Simon 9/11 | AMPS 299 +3 251 PMPS 521 +2.5 400

It's so tough seeing them lose weight. Binx too is bony now, pre-FD was 16lbs (slightly overweight) and now he's at 11lbs. I'm sure the vet would've pointed this out, but anything of note with a t4 test, if you did one? A lot of Binx's weight loss is related to his hyperthyroidism, but that comes with other symptoms that I didn't see for Simon.

Hope you get some extra time together this weekend ๐Ÿค—
 
It's so tough seeing them lose weight. Binx too is bony now, pre-FD was 16lbs (slightly overweight) and now he's at 11lbs. I'm sure the vet would've pointed this out, but anything of note with a t4 test, if you did one? A lot of Binx's weight loss is related to his hyperthyroidism, but that comes with other symptoms that I didn't see for Simon.

Hope you get some extra time together this weekend ๐Ÿค—

16lbs to 11lbs is a lot. Definitely tough. I don't think Simon had a t4 test, but he's had so many tests in the last six months it's hard to keep track of them all ๐Ÿ˜ตโ€๐Ÿ’ซ. I'll have to double check his records
 
That is a lot of weight loss. Does the vet have any ideas? If he's eating enough food, sounds like some GI condition causing him to not absorb his food properly. Unregulated diabetes and hyperT are the other two common conditions causing weight loss. Hope the vet can figure it out. Side note, losing weight means it's quite unlikely to be acromegaly. Acrocats have a benign pituitary tumour putting out excess growth hormone. These kitties tend to gain weight as a result.
 
That is a lot of weight loss. Does the vet have any ideas? If he's eating enough food, sounds like some GI condition causing him to not absorb his food properly. Unregulated diabetes and hyperT are the other two common conditions causing weight loss. Hope the vet can figure it out. Side note, losing weight means it's quite unlikely to be acromegaly. Acrocats have a benign pituitary tumour putting out excess growth hormone. These kitties tend to gain weight as a result.

I could try increasing his food. He's at 3 3oz cans of Fancy Feast per day with treats here and there. His most recent test results seem to point to GI issues. The vet wants more tests for kidney and GI. After every new round of tests I'm usually left with more questions than answers.

The vet was concerned with his active cycles dipping so low around 8/24 and 8/25, and asked me to reduce Simon's dose to 3. I've been keeping him around 3.5 and his numbers have spiked high again. He's been super hungry this week, clearing his bowl of food almost immediately during each meal. In fact, he's meowing for more food as I type this, so I guess it's time for another snack for Simon
 
He's at 3 3oz cans of Fancy Feast per day
Sorry to bump this again but can I ask which variety/flavor of FF? When I was searching for wet food and calculating calories for Khloe, 3 (3oz) cans of FF Pate Chicken only had enough calories for a 13lb cat. But Iโ€™m sure the calories are different for different flavors so worth checking out.

When I first joined the board, I was told to use this formula to calculate calories. It has kept Khloe at the weight I need for her.

Ideal Weight X 20 = Ideal Calories Per Day.
For Simon to be 14.8 lbs again, he would need 296 Calories Per Day.

3 cans of FF Pate Ocean Whitefish & Tuna is 264 calories so just enough for a 13lb cat.
(Sorry for the long comment, I have spent far too much time looking at cat foods lol)
 
Sorry to bump this again but can I ask which variety/flavor of FF? When I was searching for wet food and calculating calories for Khloe, 3 (3oz) cans of FF Pate Chicken only had enough calories for a 13lb cat. But Iโ€™m sure the calories are different for different flavors so worth checking out.

When I first joined the board, I was told to use this formula to calculate calories. It has kept Khloe at the weight I need for her.

Ideal Weight X 20 = Ideal Calories Per Day.
For Simon to be 14.8 lbs again, he would need 296 Calories Per Day.

3 cans of FF Pate Ocean Whitefish & Tuna is 264 calories so just enough for a 13lb cat.
(Sorry for the long comment, I have spent far too much time looking at cat foods lol)

I forgot to mention that I've also been mixing in a can of Tiki Cat After Dark Pate throughout the day with the 3 cans of Fancy Feast seafood variety. I think I'm offering just around 300 calories, but of course Simon often doesn't finish his meals.

That formula is super helpful. I actually think the 14.8lbs is still too thin, Simon's weight in his prime was 17lbs. I'll add another can to his schedule and see how he does
 
Back
Top