Sir Maximus Numbers

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Shawn & Sir Maximus, Mar 29, 2024.

  1. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    tps://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/sir-maximus-continued-dosing-advice.287682/

    Good Morning Suzanne, I think it's time to reduce the dose to 1.75. His numbers our just getting to low in the +3 range. I'm very happy and grateful for these numbers but i think his body is telling me its time for a reduction and also having to add carbs around these times. Thoughts?

    I will also be starting a new bottle of insulin in the next few days. I have feeling since it is new it will be a little more potent than this old bottle.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2024
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  2. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yep. We can certainly try a dose reduction and see how it goes. He looks good though. Today’s cycle was far from dangerous. I would like to see how he does on 1.75 units!
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  3. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    It was really a tough decision this evening but i went ahead with my gut feeling. Like you said, well test him out see how he does with the 1.75. Right now I have been able to attend to him 24/7 and steer those 50's at +3 with food but there is gonna be a time I won't be around him as much so trying to prepare a little for that in the future. Hope the reduction will keep him in the 70's and 80's range which is still pretty good. Thanks Suzanne
     
  4. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I understand this completely!!!
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  5. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Good Evening Suzanne and Happy Easter to you and the family.

    Sir Maximus reading was a 53 Pre shot PMPS and then went to a 57. I had to skip shot. I started a new bottle of insulin today and i think it's got a lot of zip and because it is new it is crushing down his numbers. You can kinda see that during his early cycle this afternoon. His Nadir which is usually +6 went to +7 and was at a 53 therefore i know it has to be a lot more stronger. Might have to reduce the dosage down more tomorrow. Thoughts??
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  6. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Hey. Happy Easter! Great numbers today! But as I think you wanted him to be a little higher than this, you may want to reduce down to 1.5 tomorrow.
     
  7. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Ya I hated mssing his shot. Hope he doesn't fly up to much by morning . Does new insulin usually have this much of an effect?
    Glad we cut him back to 1.75. Can't imagine what he would of been with the new insulin at the dosage of 2..Wheww
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2024
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  8. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Sometimes a fresh bottle will have a noticeable effect. He’s doing great!! :cat: How old was the vial? Since his diagnosis?
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  9. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    How old was the vial?
     
  10. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Had it since 12/1 2023. It was pretty low and when I saw those numbers last night I decided it was time to pitch it in the trash.
     
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2024
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  11. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Wow. He stayed green for a long time last night! I definitely will be looking at his cycle today.
     
  12. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Ya this is pretty odd he is still a 81. I even fed him some MC and LC meals last night and he still didn't go up much. If he stays like this i won't be able to give his shot again this morning. Puzzled he didn't go up that high.
     
  13. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
  14. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    He is at 84 Pre Shot. I have to skip shot. Could we be seeing some miracle upon our eyes?
     
  15. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I sure hope so!
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  16. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Just keep testing to document what he is doing.
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  17. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Good Evening Suzanne, Going to being testing soon for pre shot and trying to figure out what i should give him as a dose since he missed last 2 shots due to low numbers. If he is below 120 no shot? If he is above 120 should i still go with 1.5 or drop it lower since he has responded dramatically to this new bottle of insulin? Thank you
     
  18. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I’m glad you shot since he had a preshot similar to the ones he was having for PMPS on 2 units. I think he may earn another reduction soon though.
     
  19. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Ya I had to shoot this eve but I felt like the dosage was still to much at 1.5 , since this new bottle of insulin is much stronger.
     
  20. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    We will see. He had two reductions recently. I would not wait until +2 to test him in case he needs a little MC.
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  21. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I think his pancreas has been able to heal since we’ve gotten him into better numbers. I have high hopes.
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  22. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Ya I'm not sure how that all works but that did cross my mind this morning. He seems to have a little more pep in his step lately.Hearing alot more purring and happy meowing during meal times.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  23. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    What do you think made him get diabetes in the first place? Did he have steroid injections? High carb food?
     
  24. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Royal Canin high carb dry food and obesity along with his love for sleep and no exercise. He had cancer in one of his toes about 3yrs ago and we had to amputate to make sure we got all the cancer.. He hasn't been on many meds but he was for that surgery
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2024
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  25. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yes. That could do it. Isn’t it awful when we feel like we’re doing our best for them buying what we think are high quality (and pricey) foods, only to find that we are making them unhealthy.
     
  26. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Yes I felt so bad. He had a UTI when he was 2 and I was told this was the best food for him only to find out now i was totally wrong. He did never get a UTI again but the carbs gave him the diabetes. I wish he would been on wet food is whole life.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  27. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Are you going to test at midnight? I’m waiting up for his number.
     
  28. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Yes i will be testing probably till 2 take a nap and wake up test again. I don't trust this new insulin. I gave him 2 tsp of MC at 11pm. He had dropped 50 in an hour. Thanks Suzanne
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  29. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    50 in an hour is okay (or an hour and 15 minutes like tonight). 100 in an hour is more than we want. But I will be interested to see his next test. I am glad you will be testing. If he doesn’t rise much from the MC I will take that as a good sign that his pancreas is helping out.
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  30. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    62 I think i have to go MC again he still dropped after i gave him 2 tsp of MC at +3
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  31. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay. But try not to worry. I think he has the hang of this surfing in green thing now. I don’t blame you for testing up until +6 though.
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  32. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Can you send me over a six pack of Bud light:) Thank you Suzanne
     
  33. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I wish I could!
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  34. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I see he had another skipped shot today. Let’s see how he does.
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  35. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Nice nice nice!!:D
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  36. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Hi Suzanne i just got home from a work event so I couldn't test him today. Looks like he had a great surfing trip during his cycle. His numbers were to low to shoot this evening. Will keep monitoring him and see what happens this evening.
     
  37. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I’m loving this!!
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  38. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Are you going to test him tonight? I am sorry but I am so excited.
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  39. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Definitely gonna test him at 10 and 12 tonight and then possibly in the middle of night depending on where he is with the numbers. He knows snack time and test time is coming up in 20 minutes.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  40. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    I kinda of see a similar path like yesterday in the morning. Let's say he follows that path and gets up to 120 or above in the morning ,should we reduce dose to 1.25 or even 1 unit ? I think we will be at 1 unit by the weekend. I could be wrong
     
  41. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    You can try it. Unless he is quite a bit above 120.
     
  42. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Try which the 1.25 or 1 unit? Great cycle last few days. Least i can get a little sleep tonight. I'm a walking zombie over here bouncing into walls.
     
  43. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I think first the 1.25 unit. But hopefully he will be green in the morning.
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  44. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
  45. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Late night for Sir Maximus? :woot:
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  46. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    That 164 this morning kind of tells me that he could have used a small token dose last night. But it really would have been guesswork to decide what to shoot because we are in somewhat of uncharted territory. Maybe .5 units last night?
     
  47. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Good Morning Suzanne, He went up a little over night and got to 164. I shot the 1.25 dosage and want to see if we can get into the greens with it. We can always go back if he doesn't respond.
    I told him it last night not to be celebrating those greens to early!
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  48. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I hope he does well today on the 1.25 dose.
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  49. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    psyche! We just cross posted.
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  50. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    That was a tough call he was at 79. Good info for the future
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  51. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    And he surfed really well for a long time.
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  52. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Surf it, Sir Maximus!
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  53. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Hi Suzanne we got a reading of 70 this evening. I didn't choose the token dose because i just feel like he is to low and he is reacting to the new bottle significantly. Hate missing another shot. His pattern is the same as 3/31. Is going on and off like this with the shots harming him? Maybe i could of done .25 just to keep a little insulin in his body. Tough decisions but happy with the change of dosage today.
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2024
  54. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Well, I don’t want him to go up as high as 164 like he did this morning. I expect him to do well tonight for at least the first half of the cycle. Hopefully he will hold steady until morning. I feel like at this point, if he is perhaps going into remission, we want to take it slow and easy and continue to support hos pancreas with insulin unless his numbers tell is otherwise. If he drops below 50, he earns a reduction, of course. How are you feeling about all this?
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  55. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Okay that's sound good to me. I just need.to know how much to give.him if he's in the 70s, 80's 90"s. Do I just keep giving him token doses if this is the pattern? Maybe .25 or would you rather stick with .5 . I can't see going the full dosage when he's that low but I trust your advice. Whatever you say I will do.
    Thank you Suzanne
     
  56. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    We certainly can try a very small .25 dose. I was going to suggest that last night — somewhere between .25 and .50. If you try the smaller dose first, and I think it would be a good idea, and just collect some data on the cycle, we will know how it works. This is, of course, as long as you can do your usual excellent job of testing. So if you were working that would not apply. I am so excited for that little man!
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  57. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Okay awesome , I got some time right now so I will follow this plan and see what we get.
     
  58. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Well we really will have to play it by ear a bit. Every cat is different. Let us take it day by day/ cycle by cycle and use the data we have. Some cats will just do their own thing in their own time.
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  59. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Where is Sir Maximus this morning?
     
  60. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    If his AMPS is similar to yesterday, then it will be an easy decision for you. I just wanted to be around in case it was really a lower number.
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  61. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    Thanks you. He is 115 right now. Do you think maybe 1 unit?
     
  62. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    What about.75?
     
  63. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
  64. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    As long as you are feeding and testing you’re in control
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  65. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    When I look at his spreadsheet he recently had a similar AMPS and had two units. But everything has been changing so fast with him lately.
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  66. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    ya i think maybe .75 since its new bottle
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  67. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Let’s do it and see how he gets along on that smaller dose. I will be checking on him throughout the day.
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2024
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.
  68. Shawn & Sir Maximus

    Shawn & Sir Maximus Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2023
    I really appreciate it. Hope you have a great morning. Will be starting a new thread on my next comment.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  69. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    So far so good. 67 is a good number for +4. I feel good about it.
     
    Shawn & Sir Maximus likes this.

Share This Page