Sir Maximus Numbers

Shawn & Sir Maximus

Member Since 2023
tps://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/sir-maximus-continued-dosing-advice.287682/

Good Morning Suzanne, I think it's time to reduce the dose to 1.75. His numbers our just getting to low in the +3 range. I'm very happy and grateful for these numbers but i think his body is telling me its time for a reduction and also having to add carbs around these times. Thoughts?

I will also be starting a new bottle of insulin in the next few days. I have feeling since it is new it will be a little more potent than this old bottle.
 
Last edited:
Yep. We can certainly try a dose reduction and see how it goes. He looks good though. Today’s cycle was far from dangerous. I would like to see how he does on 1.75 units!
It was really a tough decision this evening but i went ahead with my gut feeling. Like you said, well test him out see how he does with the 1.75. Right now I have been able to attend to him 24/7 and steer those 50's at +3 with food but there is gonna be a time I won't be around him as much so trying to prepare a little for that in the future. Hope the reduction will keep him in the 70's and 80's range which is still pretty good. Thanks Suzanne
 
It was really a tough decision this evening but i went ahead with my gut feeling. Like you said, well test him out see how he does with the 1.75. Right now I have been able to attend to him 24/7 and steer those 50's at +3 with food but there is gonna be a time I won't be around him as much so trying to prepare a little for that in the future. Hope the reduction will keep him in the 70's and 80's range which is still pretty good. Thanks Suzanne
I understand this completely!!!
 
Good Evening Suzanne and Happy Easter to you and the family.

Sir Maximus reading was a 53 Pre shot PMPS and then went to a 57. I had to skip shot. I started a new bottle of insulin today and i think it's got a lot of zip and because it is new it is crushing down his numbers. You can kinda see that during his early cycle this afternoon. His Nadir which is usually +6 went to +7 and was at a 53 therefore i know it has to be a lot more stronger. Might have to reduce the dosage down more tomorrow. Thoughts??
 
Hey. Happy Easter! Great numbers today! But as I think you wanted him to be a little higher than this, you may want to reduce down to 1.5 tomorrow.
 
Hey. Happy Easter! Great numbers today! But as I think you wanted him to be a little higher than this, you may want to reduce down to 1.5 tomorrow.
Ya I hated mssing his shot. Hope he doesn't fly up to much by morning . Does new insulin usually have this much of an effect?
Glad we cut him back to 1.75. Can't imagine what he would of been with the new insulin at the dosage of 2..Wheww
 
Last edited:
Wow. He stayed green for a long time last night! I definitely will be looking at his cycle today.
Ya this is pretty odd he is still a 81. I even fed him some MC and LC meals last night and he still didn't go up much. If he stays like this i won't be able to give his shot again this morning. Puzzled he didn't go up that high.
 
Ya this is pretty odd he is still a 81. I even fed him some MC and LC meals last night and he still didn't go up much. If he stays like this i won't be able to give his shot again this morning. Puzzled he didn't go up that high.
He is at 84 Pre Shot. I have to skip shot. Could we be seeing some miracle upon our eyes?
 
Just keep testing to document what he is doing.
Good Evening Suzanne, Going to being testing soon for pre shot and trying to figure out what i should give him as a dose since he missed last 2 shots due to low numbers. If he is below 120 no shot? If he is above 120 should i still go with 1.5 or drop it lower since he has responded dramatically to this new bottle of insulin? Thank you
 
I’m glad you shot since he had a preshot similar to the ones he was having for PMPS on 2 units. I think he may earn another reduction soon though.
 
What do you think made him get diabetes in the first place? Did he have steroid injections? High carb food?
Royal Canin high carb dry food and obesity along with his love for sleep and no exercise. He had cancer in one of his toes about 3yrs ago and we had to amputate to make sure we got all the cancer.. He hasn't been on many meds but he was for that surgery
 
Last edited:
Royal Canine high carb dry food and obesity along with his love for sleep and no exercise. He had cancer in one of his toes about 3yrs ago and we had to amputate to make sure we got all the cancer.. He hasn't been on many meds but he was for that surgery
Yes. That could do it. Isn’t it awful when we feel like we’re doing our best for them buying what we think are high quality (and pricey) foods, only to find that we are making them unhealthy.
 
Yes. That could do it. Isn’t it awful when we feel like we’re doing our best for them buying what we think are high quality (and pricey) foods, only to find that we are making them unhealthy.
Yes I felt so bad. He had a UTI when he was 2 and I was told this was the best food for him only to find out now i was totally wrong. He did never get a UTI again but the carbs gave him the diabetes. I wish he would been on wet food is whole life.
 
Yes I felt so bad. He had a UTI when he was 2 and I was told this was the best food for him only to find out now i was totally wrong. He did never get a UTI again but the carbs gave him the diabetes. I wish he would been on wet food is whole life.
Are you going to test at midnight? I’m waiting up for his number.
Yes i will be testing probably till 2 take a nap and wake up test again. I don't trust this new insulin. I gave him 2 tsp of MC at 11pm. He had dropped 50 in an hour. Thanks Suzanne
 
50 in an hour is okay (or an hour and 15 minutes like tonight). 100 in an hour is more than we want. But I will be interested to see his next test. I am glad you will be testing. If he doesn’t rise much from the MC I will take that as a good sign that his pancreas is helping out.
 
I kinda of see a similar path like yesterday in the morning. Let's say he follows that path and gets up to 120 or above in the morning ,should we reduce dose to 1.25 or even 1 unit ? I think we will be at 1 unit by the weekend. I could be wrong
 
I kinda of see a similar path like yesterday in the morning. Let's say he follows that path and gets up to 120 or above in the morning ,should we reduce dose to 1.25 or even 1 unit ? I think we will be at 1 unit by the weekend. I could be wrong
You can try it. Unless he is quite a bit above 120.
 
upload_2024-4-2_22-21-45.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-4-2_22-21-45.jpeg
    upload_2024-4-2_22-21-45.jpeg
    57.1 KB · Views: 215
That 164 this morning kind of tells me that he could have used a small token dose last night. But it really would have been guesswork to decide what to shoot because we are in somewhat of uncharted territory. Maybe .5 units last night?
 
Back
Top