegaly cat, MurrFee, I thought that might mean acromegaly. He was tested for it and the results showed he had acromegaly. I started cabergoline and his insulin needs decreased and stabilized at ~8 units. I could maintain his BG below 130. However, i very very seldom obtained BGs between shots since he was mean and sent be to the dr once and ER another time when ripped my arm even though I was wearing a long sleeve t shirt and sweatshirt.
Because he was difficult to handle I concluded diagnostic tests were not accomplish anything since I could not safely medicate/treat him.
I adopted Snuffles as an untreated diabetic on Dec 9, 2018. He was urinated outside the litter box. When I started treatment his insulin needs rapidly increased. Based on my experience w/my previous acromegaly cat, MurrFee, I thought that might mean acromegaly. He was tested for it and the results showed he had acromegaly. I started cabergoline and his insulin needs decreased and stabilized at ~8 units. I could maintain his BG below 130. However, i very very seldom obtained BGs between shots since he was mean and sent be to the dr once and ER another time when ripped my arm even though I was wearing a long sleeve t shirt and sweatshirt.
Because he was difficult to handle I concluded diagnostic tests were not accomplish anything since I could not safely medicate/treat him.

