Smiffy's July/August progress

Status
Not open for further replies.
April,
really sorry to hear about your horrific experience! So glad you avoided all the testing which would be stressful for Roxi and would cost you a lot of money!
I don't know if you like more natural and harmless treatment but after reading this I would like to tell you what I do with my pets (I really hate strong chemicals to kill flees):
I USE DIATOMATEOUS EARTH and even with the very hot summer we are having I haven't seen any flees!
Please google it, I can provide more information if you are interested.
Could others please share how they deal with flees in more holistic way.
Hugs to everybody,
Marlena
Good idea Marlena - best to start a separate thread for that on the main forum so that people will know where to find the information don't you think?

This thread is about Smiffy's progress and I am trying to keep it on track this time as the last two threads about her have gone off at at tangent.

I would be really intereseted to see what people think of flea treatment and when and if and how often it is necessary .... will look forward to reading the new thread.

Hope you don't mind me suggesting this @manxcat419 ...... I know you will understand (:

In the meantime we are all holding our breath to find out how Roxi is on Facebook xxx
 
I should also say, sorry for the delayed reply Looby. Our Roxi had a massive allergic reaction to the Advantage 2 we used on her this morning...a full on hyperventilating, raised temperature, bordering on hypo from her insulin reaction. So we had to rush her off to the vet who thought it might have been an infection, and then the ER vet who pinned it down to the flea treatment. She'll be in overnight so they can give her a bath and monitor her breathing, but she's going to be fine...it just meant I was offline for quite a while!

So sorry to hear about the reaction and glad everything will be okay. I have been told and have read that if using prescription flea tick treatment on diabetic cats, Revolution is the only one to use. I've been using it long before I had Smokey. Since I don't get it from vet so not marked on records, a new intern was asking if I needed flea control and he is the second professional to tell me Smokey can only have revolution and if I didn't want that then use nothing on him. The civvies can have any brand. Personally I never thought about it or other things like shampoo, toothpaste etc. before FD.
 
Smiffy has gone from preshot 16.8 this morning to 9.2 at +5 on just one unit of Caninsulin!

It is a great number but such a bit drop - her Nadir could have been earlier at +3.

The fact that she didn't eat and I gave her her one unit shot and she dropped that much just shows you how careful you have to be with Caninsulin.

Could it be that the 1.5 doses that I have given her recently in the evenings (with caution) have caught up with her?

What do you think @Alexi in particular as you used Caninsulin I seem to remember and @MrWorfMen's Mom as you have been following her?

Perhaps @scoobydoox you might have time to have a look at Smiffy's spreadsheet for me? Thanks.

I am quite alarmed .....
 
No need to be alarmed - it is a good number, her not eating much will have contributed as she normally does get quite flat curves but then she is a grazer, the aim is to try to get her into the blues mid cycle and you have achieved that. Will be interesting to see what her PMPS comes out at. As long as she doesn't drop too fast she will be fine. Cappuccino has had much bigger drops than that.
 
No need for any alarm. That drop is a good one. It may look alarming to you because you've now become accustomed to the flatter cycles she has been having. ;) Yes she may have gone a bit lower at +3 but if she had gone significantly lower, I would not expect that nice surf through +5 and +6......I'd expect her to have shot up more. She's still a little higher than she was at +5 some days during that nice run of blues she had so completely safe.

Do you leave food out overnight for Smiffy to graze on? Do you pick up the food at least two hours before pre-shot tests? Just wondering if that higher AMPS could be food influenced in any way and if that might explain Smiffy not being very hungry at test time this morning.

She's looking good and as everyone else has said, it will be interesting to see what her PMPS is tonight. Right now it looks like she is surfing and surfing is a good thing.
 
Smiffy was 9.1 at +6 so she is dropping a bit and she is wanting to eat now quite a lot so her body is telling her something ..... will keep an eye on her ...

Still don't understand the big drop from this morning ...... has to be that she didn't eat much - but why it was so unusually high is also a mystery ....
 
No need to be alarmed - it is a good number, her not eating much will have contributed as she normally does get quite flat curves but then she is a grazer, the aim is to try to get her into the blues mid cycle and you have achieved that. Will be interesting to see what her PMPS comes out at. As long as she doesn't drop too fast she will be fine. Cappuccino has had much bigger drops than that.
Thanks Alexi - I am keeping an eye on her and testing her a bit more today ... she has just come in to eat quite a bit so I she knows when her body needs food ...... I want to put it away now so that she is hungry tonight before I decide what dose to give her ... don't know why it was so high this morning in the first place ... DH thinks it was because he was stressed and she felt it .......she didn't eat much last night either ... I tested the pen in the sink and it worked so I definitely think the pen is working.
 
Looby, Smiffy's +5 of 9.2 and +6 of 9.1 are really exactly the same number. Remember every meter has a variance allowance of 15-20% so either reading could have been up or down at bit from what was displayed. Right now Smiffy is neither dropping nor rising.....she's surfing and surfing in the blues is a wonderful thing to behold in our kitties! Rejoice and don't worry about that higher AMPS. Smiffy is regulating herself with the help of the insulin you give her so while that pink start isn't what you hoped for, it's not bad and to be expected from time to time. Smiffy may have dropped a bit more last night than you are aware of and that higher AMPS is just her way of getting back to numbers she is more accustomed to. Baffling I know but it's gonna happen.
 
No need for any alarm. That drop is a good one. It may look alarming to you because you've now become accustomed to the flatter cycles she has been having. ;) Yes she may have gone a bit lower at +3 but if she had gone significantly lower, I would not expect that nice surf through +5 and +6......I'd expect her to have shot up more. She's still a little higher than she was at +5 some days during that nice run of blues she had so completely safe.

Do you leave food out overnight for Smiffy to graze on? Do you pick up the food at least two hours before pre-shot tests? Just wondering if that higher AMPS could be food influenced in any way and if that might explain Smiffy not being very hungry at test time this morning.

She's looking good and as everyone else has said, it will be interesting to see what her PMPS is tonight. Right now it looks like she is surfing and surfing is a good thing.
I like the expression surfing - that means riding on level numbers?

I usally leave her food out until about +7 or +8 so that she is hungry for her next shot am or pm.

Strangely although I gave her the 1.5 shot last night thinking she would graze as she nornally does - she actually didn't eat much and was still not hungry this mornin.

Pasha didn't eat this morning and I think Smiffy was following suit ... she is very jealous! If Pasah is eating then she will eat as well ....

I get the cats in at night but Pasha was out a bit late and not there for feeding time so again Smiffy doesn't tend to want to eat alone (:
Looby, Smiffy's +5 of 9.2 and +6 of 9.1 are really exactly the same number. Remember every meter has a variance allowance of 15-20% so either reading could have been up or down at bit from what was displayed. Right now Smiffy is neither dropping nor rising.....she's surfing and surfing in the blues is a wonderful thing to behold in our kitties! Rejoice and don't worry about that higher AMPS. Smiffy is regulating herself with the help of the insulin you give her so while that pink start isn't what you hoped for, it's not bad and to be expected from time to time. Smiffy may have dropped a bit more last night than you are aware of and that higher AMPS is just her way of getting back to numbers she is more accustomed to. Baffling I know but it's gonna happen.
I understand ....... still I worry after all these months!

I look at other people's spreadsheets and actually Smiffy is doing really well by comparison and is a very healthy little cat besides the Diabetes ...

Yes she is fine in herself - she looks so pretty and young and to think that her old Vet thought I coudn't look after her and that I could consider PTS!

Will be interesting over the next few days to see how she goes ... I have taken the food away now so that she is hungry later and if she is around 14 I will give her 1.5 but much lower than that just one unit and obviously if below 10 not at all.

Thanks Linda (:
 
I like the expression surfing - that means riding on level numbers?
Exactly! Sometimes folks even post pictures like this one to celebrate those surfs.
animated-cat-image-0055.gif
Surf those blues Smiffy!
Ok the board should be blue but you and Smiffy get my drift! :woot::p

The higher dose you give at night when her numbers warrant it, could cause her to stay in lower numbers longer but we don't know that for sure but that could explain the higher AMPS.

Smiffy is doing very well and you've proven that old vet's suggestion of possibly considering drastic action was not reasonable. Sometimes when vets make suggestions like that is it a reflection of the vet's experience with diabetic cats and their caregivers in his practice and not necessarily based on the individual animal or their people. This is why your own observations and knowing your own cat and your own limitations/abilities with your pet is so very important for their wellbeing because you know Smiffy better than anyone else.
 
Last edited:
Exactly! Sometimes folks even post pictures like this one to celebrate those surfs. View attachment 22066 Surf those blues Smiffy!
Ok the board should be blue but you and Smiffy get my drift! :woot::p

The higher dose you give at night when her numbers warrant it, could cause her to stay in lower numbers longer but we don't know that for sure but that could explain the higher PMPS.

Smiffy is doing very well and you've proven that old vet's suggestion of possibly considering drastic action was not reasonable. Sometimes when vets make suggestions like that is it a reflection of the vet's experience with diabetic cats and their caregivers in his practice and not necessarily based on the individual animal or their people. This is why your own observations and knowing your own cat and your own limitations/abilities with your pet is so very important for their wellbeing because you know Smiffy better than anyone else.
LOVE IT (:

I will carry that image of Smiffy in my mind (:

I think you meant AMPS though didn't you?!

I am proud of myself and of Smiffy (:

It must have been devastating to have our diagnosis for Menace at only the age of 5 ......... are you still hoping for remission some day - it has been a long time now ...

You are the only person who really understands that no matter what you try there some cats that just won't eat wet food!
 
Good idea Marlena - best to start a separate thread for that on the main forum so that people will know where to find the information don't you think?

This thread is about Smiffy's progress and I am trying to keep it on track this time as the last two threads about her have gone off at at tangent.

I would be really intereseted to see what people think of flea treatment and when and if and how often it is necessary .... will look forward to reading the new thread.

Hope you don't mind me suggesting this @manxcat419 ...... I know you will understand :)

In the meantime we are all holding our breath to find out how Roxi is on Facebook xxx
I think putting the information in a separate thread is an excellent idea Looby. That way anyone searching for information on flea treatments will be able to find it easily - and it does avoid derailing Smiffy's thread which was absolutely not my intention at all...I just wanted to explain why it had taken me so long to reply to you when I'd said I would take a look. Of course if anything's going to go wrong in our house it will happen just when I was planning to do something else, but I didn't want you to think I'd forgotten to take a look at Smiffy's progress.

Anyway, let's not sidetrack Smiffy's awesome progress any further here...she's had a beautiful day. Those low 9s are really nice numbers for her, especially on her daytime cycle - she's still nice and safe, but it's lovely to see her in some blue numbers during the day. :) I may not be about much today - we're out most of the day - but I will look in when we get home this evening to see how the rest of the day goes for her. :)
 
I think you meant AMPS though didn't you?!
Yup. My bad!:blackeye::oops: I corrected it so no one reading this other than us, gets totally confused. :)

Yes I admit I was devastated having Menace diagnosed so young. She was only 4 years old when diagnosed. But she also has a high dose condition called IAA. My vet, whom I adore, and is up to date on diabetes and very proactive treatment wise, tried to discourage me from spending money testing for IAA because it is considered rare. Funny enough, I think my vet worries about my pocketbook more than I do when it comes to my furkids. Anyway, my point is that my intuition told me something other than just diabetes was at play and I went with my gut rather than the vet's advice and proved my gut feeling was correct. Poor vet was astonished as she has never had a cat with the condition before, so we are learning together.

As for the kibble addiction, I have been trying to transition Menace to wet food since I got her at 10 weeks old. She tries to bury wet food as if it's waste in the litter box. She even tries to bury her step brothers' food (the perfect diabetics diet ironically!:rolleyes:) if I sit a bowl of wet food anywhere near her dish. To this day, if she tells me she wants food and I know her BG is high rather than low, I offer wet food and have a stand off with her but no matter how hungry she gets, that awful wet stuff is not passing her lips! So yes I understand that problem all too well!

So between Menace's kibble addiction and her IAA, she is indeed a bit of a challenge and a constant source of head scratching for me, but she is my precious baby and we just take each day as it comes and do our best to keep her healthy, happy and safe. I don't hold much hope out for remission but if it should occur, I am sure you will hear me yelping for joy all the way across that big blue pond! :D
 
Yup. My bad!:blackeye::oops: I corrected it so no one reading this other than us, gets totally confused. :)

Yes I admit I was devastated having Menace diagnosed so young. She was only 4 years old when diagnosed. But she also has a high dose condition called IAA. My vet, whom I adore, and is up to date on diabetes and very proactive treatment wise, tried to discourage me from spending money testing for IAA because it is considered rare. Funny enough, I think my vet worries about my pocketbook more than I do when it comes to my furkids. Anyway, my point is that my intuition told me something other than just diabetes was at play and I went with my gut rather than the vet's advice and proved my gut feeling was correct. Poor vet was astonished as she has never had a cat with the condition before, so we are learning together.

As for the kibble addiction, I have been trying to transition Menace to wet food since I got her at 10 weeks old. She tries to bury wet food as if it's waste in the litter box. She even tries to bury her step brothers' food (the perfect diabetics diet ironically!:rolleyes:) if I sit a bowl of wet food anywhere near her dish. To this day, if she tells me she wants food and I know her BG is high rather than low, I offer wet food and have a stand off with her but no matter how hungry she gets, that awful wet stuff is not passing her lips! So yes I understand that problem all too well!

So between Menace's kibble addiction and her IAA, she is indeed a bit of a challenge and a constant source of head scratching for me, but she is my precious baby and we just take each day as it comes and do our best to keep her healthy, happy and safe. I don't hold much hope out for remission but if it should occur, I am sure you will hear me yelping for joy all the way across that big blue pond! :D
What a great Mom you are with great intuition but I think all of us that love our cats known when something is not quite right .... thanks for telling me Menace's story .... as long as she is happy that is the main thing and you seem to be keeping her that way (:

I have to admit I have given up with Smiffy to a certain extent as far as the wet food is concerned - at 14 if I haven't been able to get her to eat wet by now I don't think it is necessaryily worth stressing her out about it ...... I just rue the day she was put on a presciption diet for her weight - she ate completely wet before that ... Pasha still has mostly wet and some dry so wet is out for Smiffy to try every day - she just licks off the jelly.

Have to get on with her shot if I do one that is - she has hardly eaten .....
 
Let us know how you are getting on tomorrow.

Hope the infection is getting sorted out?

It would be interesting to see Callie's spreadsheet :)
I haven't started a spreadsheet yet. We are more concerned with this infection and all of the fluid build up. It had been 13 days since the last build up. Unfortunately we have had multiple issues since Callie was diagnosed. The expenses are huge and now they are saying we might need a cat scan which is about $1200. I'm not sure what to do anymore.
 
Last edited:
So after Smiffy's blue numbers thoughout the afternoon her preshot tonight is 12.3 but she is not eating much because she ate earlier because she was not used to her body feeling the low numbers so the max dose I am going to give her is one unit and try to do a +3 number ...

By the way DH thinks there was a cat scrap this morning not long before I tested her so that could also explain the 16.8 elevated number.

Back to this evening I am going to take her food upstairs with the pen to see if she will eat a bit more up there as is sometimes the case ......

Nope she really doesn't want to eat so I have just given her 0.5 of a unit just to keep her ticking over .... I have a feeling she is not going to graze tonight so I can't risk a whole unit.

Will still try to do a +3 number to see if there is any drop on the preshot of 12.3 ......

Yes +3 is 13.9 so I could have given her a whole unt
I haven't started a spreadsheet yet. We are more concerned with this infection and all of the fluid build up. It had been 13 days since the last build up. Unfortunately we have had multiple issues since Callie was diagnosed. The expenses are huge and now they are saying we might need a cat scan which is about $1200. I'm not sure what to do anymore.
Oh dear I know how expensive things get ...

I think it would be a really good idea for you to start a thread of your own on the Main Forum so that you could get the advice from some of the more experiences girls here about your cats condition and your finincial situation.

If you needed help with setting up a spreadsheet then one of the girls would be able to help you as I am not very good with computer stuff but one of the girls more or less set t up for me and then took me through the last part of it step by step.

Also I know that there are organisations in the States that can help out with bills for sick cats but I dont know their details as I am in the UK.

You could start a thread called "Callie's Story'- something ike that and tag some of the girls here for example or any of the others that you know and then you could ask them specific questions. That is the way I started. Have you done that already? It really is the best way ...... I'm afraid I have no knowledge of your cat's other condition nor of the organisations that might be able to help you fininancially.

How do you feel about setting up your own thread for Callie?

I am so sorry to hear about poor Callie's situation but I promise some of the other girls would be able to help you better than me - it would be wrong of me to tell you any different ......

Good luck and I will look out for your thread - maybe include Callie's other condition in the title of the thread? Good luck my lovely (:
 
@Alexi @MrWorfMen's Momd @manxcat419

Smiffy is even lower today ... she was preshot 12.3 last night and she didn't eat much so I gave her 0.5 shot

This morning she was preshot 15.7 so I gave her one unit but again she did not eat a lot.

Now she is +4.5 and she is 7.1 which is a nice number but I don't know why she is so low?

She has been under the chair in the bedroom all morning which she usually does when she is feeling unwell or pissed off frankly!

Do you think after all there might be something wrong with my pen?

@scoobydoox you are familiar with Caninsulin too - what do you think .... I am not used to seeing her numbers forming a curve like this ... she is usually quite flat throughout the day - I am a bit concerned .....

She is also having semi loose stools so something is not right .... put fortiflora on her food this morning ...... do you think she might be ill of the pen is giving the wrong dose?
 
Last edited:
Looby, that curve the last two days is more like what usually occurs with Caninsulin. There is usually a drop starting about +2, lowest at +3/+4 then a rise and possibly another little dip before the main rise to pre-shot numbers. While a problem with the pen is certainly a possibility, even if the pen is working properly, sometimes it's hard to tell if the insulin is getting right into the subcutaneous tissue or into the skin layer and some areas of the body can absorb the insulin better than others. If memory serves you are shooting in the shoulder area. Some vets suggest that area doesn't absorb as well as others but many folks here use the scruff without a problem so again we end up right back at ECID (every cat is different). Maybe you can pay more attention to exactly where you are giving her shots and see if it makes any difference to her numbers.
For now, I'm liking that 7.1 a lot! :D
 
@Alexi @MrWorfMen's Momd @manxcat419

Smiffy is even lower today ... she was preshot 12.3 last night and she didn't eat much so I gave her 0.5 shot

This morning she was preshot 15.7 so I gave her one unit but again she did not eat a lot.

Now she is +4.5 and she is 7.1 which is a nice number but I don't know why she is so low?

She has been under the chair in the bedroom all morning which she usually does when she is feeling unwell or pissed off frankly!

Do you think after all there might be something wrong with my pen?

@scoobydoox you are familiar with Caninsulin too - what do you think .... I am not used to seeing her numbers forming a curve like this ... she is usually quite flat throughout the day - I am a bit concerned .....

She is also having semi loose stools so something is not right .... put fortiflora on her food this morning ...... do you think she might be ill of the pen is giving the wrong dose?

I had to give her a few Hill's i/d biscuits to hep
Looby, that curve the last two days is more like what usually occurs with Caninsulin. There is usually a drop starting about +2, lowest at +3/+4 then a rise and possibly another little dip before the main rise to pre-shot numbers. While a problem with the pen is certainly a possibility, even if the pen is working properly, sometimes it's hard to tell if the insulin is getting right into the subcutaneous tissue or into the skin layer and some areas of the body can absorb the insulin better than others. If memory serves you are shooting in the shoulder area. Some vets suggest that area doesn't absorb as well as others but many folks here use the scruff without a problem so again we end up right back at ECID (every cat is different). Maybe you can pay more attention to exactly where you are giving her shots and see if it makes any difference to her numbers.
For now, I'm liking that 7.1 a lot! :D
 
Looby, that curve the last two days is more like what usually occurs with Caninsulin. There is usually a drop starting about +2, lowest at +3/+4 then a rise and possibly another little dip before the main rise to pre-shot numbers. While a problem with the pen is certainly a possibility, even if the pen is working properly, sometimes it's hard to tell if the insulin is getting right into the subcutaneous tissue or into the skin layer and some areas of the body can absorb the insulin better than others. If memory serves you are shooting in the shoulder area. Some vets suggest that area doesn't absorb as well as others but many folks here use the scruff without a problem so again we end up right back at ECID (every cat is different). Maybe you can pay more attention to exactly where you are giving her shots and see if it makes any difference to her numbers.
For now, I'm liking that 7.1 a lot! :D
I had to give her a few higher carb prescription biscuits to help with her stools that were semi loose or getting that way so now at +6 she is 9 ....

She is sticking to me like glue today which is worrying me as she usually goes to sit outside ....

She woudn't just suddenly develop something like pancresaatitis would she? Maybe she is a bit stressed by the new low numbers during the day and that has given her looser stool?

I have tested the pen twice over the last few days into the sink and it seems fine.

Yes I give her her shot in the scruff and the needle goes in easily and doesn't 'hit' any resistance ....
 
I don't think the insulin has anything to do with loose stools. I'd just keep an eye on her and if it doesn't resolve on it's own with the biscuits you could try a bit of plain pumpkin mixed into her food to increase her fibre. My senior and even Menace have both had a day with loose stool and then been fine the next day so who knows. Is she drinking as much or more than usual? I'd make sure she stays hydrated and keep a watch on her. If it continues for another day with no sign of stopping or get worse, then a trip to the vet might be in order. Unfortunately, our kitties are notorious for hiding how they are feeling when ill so it could be nothing or it could be something brewing. And as always your observations of her general demeanour and activity level etc. are key to making decisions.
 
I don't think the insulin has anything to do with loose stools. I'd just keep an eye on her and if it doesn't resolve on it's own with the biscuits you could try a bit of plain pumpkin mixed into her food to increase her fibre. My senior and even Menace have both had a day with loose stool and then been fine the next day so who knows. Is she drinking as much or more than usual? I'd make sure she stays hydrated and keep a watch on her. If it continues for another day with no sign of stopping or get worse, then a trip to the vet might be in order. Unfortunately, our kitties are notorious for hiding how they are feeling when ill so it could be nothing or it could be something brewing. And as always your observations of her general demeanour and activity level etc. are key to making decisions.
I don't have plain pumpkin or anything similar (actually googled it to try to get some some weeks ago and couldn't find any anywhere) so have to rely on the biscuits and the fortiflora.

I hope you are right and she is just having an off day as we all do from time to time.

She doesn't drink very much at all but that is normal for her now since she has had treatment for her Diabetes since April.

I have sent her spreadsheet to the Head Vet standing in for her normal lovely Vet Roberta for her to have a look at and she is going to call me back hopefully and have mentioned her loose stools (well part of them were a bit loose so I may have caught the problem).

Oh how it is worrying when something is not quite right and things begin to change a bit .... I will one day get used to it! I wouldn't be worried normally - it is only because of her Diabetes ... going to test her again now at +7 .......9.8 now

It doesn't help that I am here alone and can't drive if something happened ... she is very passive today when I test her - can't be bothered to kick up a bit of a fuss as she normally does!
 
While a problem with the pen is certainly a possibility, even if the pen is working properly,

Let me try to explain (and more difficult : to translate...) what I have exactly in mind:

The Vetpen works with a screw thread (in black on the picture).

vetpen_parts-fr.jpg

If there is a default on the screw thread at a certain level ("piston de dosage" in French), each time you reach this level, you will have problem with the injection (in my personal case, nothing was injected).

On your SS, it seems that no insulin was injected just after the change of cartridge, that's why I suspected a problem with the screw thread.

Now, it was just a hypothesis.

We will check this hypothesis next time you change the cartridge : if when you perform the change of cartridge, you have exactly the same numbers during all day for a certain amount of days, that means that your Vetpen has a problem.

Otherwise, it's ok.
 
Let me try to explain (and more difficult : to translate...) what I have exactly in mind:

The Vetpen works with a screw thread (in black on the picture).

View attachment 22112
If there is a default on the screw thread at a certain level ("piston de dosage" in French), each time you reach this level, you will have problem with the injection (in my personal case, nothing was injected).

On your SS, it seems that no insulin was injected just after the change of cartridge, that's why I suspected a problem with the screw thread.

Now, it was just a hypothesis.

We will check this hypothesis next time you change the cartridge : if when you perform the change of cartridge, you have exactly the same numbers during all day for a certain amount of days, that means that your Vetpen has a problem.

Otherwise, it's ok.
I will have a look at this later ....... et je parle le francais!

Just for now if I were to shoot each dose that I given into the sink - wouldn't that prove to me that it is working?

I only use 0.5 , 1.0 or 1.5 utis and have just shot each of those into the sink as an experiment and little, more and then more insulin came out accordingly - doesn't that prove that the penn is OK?
 
I will have a look at this later ....... et je parle le francais!

Just for now if I were to shoot each dose that I given into the sink - wouldn't that prove to me that it is working?

Nope!!!!!

The problem that I'm mentioning could be very localized!
You have to wait until the new cartridge :)
 
Nope!!!!!

The problem that I'm mentioning could be very localized!
You have to wait until the new cartridge :)
Oh .......but I still don't understand how there could be a problem if the shots into the sink are OK?

What do you mean by localized?

Excuse moi - je ne comprend pas ce que tu veux dire (:
 
Lucille,

Quand tu utilises ton Vetpen, le piston avance.
Quand tu changes la cartouche, tu "rembobines" le piston, et le remet au niveau 0.
Si une des dents du piston est abîmée à un endroit, le piston ne tournera pas à cet endroit, et tu n'injecteras rien.
 
Lucille,

Quand tu utilises ton Vetpen, le piston avance.
Quand tu changes la cartouche, tu "rembobines" le piston, et le remet au niveau 0.
Si une des dents du piston est abîmée à un endroit, le piston ne tournera pas à cet endroit, et tu n'injecteras rien.
Ca je comprends mais je viens de produiser de l'insulin a 0.5, 1 et 1.5 ...... meme au minimum position du piston tu vois?
 
Le problème n'est pas la dose, mais à quel niveau la dose est prélevée.
Prenons l'hypothèse que le piston mesure 5 cm.
Quand tu changes la cartouche, tu rembobines le piston au maximum, et il y a donc 5 cm de piston dans le capuchon bleu.
Au fur et Ă  mesure que tu utilises la cartouche, le piston pousse l'insuline dans la fenĂŞtre qui indique le niveau de Caninsulin restant dans la cartouche.
Quand la cartouche est vide, tu peux voir toute la longueur du piston dans la fenĂŞtre.
Si il y a une dent défectueuse au sommet du piston, tu auras des problèmes lorsque tu changes de cartouche.
Mais dès que ce niveau de piston sera dépassé, plus aucun problème.
 
Le problème n'est pas la dose, mais à quel niveau la dose est prélevée.
Prenons l'hypothèse que le piston mesure 5 cm.
Quand tu changes la cartouche, tu rembobines le piston au maximum, et il y a donc 5 cm de piston dans le capuchon bleu.
Au fur et Ă  mesure que tu utilises la cartouche, le piston pousse l'insuline dans la fenĂŞtre qui indique le niveau de Caninsulin restant dans la cartouche.
Quand la cartouche est vide, tu peux voir toute la longueur du piston dans la fenĂŞtre.
Si il y a une dent défectueuse au sommet du piston, tu auras des problèmes lorsque tu changes de cartouche.
Mais dès que ce niveau de piston sera dépassé, plus aucun problème.

Mais je n'avais pas de problemes quand j'ai change la cartouche la derniere fois? J'etais au Vet avec l'infirmiere de Diabetes et ils m'ont regrardee changer la cartouche.

Je comprends que je dois attendre changer la cartouche maintenant pour trouver une dent defectueuse.

Mais qu'est ce que ca veux dire pour les doses que je donne a Smiffy avant que je la change? je tourne pour un unit par example et qu'est ce qui se passe? Je la donne plus ou moins qu'un unit? Tu veux dire qu'en ce moment le Vetpen n'est pas precis?

Bon, essayez de m'expliquer en Anglais - peut etre ca vaux mieus apres tout! Desolee :)



Ahhh tu veux dire qu'il y a deux semaines le Vetpen ne marchait pas et maintenant ca marche?!! Peut-etre?

En Anglais!
 
Last edited:
Si, si, en ce moment, le Vetpen est précis.
Mais tu dois attendre de mettre une nouvelle cartouche.
Et si quand tu mets la nouvelle cartouche, tu as à nouveau les mêmes glycemies tout au long de la journée pendant un certain temps, cela voudra dire que le Vetpen a un problème (mais c'est juste une hypothèse).
En ce moment, pas de soucis, tes mesures de glycemie sont très bonnes.
 
Si, si, en ce moment, le Vetpen est précis.
Mais tu dois attendre de mettre une nouvelle cartouche.
Et si quand tu mets la nouvelle cartouche, tu as à nouveau les mêmes glycemies tout au long de la journée pendant un certain temps, cela voudra dire que le Vetpen a un problème (mais c'est juste une hypothèse).
En ce moment, pas de soucis, tes mesures de glycemie sont très bonnes.
Et bien volia!!!! Merci je comprends maintenant (:

On verra en a peu pres deux semaines (:
 
Smiffy not eating this morning so although she is preshot 15.8 I am reluctant to give her one whole unit ... oh she is eating now that's OK then :)

This is the problem with Caninsulin (one of the problems apart from the fact that it seems to be working for her) - you have to get them to eat a fair bit before you give them a shot ....

@MrWorfMen's Mom what is the depot effect somebody was talking about on Facebook?

Smiffy is much brighter today and no loose stools so far so the Fortiflora worked (:
 
Last edited:
Looby, I don't belong to the Facebook group. While I could guess, without benefit of seeing the entire content of the commentary about "depot effect", I could end up misleading you.

Glad to hear the Fortiflora helped and that Smiffy decided to eat better this morning.
 
Looby, I don't belong to the Facebook group. While I could guess, without benefit of seeing the entire content of the commentary about "depot effect", I could end up misleading you.

Glad to hear the Fortiflora helped and that Smiffy decided to eat better this morning.
That's OK Linda

Somebody mentioned it when I said that there was a big drop between Smiffy's preshot am and her daytime numbers - never heard the expression before and wondered what it was?

I didn't think it applied to Smiffy .... just keen to learn (:

Having said that Smiffy's +5 number today is 11.8 so higher than the last couple of days for some reason ..... there is no rhyme or reason is there?!!!
 
It doesn't, she is not on a depot insulin and you do want to see her dropping between her pre-shot and mid cycle because it shows the caninsulin is doing its stuff. She could probably have coped with a 1.5 unit dose this morning but then we only know that because of the later readings. Keep going...
 
It doesn't, she is not on a depot insulin and you do want to see her dropping between her pre-shot and mid cycle because it shows the caninsulin is doing its stuff. She could probably have coped with a 1.5 unit dose this morning but then we only know that because of the later readings. Keep going...
I am learning to ignore some of the comments I get on FB if they come from people that don't know Smiffy's background - that is the benefit of coming here (:

I did read today that Caninsulin whilst it starts out as being a short-lived insulin in most cats actually becomes a 12 hour and more lasting insulin in a lot of cats after a relatively short time so it looks like Smiffy is one of the lucky ones.

Yes I might have given her 1.5 units this morning but after her drop to 7 at +5 yesterday and the fact that she didn't eat very much at all as I left her food out late last night by mistake and her Daddy was distracting her, made me decide that it was too dangerous especially as I was not gong to be around at her Nadir.

Remember I give her the higher dose in the evening if I can because I am not around for her morning Nadir ...... I have to keep her safe at the risk of her numbers being a bit higher.

She has not eaten much during the day today so I am hoping that she will be hungry enough tonight for me to feel happy to give her 1.5 units.

I agree with you - just wary that she is alone at her morning Nadir.

Do you agree by the way that she needs to eat a fair bit before I shoot her? This affects the dose that I give her as much as the preshot number. Usually she comes back to graze so I am not worried but on a couple of nights she has not done this .... she must have done last night though because she barely had an appetite this morning ...
 
Can you maybe try lifting her food a little earlier to encourage her appetite? Are you monitoring her weight because as she gets better control she will be able to make more use of her food and may need to be fed a little less if she is putting on weight. Ask the vet for a target weight and try weighing her weekly if you can to monitor.
 
Can you maybe try lifting her food a little earlier to encourage her appetite? Are you monitoring her weight because as she gets better control she will be able to make more use of her food and may need to be fed a little less if she is putting on weight. Ask the vet for a target weight and try weighing her weekly if you can to monitor.
OK yes I could do that ...... she is barely eating her 'slimming' allowance already of 70g biscuits though and doesn't really graze much unless her numbers are low ... I would say she eats only about 40g per day.

Her first Vet gave her the target weight of 4kilos which she hasn't been since she was about 2 years old! Her new Vet Roberta has not given her a target weight but she has lost 0.25kilo in a few months (not a lot!) ....she is currently 5.72 kilos .... I could try to weigh her on our human scales but she aint gonna like it. Roberta was pleased that she had lost the 0.25 kilos and said that it was better for her to lose weight slowly ..... I have to say we have not considered it a priority like her first Vet but if is happens it does and I take her for walks every day as you know or else she would not get any exercise at all! She is not a very active cat ...... I don't want to put a lot of pressure on her losing weight but she seems to be going that way and I can certainly take her food away a bit earlier ...
 
@ Alexi am taking Smiffy's food away at about +5 or 6 now .... she is 'surfing' @MrWorfMen's Mom again today at around 8 ... managed to give her one unit last night and one unit this morning as she was a bit more hungry - still growling at me when I shoot her though!

I take that back - she had some biscuits at +6 and is now 12.3 - big disappointment ....
 
Last edited:
Looking good! Not sure what the growling is about and I don't think it's a worry as long as her demeanor is otherwise fine. Some cats just don't like us messing with their coiffure!?;)
 
Looking good! Not sure what the growling is about and I don't think it's a worry as long as her demeanor is otherwise fine. Some cats just don't like us messing with their coiffure!?;)
No I don't think Smiffy is ever going to get used to me 'messing' with her whilst or just after she eats ... she is one of those cats that doesn't like to be fussed ....

I spoke too soon though ... she had some of her biscuits and is no 12.3 .... never mind - at least she is happy (:
 
I think it's clear from Smiffy's numbers tonight that tomorrow I can give her 1.5 untis again tomorrow if she is around 14. I was over cautious tonight ....
 
Smiffy ate a bowl full of wet food today!!!! I was so shocked! It may be because it was in Pasha's bowl as Smiffy gets jealous of Pasha and bullies her out of the way of her food and licks off the jelly so won't eat the meat ..... I think the secret might be to give her flakes - Encore and Sheba have been suggested .... have to buy food in sachets rather than cans as we have storage issue ...

Smiffy as NEVER eaten fish or meat off our plates ... still in shock! I will have to get some Sheba Fine Flakes Fish flavour and see what happens (:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top