Smiffy's numbers lower August/September

Status
Not open for further replies.
Friends I still haven't got my computer fixed so am having trouble posting .... Bear with me til it's fixed ... I can't look at any of your references @Marlena !

iPad doesn't seem to like the FDMB very much!

Thursday 15th
AMBG. 10
+3. 7.3 (131)
PMBG. 7.7 (139)

I am continuing to persist with wet food for Smiffy
 
ooooo enjoy your new toy! :D
Actually I'm getting better at using my iPad now but can only post with it not update or read spreadsheets.

Can't wait .... I have felt so cut off!

Interesting discussion about definition of remission on the main Forum at them moment.
 
Actually I'm getting better at using my iPad now but can only post with it not update or read spreadsheets.

Can't wait .... I have felt so cut off!

Interesting discussion about definition of remission on the main Forum at them moment.
you can update the spreadsheet. you just need to download the free google sheets app
 
you can update the spreadsheet. you just need to download the free google sheets app
I just found Google sheets in the Apps store, clicked on it and found Smiffy's spreadsheet there converted to U.S numbers the spreadsheets of other people's I've viewed in the past ..... no option to download and I don't want to work with Smiffy's spreadsheet in U.S numbers obviously ......don't understand ....it's a mystery to me!

The good thing is I can update Smiffy's sheet there! How do I get it in UK readings?
 
I just found Google sheets in the Apps store, clicked on it and found Smiffy's spreadsheet there converted to U.S numbers the spreadsheets of other people's I've viewed in the past ..... no option to download and I don't want to work with Smiffy's spreadsheet in U.S numbers obviously ......don't understand ....it's a mystery to me!

The good thing is I can update Smiffy's sheet there! How do I get it in UK readings?
You have tabs set up at the bottom .... World numbers and us numbers. Click on world numbers.
 
You have tabs set up at the bottom .... World numbers and us numbers. Click on world numbers.
I haven't downloaded anything by the way these four spreadsheets are just there when I click on google sheets in the Apps store ..... I only have Smiffy's spreadsheet filed on google drive in my google account on my laptop ..... Can do it but don't understand it!!!
 
You have tabs set up at the bottom .... World numbers and us numbers. Click on world numbers.
It's Ok got it and transferred it to my drive and it's all UK numbers and I can update it on my iPad now .......thanks soooooooo much .......sooo excited!

Little things!!!
 
It's Ok got it and transferred it to my drive and it's all UK numbers and I can update it on my iPad now .......thanks soooooooo much .......sooo excited!

Little things!!!
Haha good. Yeah I was so confused why I couldn't updste on my iPhone at first before I realized I needed the Google sheets app.
 
Hey got my laptop back @Marlena @JanetNJ @MrWorfMen's Mom @Alexi @manxcat419 !

Just about to update Smiffy's spreadsheet (:

The bad news is that since the storm which raised Smiffy's BG, she has not come back down by herself to this morning I had to give her a cautious half a unit on a reading of 13.9 (250). As it turns out I could have given her a full unit as she is still 10.7 (193) at +3 so I need to get her back to those lovely numbers again that I have been posting recently/

I am surprised she went up so much and has not recovered back down by herself ..

Right ... onto the spreadsheet now ...
 
Hey got my laptop back @Marlena @JanetNJ @MrWorfMen's Mom @Alexi @manxcat419 !

Just about to update Smiffy's spreadsheet :)

The bad news is that since the storm which raised Smiffy's BG, she has not come back down by herself to this morning I had to give her a cautious half a unit on a reading of 13.9 (250). As it turns out I could have given her a full unit as she is still 10.7 (193) at +3 so I need to get her back to those lovely numbers again that I have been posting recently/

I am surprised she went up so much and has not recovered back down by herself ..

Right ... onto the spreadsheet now ...
Just a small hiccup... She will be back down soon I'm sure. :)
 
What exactly are you feeding her now?
She won't eat wet in the morning or the evening so to be sure that I can give her a shot if I need to I give her her mixture of dry food which is now not just Hill's m/d and 14% carbs but a mixture of a little bit of that and then mostly Thrive Premium Plus Chicken Cat Food that is 90% meat and/or Porta21 Sensible gluten-free Chicken food that is apparently 10.8 % protein.

She has enough of this am and pm usually for me to give her a shot.

If she doesn't eat much of it I won't give her a shot .... I base her shot on her PMPS and her appetite (of course because I am using Caninsulin).

At about +3 or +3.5 she and Pasha wet food .... Pasha has Felix Poultry in jelly and Smiffy has Sheeba fish flakes variety except they switch over and try to eat each other's food but in the end they both get a bit of wet food .... they have the choice of a fishy one or a chicken one. Originally Smiffy started actually eating the Sheeba food which was the breakthrough for her but she would and still only licks the jelly off the Felix - little terror - but both are available to her ... she doesn't eat much of either but enough for a snack.

Her few treats each day are 100% dried protein Thrive or Orijen or Hi-life.

This is a considerable improvement on what she was eating a few weeks ago which was a completely dry diet of Hill's m/d for Diabetic cats at 14% carbs if not a bit more than that.
 
What exactly are you feeding her now?
Her Vet Roberta deemed her in remission based on her data when she was not needing a shot ... this is her note to me:

"Hi Mrs Smith,
That's all really positive isn't it! Fantastic work, you've both done brilliantly. I would agree with you that I would be nervous of giving insulin below 8, especially in the morning. My view would be that Smiffy is in remission if she manages to keep her BG below 12 (so below the renal threshold) without insulin. I would also prefer her blood glucose to remain above 4 ideally, I have seen cats hypo on 2.5-3. I think also that we have to take into account a little degree of sampling related hyperglycaemia (stress related) and differences between glucometers. I think the 'tight regulation' numbers are a little too tight for practical use if that makes sense? I would only give her insulin if her numbers are above 12, and keep a very close eye on her.
Absolutely brilliant news"

However the storm and her slightly upset tummy has given her one reading this morning above 12 (216) so this is a bit of a bleep but I am hoping to get her back on track over the next few days.

@Marlena and @MrWorfMen's Mom and @Alexi and @manxcat419 would like to read this too (:
 
She won't eat wet in the morning or the evening so to be sure that I can give her a shot if I need to I give her her mixture of dry food which is now not just Hill's m/d and 14% carbs but a mixture of a little bit of that and then mostly Thrive Premium Plus Chicken Cat Food that is 90% meat and/or Porta21 Sensible gluten-free Chicken food that is apparently 10.8 % protein.

So there have been no significant changes to her diet during the time that she was not getting the shots...? OK....

Lucille, can I ask, what exactly are you posting for?
Is there some question here that I have somehow missed...?
.
 
So there have been no significant changes to her diet during the time that she was not getting the shots...? OK....

Lucille, can I ask, what exactly are you posting for?
Is there some question here that I have somehow missed...?
.
I am posting for continued support from people that are following her especially now that she is getting into the lower numbers.

I am here on my own in the house and have not left the house for several years so I welcome the continued support from Smiffy's friends here.

I take adivce here as well as from her Vet Roberta and let Roberta know on an ongoing basis the advice that I get here .... she is very flexible in her thinking.

i am posting for support and advice as I go forward with Smiffy.
 
So there have been no significant changes to her diet during the time that she was not getting the shots...? OK....

Lucille, can I ask, what exactly are you posting for?
Is there some question here that I have somehow missed...?
.
Is there any reason why I shouldn't post when I feel I need ongoing support for Smiffy and I?

Isn't that what the Board is for?

It is a lifeline for me as I don't get out of the house because of my anxiety issues so I really appreciate the advice and support that I get here .....

I am shaking because I am upset that you should ask me such a question?
 
You think it strange that I ask you if there is a question I have missed...?
This is the 'main health forum' is it not...?
I have been threading here for the whole time that Smiffy has had Diabetes and nobody has ever questioned it before so I don't understand why you object.

Smiffy is getting to a stage where here numbers are lower and we need the support and advice of her friends here sometimes on a daily basis.

I respectfully accept your opinion but we are going to have to agree to disagree on this one if that is OK with you?

There are people following Smiffy's thread and I don't see that I am doing anything wrong ... sorry you feel the way you do.
 
You think it strange that I ask you if there is a question I have missed...?
This is the 'main health forum' is it not...?
Spiffy is on vetsulin and there really isn't too many on there, so it's been customary for those few of us that are to post it on the main health board in order to get more eyes and opinions. Although our numbers seem to be rising lately so maybe it's time to move some stuff back over there.
 
You think it strange that I ask you if there is a question I have missed...?
This is the 'main health forum' is it not...?[/QUOTE
Spiffy is on vetsulin and there really isn't too many on there, so it's been customary for those few of us that are to post it on the main health board in order to get more eyes and opinions. Although our numbers seem to be rising lately so maybe it's time to move some stuff back over there.
I think there need to be a few more of us just yet but we are getting there!
 
Eminently sensible advice.

And perhaps post here if there are questions, or any situation that requires 'more eyes'.
.
I am going to continue with Smiffy's thread here on the Main Forum for the time being for ongoing support.

It was only a few weeks ago that I posted on the Caninsulin/Vetsulin Forum and was directed back to the Main Forum and my thread here.

On the other Forum I only received one response from somebody that follows Smiffy and I here and they suggested that there were not enough people commenting on the Caninsulin/Vetsulin Forum so to come back here.

I don't think there can be any objection to Smiffy's thread here ... her most recent history is on this thread for her supporters and new people to follow if they wish.

I would not like to think that you are trying to make me close this thread.

Smiffy's care is the most important issue here ...
 
@Marlena @MrWorfMen's Mom @Alexi

Smiffy is borderline tonight as to whether I dose her or not.

She was AMPS 13.9 (250) but because her pancreas has been working recently I only have her a cautious 0.5 units.

She was has held her numbers well today in the 9s and 10s (180) so I am not sure what to do dose her tonight if at all.

Her PMPS or PMPG is 10.3 (186) but as you can see she is quite sensitive to her Caninsulin at the moment so I am tempted to try another 0.5 units just to bring down her morning reading in line with what it has been recently. It looks as if her numbers are rising so maybe the o.5 unit will be OK as long as I make sure she has eaten. If she has not eaten much then I will not shoot her and see what happens.
 
I'm going to test her again when she has stopped eating so half an hour after her PMPS to see if her numbers are rising and if they are I will give her 0.5 unit.

Anybody disagree?
 
Am quite new to fdmb and the nuances of navigating about. Not only is the depth and breadth of information and experience found here a great resource, but also the melting of the boundaries of isolation that we each feel from time to time. the comaradery and perspectives from many viewpoints ... The connecting, the grounding, if you will... as we all travel this journey.
Popping in here and been following Smiffy because she and my Sootie, though they each are on different insulins, seem to be following similar blips in the now mostly blue and green path towards remission and with periodic days of 0 dosing. Today I started a micro-dosing "trial" with the generous and kind hearted support of Fdmb'ers who helped me to better see not just the big picture but understand and connect with the how's and why's. The more knowledge and understanding we each have and the better we can connect and be grounded in that knowledge, the better, yes?
I have more of an integrative approach to feline care, an approach that my traditional vet is aware of and, fortunately, has seen the good effects of. So even though he advocates higher numbers than fdmb as comfortable remission range for Sootie (and based on knowing Sootie as an individual for most of Sootie's life), he trusts my instincts and approaches and with the understanding that I update between visits if any changes. I think that is pretty much at the heart of what Lucille's traditional vet was getting to. We all have to think outside the box sometimes, whatever the source of those parameters may be. Again, it's when we are grounded in knowledge and understanding how's and why's that we can get through crises more smoothly. Yes?
Yes, diet essential in supporting pancreatic healing. It's a given that some cats transition more readily than others. The suggestion above about keeping kibble in freezer, out of scent range: marvelous and of course! A wonderful example of how we have to think like our cats do and be in their shoes! If kibble still a problem (or one of the problems) with Smiffy transitioning to wet, maybe keep kibble in freezer and bring out and give her one or two or a few only after she's eaten some wet? If that goes well, then transition from the kibble treat to freeze dried protein that she'd like (salmon? Turkey? Etc?)
Fascinating how stressors affect bg. For example, Sootie gets stressed by hyperactive and barking dogs while in waiting room at the vet. Or when one of our younger cats, a rescue who came with extreme fear-aggression behaviors, gets upstairs and disturbs the calm. But fireworks or thunder? To her, that's all ho hum. Spiffy freaks at thunder. I think cats are very attuned to their humans' stress levels too and mostly respond either by comforting us with the benefit of their wisdom or waiting for us to take a good deep breath to get our own calm back. But seems to me their worry about us can be stressful for them. The good news is whether it's the Harvest Moon, thunder or barking dogs, the short term stressors abate and bg will calm down, too.
Here's to remission for all!
 
Last edited:
Am quite new to fdmb and the nuances of navigating about. Not only is the depth and breadth of information and experience found here a great resource, but also the melting of the boundaries of isolation that we each feel from time to time. the comaradery and perspectives from many viewpoints ... The connecting, the grounding, if you will... as we all travel this journey.
Popping in here and been following Smiffy because she and my Sootie, though they each are on different insulins, seem to be following similar blips in the now mostly blue and green path towards remission and with periodic days of 0 dosing. Today I started a micro-dosing "trial" with the generous and kind hearted support of Fdmb'ers who helped me to better see not just the big picture but understand and connect with the how's and why's. The more knowledge and understanding we each have and the better we can connect and be grounded in that knowledge, the better, yes?
I have more of an integrative approach to feline care, an approach that my traditional vet is aware of and, fortunately, has seen the good effects of. So even though he advocates higher numbers than fdmb as comfortable remission range for Sootie (and based on knowing Sootie as an individual for most of Sootie's life), he trusts my instincts and approaches and with the understanding that I update between visits if any changes. I think that is pretty much at the heart of what Lucille's traditional vet was getting to. We all have to think outside the box sometimes, whatever the source of those parameters may be. Again, it's when we are grounded in knowledge and understanding how's and why's that we can get through crises more smoothly. Yes?
Yes, diet essential in supporting pancreatic healing. It's a given that some cats transition more readily than others. The suggestion above about keeping kibble in freezer, out of scent range: marvelous and of course! A wonderful example of how we have to think like our cats do and be in their shoes! If kibble still a problem (or one of the problems) with Smiffy transitioning to wet, maybe keep kibble in freezer and bring out and give her one or two or a few only after she's eaten some wet? If that goes well, then transition from the kibble treat to freeze dried protein that she'd like (salmon? Turkey? Etc?)
Fascinating how stressors affect bg. For example, Sootie gets stressed by hyperactive and barking dogs while in waiting room at the vet. Or when one of our younger cats, a rescue who came with extreme fear-aggression behaviors, gets upstairs and disturbs the calm. But fireworks or thunder? To her, that's all ho hum. Spiffy freaks at thunder. I think cats are very attuned to their humans' stress levels too and mostly respond either by comforting us with the benefit of their wisdom or waiting for us to take a good deep breath to get our own calm back. But seems to me their worry about us can be stressful for them. The good news is whether it's the Harvest Moon, thunder or barking dogs, the short term stressors abate and bg will calm down, too.
Here's to remission for all!
Thank you Sina for the word of friendship and understanding. Sooite and Smiffy DO seem to have lots of similarities despite being on different insulins and is lovel to have a 'buddy' for her to share news and information and support with.

I am glad you like to pop in to see Smiffy and her story as it unfolds (: There are others that have said that same and periodically make themselves known to me and thank me for posting and sometimes asking the simple questions that they may be reluctant to ask.

You know that I am like you and take information and advice from as many sources as I can to ultimately help me to know Smiffy and have an understanding with her as to how far I can push her into remission. There is something to be proud of if I can get her to be consistently below the renal threshold with no insulin and see my beautiful cat play and purr as she used to and see her go out of her own accord through feeling well and as long as her continuing story is of interest and help to others then I will continue to post here. And I am grateful to those that understand my circumstances that is that I am here on my own with Smiffy and Pasha and have, like Hansina, benefitted from the comorarder and advice of members here and this post is what keeps Smiffy and I afloat at times.

We still need help and support all the more now that Smiffy is reaching her lower numbers and having periods of not needing her insulin and she is achieving this on her current diet that is day by day a little lower in carbs - some days more than others but we are getting there and working alongside her partner in crime Pasha who loves her wet food ... Smiffy will eat some of her food just to prove that she is the 'top cat'.

I say this every now and then but today seems like a good day to say it again that I really appreciate those of you that support and help Smiffy and she would not be the well cat she is if it were not for you and her Vet and for others that contribute to her well being ...

Hoping that Hansina is right and that Smiffy will get back to her no insulin numbers again very soon now that the storm is well and truely over (:
 
Excuse typos and grammar today ... really tired ....

Hooray .... her little pancreas is working and she is back to a PMBG of 8.9 (160) :)

@HWright this is one of the reasons I think Caninsulin is working for Smiffy and that her pancreas is working!

She has gone from 10.7 (193) at +8 down to 8.9 (160) when in theory on Caninsulin she should have in theory worn off and her numbers would have continued to rise before her evening reading :)

@JanetNJ and @Louise1989 I think she is over the thunderstorm now :)

@Marlena and @MrWorfMen's Mom - must be proof that her pancreas is working? Back to some good numbers with no insulin required :)
 
Last edited:
Smiffy is indeed looking good these days. There will no doubt be some ups and downs but her numbers are very encouraging. While no one can say for sure, it certainly appears Smiffy's pancreas is slowly but surely pumping out some insulin. Those higher numbers like yesterday morning might be a sign of a little more pancreatic activity taking Smiffy lower during the night than she is used to. As time goes on and she gets more re-acquainted with "normal" numbers, she hopefully will smooth out and come down a little more. Patience is key and all you can do now is follow Smiffy's lead and you are doing a great job of that Looby!:)
 
Smiffy is indeed looking good these days. There will no doubt be some ups and downs but her numbers are very encouraging. While no one can say for sure, it certainly appears Smiffy's pancreas is slowly but surely pumping out some insulin. Those higher numbers like yesterday morning might be a sign of a little more pancreatic activity taking Smiffy lower during the night than she is used to. As time goes on and she gets more re-acquainted with "normal" numbers, she hopefully will smooth out and come down a little more. Patience is key and all you can do now is follow Smiffy's lead and you are doing a great job of that Looby!:)
Thank you so much Linda (:

I see what you mean .... so her pancreas is taking her lower at night and then she bounces a bit for the morning because her body is not used to the low numbers?

She was beginning to smooth out and come down and then the big HUGE storm came along and she rocketed ..... I think @HWright is right - forces of nature can really affect a cats's BG.

I have learned patience (:

Thanks for your encouragement and support - means A LOT to Smiffy and I (:
 
then the big HUGE storm came along and she rocketed
Doesn't surprise me at all. We are currently at the mercy of city workers fixing the drainage on the street at the front and side of my house. While Menace tends to be laid back and doesn't appear too disturbed, her little brother is a scaredy cat and any loud noises send him scurrying which of course then gets Menace all worked up. Menace's numbers have been all over the place the past couple of weeks making me scratch my head a lot but I am assuming some of what I'm seeing can be attributed to the ruckus outside. :banghead::rolleyes::arghh:
 
Doesn't surprise me at all. We are currently at the mercy of city workers fixing the drainage on the street at the front and side of my house. While Menace tends to be laid back and doesn't appear too disturbed, her little brother is a scaredy cat and any loud noises send him scurrying which of course then gets Menace all worked up. Menace's numbers have been all over the place the past couple of weeks making me scratch my head a lot but I am assuming some of what I'm seeing can be attributed to the ruckus outside. :banghead::rolleyes::arghh:
Yes I agree .... Smiffy has not had her little walk with me today to the bottom garden and lounge under the eucalyptus tree which usually lowers her BG so I will be interested if she has maintained her 'blue' numbers for the whole day today.

On the other hand if she is as low as she was last night at preshot time ie 8.9 (160) I am not sure if to give her a shot or not .... I may try just half a unit if she eats well and test her again at +3 and see if I can get her morning preshot time reading down and get back to the numbers where I was not having to give her a shot at all ....

I rack my brain over and scratch my head too! I am sure that Menace is affected by all the commotion even if he doesn't show it outwardly .... such a nuisance!
 
Looby, good job with Smiffy. Don't worry too much about higher number, she might be a little up and down.
I'm sorry I can't say more - I'm really busy at the moment (all day at work) and then very tired to the point of collapse.
Will get back to you when I have a bit more time soon.
 
10.4 (187) tonight and Smiffy had a good amount to eat so I have given her one unit to see if I can get that AMPS down - I will check her again at +3 and/or +4


Well at +3 she is 10.5 (188) so her number has hardly moved! Interesting! Maybe I will try a +4 reading too. But I think her morning number is going to be down tomorrow :)

+5 and she is already 11.6 (209) .... This is so frustrating!
 
Last edited:
Smiffy's numbers are high again!

I have tested her Caninsulin pen and it is working.
Do you really think that her BG could be higher because her Daddy is away?
Or could she be becoming resistant to Caninsulin?
(gave her a small shot last night and at +3 she was still the same reading!)

You can see her numbers from last night and this morning she is 15 (270).

There are no air bubbles in the pen either.

@MrWorfMen's Mom @Alexi @JanetNJ @Squalliesmom @Marje and Gracie ? @Louise1989 @KarenRamboConan @Marlena

In the evenings she seems to go up rather than down after her shot but down after her shot during the day ... it is very odd .... I really don't know what is going on!
 
Last edited:
Smiffy's numbers are high again!

Lucille, you have been doing this long enough to know that BG numbers go up and down.

And if you look back over your cat's chart it is clear that these numbers are pretty common for her.
Her response to insulin is actually more stable than that of many cats. (If you do some research and look at others' charts you will see this.)

There is no problem to resolve here...
.
 
I agree with Herta... Her numbers don't seem that different from before. Just keep doing what you're doing. It's possible she's a little stressed from the change in routine but it's not a huge difference in numbers. Fluctuations are too be expected.
 
Do you really think that her BG could be higher because her Daddy is away?
Lucille, it would seem that you have asked very similar questions before...

Perhaps a good use of time would be for you to go back through your own threads and see what answers people gave the last time/s you asked similar questions?
.
 
She is +3 13 (234) so this is very odd for her given her recent numbers over the past few weeks!

She has not been this high at +3 for a very long time!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top