Sneakers- week of Sept 3-7

Status
Not open for further replies.

hmjohnston

Member Since 2011
Well, Sneakers survived me being gone all weekend :-D .

I had a friend come test/shoot/feed her but she was obviously glad to see me back home and in charge once again :lol: . Her BG was (barely) in the pink on Monday but it turns out I bought the wrong chicken and tuna dinner- shredded with gravy- NOT pate. So she finished the can of MC and went back on LC for Tuesday. Her dose went up to 33u as I was holding off until i got back to raise.

She was surprising Thursday night- PMPS was 99 :shock: . I told mom to shoot 20u instead of 33u as normal. I knew a no shot would send her high while a mid-shot would hopefully hold her some as she bounced a bit (yes, Missy, I know you won't think a high yellow as a bounce little miss trampoline, but for Sneaks it is ;-) ). This morning she was only 188 if I remember correctly so no real bounce yet.

Getting some medication for her so we shall see if she is getting headaches or not (thanks KSE!!!) We need a heart emoticon here!
 
Happy to hear your baby is doing well and happy to have Mom home! What a nice PMPs she had :mrgreen: . I hope the meds help her feel better.....and yes, Missy says she is still Queen of the Bounces.....a dubious title at best. ;-)
 
AMPS was 188- same as this morning. But another green overnight last night. I need to update her ss.
 
How do you dose 33 units? Do you use larger syringes?

Looks like she's surfing below the renal threshold for days. :cool:
 
Those are pretty good numbers, all thing considered.

As for the new med - on one hand I hope you see no difference (maybe it means she isn't having headaches?) - on the other, if she IS having them, I hope it helps and you see a happier kitty!

Dale, I am sure she has made the jump to 1/2cc syringes by now. Hard to fathom. My ex uses lev (with Novalog) and shoots 60u at night and that seems huge to me.
 
Yes. Once I started jumping her doses up full unit multiples the need for half units on the syringe became moot. I use 1/2mlcc that hold 50 units.

I am thinking I might go down to 30 units as she seemed to be doing good with some greens and I was able to shoot consistently. Or just stay at 33u with 20u under 140.

In the syringes I was lucky- someone on the acro site said he had them to give away- 6 boxes of 100. He also sent along two stuffed gallon sized baggies stuffed with another box and a half. I shouldn't have to buy any for some time :-D . They do have the larger needle- 30 instead of 31 but I find it helps me rather than hinders.
 
Good deal on the syringes. The gauge difference shouldn't make much difference. My last batch are (were? - I still have them) 30s because they were out of 31s. I didn't notice a difference and I don't think Jeddie did either, but... he has other issues to deal with at the time.

Also, don't acros get thickening of the skin? Some fatter needle would be better?
 
Hi Heather -

Glad to hear Sneakers is doing better. We're using the 50s too. I had to go & pick up some 30s w/ 1/2 unit markings so I could shoot some R. I'm telling you, it's a BIG difference after you're shooting high doses to go back to mini-doses! Tonight was his first shot, so we'll see where we go - if anywhere. His appetite is a little less today. Instead of snarfing both cans at shot time, he actually left a little of the first. That's a rarity w/ my boy!

There's a newbie on FB - and lotsa discussion over the past 24 - so hop over if you get a chance.

Lu
 
Okay, will do. I don't get much PC time on the weekends. Easier to have it on during the day to surf during free time :lol: .

I did see on FB that Grayson is getting R. Did they ever discuss if that is because he also has IAA as well as acro?
 
It was mostly my reluctance to keep climbing, and getting back into the "sea of pinks". It seems to have it's place, to jump-start the numbers downward before the onset of the Lev. We started at .5u last night (haven't shot that low since Feb!), and shot 1u this morning. Depending on where he is tonight will determine if we shoot 0, .5, or 1 unit. I"m still trying to find some rules for it's use. Seems like it's gonna be trial and error for each kitty.
 
Re: Sneakers- week of Sept 3-7. 9-10 69 PMPS

I think with R that might be the case- ECID is the mainstream rather than the side path.

I am at the other end, all of a sudden- she was 69 :shock: at PMPS, a second test showed her 77. She hadn't eaten much during the day- maybe 1 oz of the chicken. Who knows how low she went during the day. I have found her nadir to be later than +9 on days like today.

So, I am guessing it is reduction time for her as every third or forth PS is reduced. This afternoon she only got 10u instead of 33u. Last night she was 109, so I gave her 20u... I'm updating her SS and heading over to FB to post and ask for advice.

Then I get to do homework. 2 articles to read by tomorrow, 2 chapters to read and 1 homework by Thursday (just got my book in today).

Gave Sneakers some Gaba for the first time at PMPS- how in the world am I supposed to 1/3 a powdered capsule??? I opened it in a bowl and separated it as best I could into 3 and knifed a 1/3 into her chicken broth, laced it with PC and set her to eating. It has been two hours and she is grooming herself on the COUCH!!!! I think it is working. I mixed the other two halves in some fake butter and put the bowl in the fridge. I found out she LOVES fd whitefish so will probably crumble the pieces up for tomorrow morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top