Skip 12/17 TAFFY AMPS 201/skipped due to not eating well/PMPS 377

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffysmama

Member Since 2016
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-235-pmps-250-2-136-5-91.169734/#post-1844430

Taff still not eating much. I did get him to eat some chicken baby food, but not even a whole jar.

I have to leave in about two hours for the whole day, and I need to be showering and getting ready, not BG testing and hand feeding.

I was thinking I could give a half dose. I mean rather than skip? These were the original instructions from my vet "if cat doesn't eat, give half dose" (and call his office)

Which is better, reduced dose or skip??

I will have to get some chicken broiled and pureed for him tonight. And I will try to feed him more baby food before I go today, but I don't know what else to do.
 
He's probably going into a bounce because of the green last night. Are you stalling without feeding? If so, get another test and see if he's going up or down or staying the same. If you need to, you can give 1/2 dose and leave higher carb food out for him.
 
If he won't eat or is eating a lot less, then maybe skipping is a better option, or even a token dose. Let us know what the next test is.
 
Hi Julie,

Are you testing for ketones?

Since the 1.5u brought green last cycle from a mid yellow PS and his appetite is off and no one will be around for 8-9 hours I personally would not be comfortable shooting a full dose.

Better a day too high than an hour too low.
 
Thanks for jumping in Sandy. Ginger wants to go for a walk, ..in the snow.. Back in a bit.
 
He's probably going into a bounce because of the green last night. Are you stalling without feeding? If so, get another test and see if he's going up or down or staying the same. If you need to, you can give 1/2 dose and leave higher carb food out for him.
Yes stalled
 
Hi Julie,

Are you testing for ketones?

Since the 1.5u brought green last cycle from a mid yellow PS and his appetite is off and no one will be around for 8-9 hours I personally would not be comfortable shooting a full dose.

Better a day too high than an hour too low.
So do you suggest a skip or a reduced dose? I have already stalled over an hour. Testing BG now. And, additional info is that I will need to be gone all day tomorrow as well
 
Have you been testing for ketones?
Would putting some food down and seeing if he eats, and then deciding on giving a token BSC dose or not, be something you would be comfortable with? You can always skip if you are not comfortable and then if you do skip, shoot on time (or earlier) this evening (if that's doable for your schedule).
 
Negative ketones is good. Test him whenever you can. I used to keep a tiny plastic cup on a shelf close to the litter box.
 
Have you been testing for ketones?
Would putting some food down and seeing if he eats, and then deciding on giving a token BSC dose or not, be something you would be comfortable with? You can always skip if you are not comfortable and then if you do skip, shoot on time (or earlier) this evening (if that's doable for your schedule).
Tested urine yesterday. Will again today if I can catch him peeing.
I think I am too late now for a shot and I have to leave soon and won't be able to test again. Hate to skip, but I think I am. I'll leave out food. Seems he'll eat FD chicken and maybe babyfood, although the latter seems to need to be spoon fed. I'll start over at the proper time tonight and maybe give a stimulant. I know this is better given in the AM but I won't be around again tomorrow anyhow. Might as well keep me up all night again!!
 
Good luck with the appy stimulant tonight. Leave some food out for him, and I am sending good appetite and eating vines to him.
 
He is a very low squatter! Makes it harder. I use a piece of foil with edges bent up or sometimes a jar lid.
I used those little plastic cups you get at fast food places to put ketchup in. I always waited around the corner until I heard him start peeing. It seemed that once he started peeing, he couldn't stop, and that is when I made my move towards the litter box.
 
Hang in there Julie, i know this is massively frustrating...:bighug:
Remind yourself a) he will be safe while you have to be out and b) it could have been an accidental fur shot, happens eventually to all of us and the net effect is the same..a safe no hypo kinda day:bighug::bighug::cat:
Safe travels, glad the rain stopped! It's gorgeous outside today!:)
 
Hang in there Julie, i know this is massively frustrating...:bighug:
Remind yourself a) he will be safe while you have to be out and b) it could have been an accidental fur shot, happens eventually to all of us and the net effect is the same..a safe no hypo kinda day:bighug::bighug::cat:
Safe travels, glad the rain stopped! It's gorgeous outside today!:)
I am more concerned about the not eating. I don't "think" it is his panc. My gut says he has more like colitis. Ususally when he has pain, as he would with a panc attack, he would hide out under bed or something. But of course I am not sure
 
I am more concerned about the not eating. I don't "think" it is his panc. My gut says he has more like colitis. Ususally when he has pain, as he would with a panc attack, he would hide out under bed or something. But of course I am not sure
Jett was just diagnosed with just that, colitis. The vet told me giving constipation remedies like miralax would just make it worse as constipation isn't the problem. He said the pumpkin would be good to continue and adding some probiotics such as fortiflora, but put him on the metronidazole tiny tabs. Do you think your vet would call in a RX on a phone consult? You are pretty knowledgable about Taffys health....the not eating is really worrisome..is he eating the Nulo you bought? Wish I could help more but you know all the tricks....:bighug::bighug::(:bighug:
 
Jett was just diagnosed with just that, colitis. The vet told me giving constipation remedies like miralax would just make it worse as constipation isn't the problem. He said the pumpkin would be good to continue and adding some probiotics such as fortiflora, but put him on the metronidazole tiny tabs. Do you think your vet would call in a RX on a phone consult? You are pretty knowledgable about Taffys health....the not eating is really worrisome..is he eating the Nulo you bought? Wish I could help more but you know all the tricks....:bighug::bighug::(:bighug:
before i left I gave a 1/2 cerenia, bcuz i figure it is also anti inflamm. and a 1/4 mirtaz. but i was hasty and when syringing his water to wash it down I think I rushed and he choked a little which worries me, i am always so slow and careful with the water. he was coughing a bit. so I am praying i did not now give him pneumonia.
 
Last edited:
BF went by house and checked in on Taffy for me. He is alive, so that's good! And was eating FD from the auto feeder.
As long as he gets that gurgling sound out of his breathing, poor thing, I think I made him gag on water.
I am angry at myself for rushing. Also, super annoyed that I added the Psyllium to that batch of lovely and expensive organic chicken. I think the psyllium is a suspect, and now I have to toss all of that food.
 
Re Taffy's motility issues mentioned yesterday: Vyktor had similar sounding problems, the issue was with getting the poop out not with the quality. Twice daily Zener massage got that sorted out so he started going regularly. I don't know how to get the video from my PM to a condo so I'm tagging @Anne & Zener GA for you to post it.


Also please update your subject line since your question is passed...
 
Re Taffy's motility issues mentioned yesterday: Vyktor had similar sounding problems, the issue was with getting the poop out not with the quality. Twice daily Zener massage got that sorted out so he started going regularly. I don't know how to get the video from my PM to a condo so I'm tagging @Anne & Zener GA for you to post it.


Also please update your subject line since your question is passed...
Thank you for that. Sorry, was out all day and rushing around. Just sat down. Updating now.
 
OK, I hope we are back on track. The small dose of Mirtaz seemed to get him started plus the plain foods. The auto feeder was a life saver today @Gussie's mom thank you thank you. :joyful::joyful::joyful: He seems to get the idea now and I filled it with FD snacks for him to have through out the day. With the awful holiday traffic, I barely made it home to test, feed civ, feed wild things, quickly poach some chicken and blend it for Taffy and give a shot, pretty much all at once. Then clean up the stuff that Taffy knocked over in the kitchen, and do litter duty, etc. Just sat down. I think we are eliminating the Fancy Feast first, but the psyllium comes in second as possible problem. In fact, I believe it is in RadCat and Taffy loved that food but always seemed to have some minor issues with his motility. Not going to toss the homemade w/psyllium that I stored in the freezer just yet. But, it is plain-ish foods for a few days and then I will have to figure out what else to feed. I don't think this was a panc flare up, but of course I don't know without test. Hopefully he will go with the program for me tomorrow and I can revamp diet on Monday.
 
Sending vines for a speedy recovery for a Taffy, ( and you too!) Happy to hear the auto feeder is doing its job! Hopefully that will give you a bit of rest time in there somewhere!:bighug:
 
Still worried about rattly sound in Taffy's chest, which I think I caused when giving him water this morning. It's not constant but I don't like it.:(
 
which I think I caused when giving him water this morning

If he coughed, he probably didn't get any into his lungs.....that's one of the ways we're protected against getting stuff in our lungs that doesn't belong there.

Whatever it is, I hope tomorrow is a better day for Taffy!!
 
If he coughed, he probably didn't get any into his lungs.....that's one of the ways we're protected against getting stuff in our lungs that doesn't belong there.
I think maybe he strained his larynx or trachea, or the pills hurt something (although they were very small), so hopefully it heals up. Otherwise he is behaving pretty normally. Eating is picking up. He is getting older so I suppose throat and voice problems happen. Just feel guilty.
Whatever it is, I hope tomorrow is a better day for Taffy!!
Me, too!!!
My eyes are getting really bad, hoping they are not too hideous and uncomfortable tomorrow, as I can't cancel my demos. Can't wait for my appt with an allergist!
 
If you're doing TR, the 6 cycle clock starts over every time you skip, give a furshot or do a "short" dose
I don't know if we are doing TR or not!!! That is the intention, but Taffy is in charge. Do you think it was better to skip this morn or should I have done a reduced dose, with his uncertain appetite and me gone for 8+ hours? I don't want to make this a norm, skipping doses when there are hitches in the routine.
 
Well even if you were doing SLGS, the skip counts towards the 7 days....maybe not AS important but still counts

If it had been me, I would have shot the 1.5 if she'd eaten a little and left food down for her to eat later.....and if you had someone who could come by and check on her while you were gone that would have been even better.

If that was just too scary, I would have suggested giving a BCS just to keep some insulin in his body....maybe .75-1U

The goal is to work your way to the point where you'll shoot anything over 50 (On TR)....and anything over 90 on SLGS

All that being said though, we all understand how it feels those first few times you can't be home to keep an eye on them so there's no really "wrong" answers
 
I'm glad the appy is starting to pick up and Taffy "gets" the feeder. They really are life savers.

Regarding the "gurgling" sound, whenever I get a little bit of food or liquid that goes down the wrong way, I'm kind of raspy for a day or two. Just a drop can do it, so maybe that is what happened with Taffy.

We've all skipped shots then second guessed ourselves afterwards. It's always better to skip the shot and wish you hadn't skipped than to shoot and wish you hadn't shot!

Sending appy vines.
 
Thanks for all of the encouraging words! Here's to a better day today and wishing everybody and their babies a great day! :cat:
 
Well even if you were doing SLGS, the skip counts towards the 7 days....maybe not AS important but still counts

If it had been me, I would have shot the 1.5 if she'd eaten a little and left food down for her to eat later.....and if you had someone who could come by and check on her while you were gone that would have been even better.

If that was just too scary, I would have suggested giving a BCS just to keep some insulin in his body....maybe .75-1U

The goal is to work your way to the point where you'll shoot anything over 50 (On TR)....and anything over 90 on SLGS

All that being said though, we all understand how it feels those first few times you can't be home to keep an eye on them so there's no really "wrong" answers
Yea, I had really wanted to do a reduced shot, but I was stalling for advice and it got to be too late, I figured, and I really was not sure that he was eating okay yet. Also knew that I really ha no one to check on him for about 8 hours. I just have to get the experience to make these decisions.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top