It could have been due to her not eating much earlier on.
you have given her that dose before and she was fine, as long as you check her, feed her (no honey as yet), test her she should be ok.
Lets see what happens next.
I'm here to hear you.
Fingers crossed.
What do I do then? Carry on giving her one unit in the morning and risking half a unit at night?Agree with Janet 100%!
She quickly went up.
before we decide what to do next I would like to see her BG at +8.
1 unit was perfect today. It got her where you want her to be. You want her in those lower numbers (under 150)!so her pancreas can heal.@JanetNJ
She is now 6 (108) at +4.5
I am not sure that I should have given her a one unit this morning if she didn't eat much.
I don't think I want to go back to the old rule of not to shoot her if she is 10 (180) or below if her pancreas is beginning to work?
The half unit at night worked out fine. Now that you know what she does at that level uou can relax a bit. She wasn't even close to too low. Hopefully next time it will bring her even a little lower. Let's cross that bridge when you get there.What do I do then? Carry on giving her one unit in the morning and risking half a unit at night?
@JanetNJ @Alexi @MrWorfMen's Mom
What do you think? I took a risk last night giving her a half unit on a reading of just 8.8 (159) .... or shall I stick to the general rule of not shooting below 10?
Thank you for thatLooby,
85 is an awesome number for her nadir point. I know this is incredible scary when you first get down into these ranges..But honey, this is what all the hard work has been for to get to these numbers....This is where she needs to be to let her pancreas rest and heal. Now granted my Quillan is on Levemir so I dose him differently than you can with Canninsulin. I can shoot much lower preshot numbers than you can with his full dose because of just how a depot insulin works as opposed to how Smiffy's insulin works. But you also have the advantage you can adjust your dose on the fly, I can't Quillan's insulin does best with consistent dosing 12/12.
But that said so you understand I'm showing you this not for you to copy the way I shoot and the numbers that it is safe for me to shoot at, but simply to show you what a regulated diabetic looks like on a spreadsheet.....Quillan snapped into regulation on 9/1/16 so starting there and continuing his numbers represent where you want Smiffy to get to, and all those numbers on his SS from the beginning of September are perfectly safe where they happen for his particular pattern.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1zkw6Ghi3t0VbN7hMExgSq7tOqaTMO1yBvKi4Zvz-VaE/edit?usp=sharing
Mel and The Fur Gang
Sounds good@Marlena @JanetNJ I just heard from Looby on Facebook. Her computer is down so she can't access the board or much of anything, including Smiffy's spreadsheet at the moment. She asked me to let you know that Smiffy's +8 was 7.5 and her pre-shot is 6.9 so she is not giving a shot at all tonight. She says she will go with 0.5u if Smiffy is under 12 tomorrow morning and 1.0u if she is above 12.
[Emphasis mine]85 is a good number. As she gets more regulated the same dose will gradually bring the numbers into a better range. This is what you WANT to see. Don't let the green scare you. Especially since you are using a human meter. You still have a good cushion to go lower.
She was already at the hour where her cat was typically at her lowest. (And in fact it did rise the following hour to over 100). However at 85 If it were to drop just a tad more in the next hour before rising there was still some wiggle room, esp being that she was using a human meter and testing. I wasn't meaning that she should dose higher and try to get a lower number next time, but I do think where she was was a good number and a step in the right direction.[Emphasis mine]
For the benefit of any members treating their cat with Caninsulin and reading this thread, I disagree strongly with the above because:
1. Caninsulin action is typically quite harsh in cats and it's therefore safer not to aim for nadirs at the lower end of the normal range. (Lantus and Levemir would be better treatment options if the objective of treatment is to tightly regulate the cat.)
2. With a cat whose eating is unpredictable it is even more important to leave a wider nadir safety buffer.
If my cat were being treated with Caninsulin and was getting nadirs in the 80s (mg/dL, human meter) I would be looking to reduce the dose.
Mogs
.
Dont worry @Critter Mom I am not going to dose aggressively .....if you look further down I have said that I will not shoot lower than 10 (180) and given her low Nadir during the day cycle today I am only going to give Smiffy half a unit if she is around 12 (216) at her AMPS tomorrow .[Emphasis mine]
For the benefit of any members treating their cat with Caninsulin and reading this thread, I disagree strongly with the above because:
1. Caninsulin action is typically quite harsh in cats and it's therefore safer not to aim for nadirs at the lower end of the normal range. (Lantus and Levemir would be better treatment options if the objective of treatment is to tightly regulate the cat.)
2. With a cat whose eating is unpredictable it is even more important to leave a wider nadir safety buffer.
If my cat were being treated with Caninsulin and was getting nadirs in the 80s (mg/dL, human meter) I would be looking to reduce the dose.
Mogs
.
@Marlena .... April is tagging you for me with some info
She is only 7.9 (144) this morning @Marlena @Alexi @MrWorfMen's Mom ..... So no insulin this morning either! She coughed up a fur all this morning and has eaten ....... is this the beginning of remission or is there something else wrong?!Lucille @Looby & Smiify , yes you have as you said earlier "found me" on FDMB.
So I have stepped out of lurking to say hello!
Herta



Ok that's good advice will try to do that later .....Lucille since you cannot update Smiify's chart it would be helpful perhaps if you could list your day's test results in a single post.
That way people who you've asked for help will be able to see all the information together without having to go back through a series of posts.
You could add also relevant information such as whether she is eating normally, et cetera.
It is good to make things clear and easy for people who are helping us.
.
If you want people to help you (as you say you do) 'trying' will not be sufficient.Ok that's good advice will try to do that later .....

Sorry! The only reason I said try is because my main cimputer is down and I am not used to the iPad ..... DH is away on business and I am confined to the house and a main light bulb has gone which I can't change so I am also in the dark! Everything has happened at once here!If you want people to help you (as you say you do) 'trying' will not be sufficient.
You will need to actually do it.
.
.
Thanks l really appreciate that ........ Introduce yourselfJust wanted to pop in and say Smiffy is doing great! I follow your threads and you and Smiffy have both come along way from diagnosis!![]()
I'd do a half but a no shoot would be ok. Just might be a bit higher tomorrow.Sorry! The only reason I said try is because my main cimputer is down and I am not used to the iPad ..... DH is away on business and I am confined to the house and a main light bulb has gone which I can't change so I am also in the dark! Everything has happened at once here!
AMPS. 7.9 (144) no shot and ate after coughing up fur ball
+3 6.9 (125)
+4 7.5 (135) after eating wet lunch
+7 9.4
+11 9.8 (176)
PMPS 9.6 (173) so numbers falling slightly
Tight call but as she has not eaten much supper after her PMPS time I
And she is borderline below 10 (180) l Am think inking no shot?
Sorry this takes for ever on the iPad and I can't access her spreadsheet until my computer is fixed. Ignore the +3 below as I can't delete it for some reason!
@Marlena @MrWorfMen's Mom @Squalliesmom @Louise1989
+3.
AMPS. 7.9 (144) no shot and ate after coughing up fur ball
+3 6.9 (125)
+4 7.5 (135) after eating wet lunch
+7 9.4
+11 9.8 (176)
PMPS 9.6 (173) so numbers falling slightly
I'm Erica, my Carter went OTJ after about 4 months. I used Vetsulin briefly before switching to Lantus. Smiffy looks to be doing quite well on Caninsulin, kudos!Thanks l really appreciate that ........ Introduce yourself
Oh I was not aware of that acronym thank you! At least you gathered what I meant that's why I said and no shot ....Your '+' numbers are incorrect, I think, because Smiify had no insulin this morning? (Is that not so?)
Please be clear so that people have the accurate information.
Do you understand that it is only 'AMPS' if you actually give insulin? Without insulin I think the correct term is 'AMBG' (morning blood glucose).
Personally, I would not give insulin unless it was clear that the blood glucose is rising. In your case I do not think that is clear. I would suggest that you wait a while and test again before deciding what course of action to take.
.
.
.
Hello Erica and the lovely Honey! Well done for getting OTJ and long may it remain so! Hugs from Smiffy and PashaI'm Erica, my Carter went OTJ after about 4 months. I used Vetsulin briefly before switching to Lantus. Smiffy looks to be doing quite well on Caninsulin, kudos!![]()

Correct. Your current numbers are just a little above the normal blood glucose range for a cat.Just because she is now in her third day with no insulin does not mean third day of remission does it? She has to be 14 days numbers 4 to 7 doesn't she? That is 72 to 126?
Thanks ...... I had two sets of figures and those were the other ones.Correct. Your current numbers are just a little above the normal blood glucose range for a cat.
The approximate range for normal numbers (using human glucose meter) is about 2.7 to 7.2.
.