Eric and Simba
Member Since 2018
TL;DR: Cat has DKA and our only option seems to be a bank-breaking ER visit. This seems extremely urgent and we're out of options.
Simba is the friendliest, most loving cat I've ever met. He's been my best friend for the past year and I'm getting desperate. If there's anything else we should be doing to help him, please let me know. This seems like something he should be able to get past, but the vet thinks we're at the end of the line here.
Posting as many details as I think might be relevant. Sorry if the post is too long, and sorry if this is the wrong forum.
We got Simba from the shelter last year. He was a 13 year old diabetic (but in remission). Since bringing him home, he had remained in remission for several months on a diet of Fancy Feast Classic Pate (4 cans per day). Early July, his glucose measured high (~3-400) on our home meter. Brought him to the vet & got him started on ProZinc insulin straight away (1 unit twice a day). Due to issues with that vet, we never actually got a real curve for him, or learned how to properly take a curve (big mistake, I know..) We spot checked occasionally and ended up raising his dose to 2 units.
Fast forward a couple months (October?), we got him to a different vet who prescribed Lantus. They taught us more about BG curves & we finally started taking the measurements we should have a long time ago. He was on 1 unit for a week or two. He measured very high throughout the day of the first curve (400+ - spreadsheet here), so they had us increase to 2 units. Next curve at 2 units was even slightly higher. They wanted us to wait another week or two before taking another curve and deciding if we should increase the dosage. I was planning on doing it this past Friday, but...
Thursday he threw up once or twice during the day and several times throughout the night. He tends to eat any garbage he can find, so this wasn't anything too worrisome. We got really concerned when he didn't eat his breakfast the next morning. He usually goes to town on it & finishes it immediately. So much that we've been giving him 1 of his cans frozen so he doesn't eat too quickly. He was also extremely lethargic (total limp noodle). Naturally, we brought him into the vet.
The vet gave us a pretty grim outlook. After going over the possible causes, she took him aside for a ketone test. Came back as what she said was "bad, right on the cusp of REALLY bad". Gave us 3 options:
1) Treatment at their facility, which involved fluid replacement/electrolyte therapy as well as further tests to try to figure out the cause of the DKA
2) ER visit, where they would have some "faster acting" insulin with a higher success rate... but she said this would likely run us thousands of dollars and potentially not even save him
3) Put him down...
We left him with them that night (Friday), not knowing if he'd make it through the weekend. They said the treatment had a chance of a sudden heart attack. We brought them his Lantus vial for them to administer while he was there. Luckily, he made it through for us to pick him up and bring him home on Sunday.
Results from the vet visit:
-He got antibiotics (some type that should stay in his system for 7-10 days) for a UTI as well as pancreatitis
-Gave him some anti-nausea medication (Cerenia)
-Fed him some food (some higher-carb Friskies) - they said he completely devoured it, which is how he usually is
-Gave him 1.5 units of Lantus one day, 2 units the next. Not sure about the rest of injections, as there should have been 4 total during his stay
-His BG readings were around 300, which is better than he'd been doing recently
-Fluid/Electrolyte therapy (they specifically said potassium)
Brought him home Sunday afternoon. He seemed much better than he did on Friday, but definitely nowhere near his usual self. He ended up finishing his food overnight (took him at least 5 hours, when it would normally be gone in 5 minutes).
Today, he still hadn't finished his breakfast by 6 PM. He normally gets feedings at 8AM & 8PM alongside his insulin injections. We gave him some canned salmon around 6PM, as I'd read online that something more pungent might be more appetizing. This worked a bit, but he still didn't finish it up. Also tried heating up his normal food to no avail. My SO was home, and she managed to get 2 readings earlier in the day (+3 and +6) and one PMPS. They were all 500+ (see spreadsheet). I picked up some ketone urinalysis test strips (CVS brand) and I was able to get one measurement while writing this. Looks like it's in the small to moderate range (attached pic).
The vet thinks he's still in DKA and says our only options are to retry the therapy or to give up. They gave us a fluid bag (potassium chloride & sodium chloride) for sub-q injection at home, but he really hates it and we haven't managed to get the full dosage in. I'm not even sure what this is supposed to help.
The whole situation looks dire. Took one more BG reading just now and it came in at 557. Is there anything short of a $3k ER visit that we can do? We don't want to lose him
edit for more info:
He's not eating or drinking much at all. I think we desperately need to get his glucose back down to normal levels ASAP but don't know how. The vet thinks he might be somogying and wants us to decrease his dosage to 0.5u for tomorrow. I don't think this is the case, as he has never actually measured at a low point since beginning insulin treatment. I think he needs a higher dose, but don't know how to be sure, don't want to make things worse, and don't want to go against the advice of the vet without good reason. However, it seems extremely urgent that we get him regulated ASAP. We are also planning on doing an extended curve tomorrow (measuring every hour) to get a better idea of what's going on.
Simba is the friendliest, most loving cat I've ever met. He's been my best friend for the past year and I'm getting desperate. If there's anything else we should be doing to help him, please let me know. This seems like something he should be able to get past, but the vet thinks we're at the end of the line here.
Posting as many details as I think might be relevant. Sorry if the post is too long, and sorry if this is the wrong forum.
We got Simba from the shelter last year. He was a 13 year old diabetic (but in remission). Since bringing him home, he had remained in remission for several months on a diet of Fancy Feast Classic Pate (4 cans per day). Early July, his glucose measured high (~3-400) on our home meter. Brought him to the vet & got him started on ProZinc insulin straight away (1 unit twice a day). Due to issues with that vet, we never actually got a real curve for him, or learned how to properly take a curve (big mistake, I know..) We spot checked occasionally and ended up raising his dose to 2 units.
Fast forward a couple months (October?), we got him to a different vet who prescribed Lantus. They taught us more about BG curves & we finally started taking the measurements we should have a long time ago. He was on 1 unit for a week or two. He measured very high throughout the day of the first curve (400+ - spreadsheet here), so they had us increase to 2 units. Next curve at 2 units was even slightly higher. They wanted us to wait another week or two before taking another curve and deciding if we should increase the dosage. I was planning on doing it this past Friday, but...
Thursday he threw up once or twice during the day and several times throughout the night. He tends to eat any garbage he can find, so this wasn't anything too worrisome. We got really concerned when he didn't eat his breakfast the next morning. He usually goes to town on it & finishes it immediately. So much that we've been giving him 1 of his cans frozen so he doesn't eat too quickly. He was also extremely lethargic (total limp noodle). Naturally, we brought him into the vet.
The vet gave us a pretty grim outlook. After going over the possible causes, she took him aside for a ketone test. Came back as what she said was "bad, right on the cusp of REALLY bad". Gave us 3 options:
1) Treatment at their facility, which involved fluid replacement/electrolyte therapy as well as further tests to try to figure out the cause of the DKA
2) ER visit, where they would have some "faster acting" insulin with a higher success rate... but she said this would likely run us thousands of dollars and potentially not even save him
3) Put him down...
We left him with them that night (Friday), not knowing if he'd make it through the weekend. They said the treatment had a chance of a sudden heart attack. We brought them his Lantus vial for them to administer while he was there. Luckily, he made it through for us to pick him up and bring him home on Sunday.
Results from the vet visit:
-He got antibiotics (some type that should stay in his system for 7-10 days) for a UTI as well as pancreatitis
-Gave him some anti-nausea medication (Cerenia)
-Fed him some food (some higher-carb Friskies) - they said he completely devoured it, which is how he usually is
-Gave him 1.5 units of Lantus one day, 2 units the next. Not sure about the rest of injections, as there should have been 4 total during his stay
-His BG readings were around 300, which is better than he'd been doing recently
-Fluid/Electrolyte therapy (they specifically said potassium)
Brought him home Sunday afternoon. He seemed much better than he did on Friday, but definitely nowhere near his usual self. He ended up finishing his food overnight (took him at least 5 hours, when it would normally be gone in 5 minutes).
Today, he still hadn't finished his breakfast by 6 PM. He normally gets feedings at 8AM & 8PM alongside his insulin injections. We gave him some canned salmon around 6PM, as I'd read online that something more pungent might be more appetizing. This worked a bit, but he still didn't finish it up. Also tried heating up his normal food to no avail. My SO was home, and she managed to get 2 readings earlier in the day (+3 and +6) and one PMPS. They were all 500+ (see spreadsheet). I picked up some ketone urinalysis test strips (CVS brand) and I was able to get one measurement while writing this. Looks like it's in the small to moderate range (attached pic).
The vet thinks he's still in DKA and says our only options are to retry the therapy or to give up. They gave us a fluid bag (potassium chloride & sodium chloride) for sub-q injection at home, but he really hates it and we haven't managed to get the full dosage in. I'm not even sure what this is supposed to help.
The whole situation looks dire. Took one more BG reading just now and it came in at 557. Is there anything short of a $3k ER visit that we can do? We don't want to lose him
edit for more info:
He's not eating or drinking much at all. I think we desperately need to get his glucose back down to normal levels ASAP but don't know how. The vet thinks he might be somogying and wants us to decrease his dosage to 0.5u for tomorrow. I don't think this is the case, as he has never actually measured at a low point since beginning insulin treatment. I think he needs a higher dose, but don't know how to be sure, don't want to make things worse, and don't want to go against the advice of the vet without good reason. However, it seems extremely urgent that we get him regulated ASAP. We are also planning on doing an extended curve tomorrow (measuring every hour) to get a better idea of what's going on.
Attachments
Last edited:

