skipped PM shot- 7/17 Tina's Rocky is doing FANTASTIC!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Hi Everyone,

It's time for another update! Rocky healed from his pneumonia and he is doing FANTASTIC! In fact, I am getting ready to lower his insulin dose, again, tonight, if he is not above 100 at his PMPS time.

That pneumonia was pretty scary. He was mouth breathing for about 5 days. I had the vaporizer running 24/7 in his bathroom with the A/C vent completely closed. He was shivering and I had him bundled up in polyester, fluffy blankets. Meanwhile, the rest of us outside of his cocoon were sweltering in over 100°F for many days here in Elk Grove. Being sick in extreme heat really sucks.

I was just thinking about it today, and I believe I have now saved Rocky's life for a second time. We sure have gone through a lot together!!

Back to his BG, it has been remaining fairly low. I can't remember the last day we had a number in the 200s. If his BG is under 100 at his PMPS tonight, I will lower his insulin dose to 1.5u. Right now he is getting a fat 1.50u.

It may mean climbing back up the dosing scale again, but I feel more confident about his dosing than I did before I went on my retreat. I am doing what works to keep Rocky's numbers lower, and that means adjusting as we go along.

I don't know how long it's going to take me to input all of his SS data, but I do plan on doing it.

Thank you everyone who loves Rocky and who continues to say prayers for him. I believe your good vibes are helping him heal.

I will continue to post here, and hopefully can get back into some sort of grove with it, shortly.

All the best always, Tina and Rocky
 
Re: 7/14 Tina's Rocky survived pneumonia-- is doing FANTASTI

flip_cat :-D flip_cat :-D flip_cat :-D flip_cat :-D flip_cat :-D flip_cat :-D

So thrilled to hear Rock's doing well. Yay! Go Rocky!
 
Re: 7/14 Tina's Rocky survived pneumonia-- is doing FANTASTI

What wonderful news. I hope you are feeling better too.
 
Re: 7/14 Tina's Rocky survived pneumonia-- is doing FANTASTI

This is great! Tina, we are so happy for Rocky and for you.

Give your boy some special scritches from us,

:YMHUG:

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 7/14 Tina's Rocky survived pneumonia-- is doing FANTASTI

That is wonderful news, good job taking such good care of him - thanks for the update!
 
Re: Dose question- 7/14 Tina's Rocky is doing FANTASTIC!

This has happened to us a few times now and I usually end up skipping the shot and regretting it. Would you shoot if your cat was in the 60s? He's at 66 right now so I'm guessing he will go higher at his PMPS in two hours. If he goes lower, into the 50s, would you shoot that? I get nervous with that but not as much with readings in the 60s.

I'd have to go back and look, but I believe he's been getting a VERY fat 1.50u for 3 or 4 shots now. ( I don't know what to call it. All I know is that I have been consistent with it. The plunger is right in-between the 1.5u mark and the 2.0u mark. It's not 1.75u. The top of the plunger is RIGHT UNDER the 1.50u mark, touching it. I am already going to lower his dose a tad bit tonight *if* his BG remains under 100 at PMPS in two hours.

Thanks! -Tina
 
Re: Dose question- 7/14 Tina's Rocky is doing FANTASTIC!

Hi Tina, no dosing advice from me but might I suggest you update Rocky's ss with today's information. When time permits, you could then update his ss going from today back to 6/30 when you last recorded his readings. That might be helpful for those wanting to give you some dosing advice.
Good luck .
 
Re: Dose question- 7/14 Tina's Rocky is doing FANTASTIC!

Hi Tina - Good to hear the update about Rocky. I'm glad he's feeling better now and earning reductions. :-D I shot Neko at 61 this morning, but on Levemir it's closer to her nadir. I really prefer it if she's going up when I shoot low numbers, but you do have time until onset to give Rocky some carbs to bring him up. As Laura said, we really need an updated SS to comment about dosing. Even the last two weeks of data would help.
 
Re: Dose question- 7/14 Tina's Rocky is doing FANTASTIC!

Glad to hear he is doing well!!! Do you know if you are shooting a dropping number or not?
 
Re: Dose question- 7/14 Tina's Rocky is doing FANTASTIC!

I was just wondering what happened to you. I'm glad Ricky is going well.
 
Re: Dose question- 7/14 Tina's Rocky is doing FANTASTIC!

Rocky BG was 49 at his PMPS so I skipped the shot. I had to delay his shot by one hour already this morning, so I gave the shot at 7:30am instead of at 6:30am. I did not want to be giving him his shot at 8:30pm -8:30pm. Now it might happen that his BG climbs to 400 overnight, but I think it will come down fairly quick.

He wouldn't eat much tonight so his BG is still fairly low right now.

Marje and everyone else, I apologize and I am so sorry for worrying any of you. I have been doing my best to keep up with the cats in this house, taking care of Rocky, and doing other paperwork for KKR. It's been hard to keep up with everything. In addition, I was very sick myself. The stronger antibiotic that the doctor gave me seems to have cleared up my sinus infection so I am finally feeling much better.

Again, thanks for all of your love and prayers for Rocky.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top