Should I switch from Prozinc to Lantus?

Hshray

Member Since 2021
I posted this question on the main health forum, but it was suggested that I post over here, so I am copying it.

I know it’s not a “yes” or “no” answer, but I wanted to see what people’s opinions or experiences were regarding switching from Prozinc to Lantus.

George is doing ok on Prozinc and most days spends a lot of time in the blues and greens, so I don’t want to lose any progress, but he still bounces a lot too (like a lot) so I didn’t know if Lantus might help smooth that out. I want to give him the best chance at regulation and remission as possible, but since he’s seemed to make decent progress on Prozinc I also don’t want to risk setting him back.

For background, George was diagnosed in January and started on Vetsulin. He switched to Prozinc in April, and I just started following the Modified Prozinc Method of dosing (MPM) at the end of May (similar to Lantus TR)…that’s when he finally started seeing decent numbers.

Initially I was intimidated to ask for Lantus because the dose timing needs to be SO precise and I was super stressed and felt that was one more added pressure, but I’ve found that I always shoot at the same time anyway so that really shouldn’t be an issue. That Prozinc has a little flexibility is nice for peace of mind though just in case anything comes up ever.

Any advice or experience would be appreciated!
 
I've tried Caninsulin that's your Vetsulin, Prozinc and Levemir.
Of the three I like Lev the best because it has minimized the bouncing, she just started bouncing again the past few months. And a steady flat curve, and I'm able to shoot a lot lower.

I think you'll gain less red, pink and yellows from switching and a more steady curve. But he is definitely one of those who is doing pretty well on Prozinc. Mine wasn't as flat.
You have 30 minutes of flexibility once a day, or 15 minutes twice a day if you switch.
OR shooting later loosing some momentum or a tiny bit earlier but I guess that would take ballzzzzz and careful monitoring the next few cycles.

Just my two cents :D
 
I've tried Caninsulin that's your Vetsulin, Prozinc and Levemir.
Of the three I like Lev the best because it has minimized the bouncing, she just started bouncing again the past few months. And a steady flat curve, and I'm able to shoot a lot lower.

I think you'll gain less red, pink and yellows from switching and a more steady curve. But he is definitely one of those who is doing pretty well on Prozinc. Mine wasn't as flat.
You have 30 minutes of flexibility once a day, or 15 minutes twice a day if you switch.
OR shooting later loosing some momentum or a tiny bit earlier but I guess that would take ballzzzzz and careful monitoring the next few cycles.

Just my two cents :D
Thank you! This is helpful. Good to hear from someone who has done the trifecta already haha. Also good to know that there is still a little bit of flexibility with the depot insulins. It looks like Mauer is doing well on Levemir!
 
Thank you! This is helpful. Good to hear from someone who has done the trifecta already haha. Also good to know that there is still a little bit of flexibility with the depot insulins. It looks like Mauer is doing well on Levemir!
She could do a lot better, if I were able to run her as tight as usual. But we'll be back :p:cool:
You can always look at my spreadsheet and see the difference. Or use the search function to see others :D
 
@FrostD wondering your thoughts on this too since you’re familiar with George’s story and have also done both Prozinc and Lantus.

PS - I saw your post below about your OTJ trial - how awesome!!
 
I went through Vetsulin, ProZinc, Lantus, and Levemir.

Vetsulin: awful, not duration.

ProZinc: a little better but still no duration (even tried 3x day dosing).

Lantus: much better duration and much better curves

Levemir: awesome. So much better than anything. Nice flat, gentle curves most times. Excellent duration.

Best of Luck!!
 
I went through Vetsulin, ProZinc, Lantus, and Levemir.

Vetsulin: awful, not duration.

ProZinc: a little better but still no duration (even tried 3x day dosing).

Lantus: much better duration and much better curves

Levemir: awesome. So much better than anything. Nice flat, gentle curves most times. Excellent duration.

Best of Luck!!
This is great to know! Thank you! I hadn’t even really considered Levemir, but I will have to look into that too!
 
I went through Vetsulin, ProZinc, Lantus, and Levemir.

Vetsulin: awful, not duration.

ProZinc: a little better but still no duration (even tried 3x day dosing).

Lantus: much better duration and much better curves

Levemir: awesome. So much better than anything. Nice flat, gentle curves most times. Excellent duration.

Best of Luck!!
I agree with this! Love Levemir, it will probably help George's bouncing and keep him beautifully flat (Lantus good too!). Just know that depot insulins are best for keeping low numbers low, so if he's a bit high it'll take a little while to see him come down.
 
I agree with this! Love Levemir, it will probably help George's bouncing and keep him beautifully flat (Lantus good too!). Just know that depot insulins are best for keeping low numbers low, so if he's a bit high it'll take a little while to see him come down.
Thank you! I’m 99% sure I’m going to try to switch to a depot…if so, would you recommend waiting for a blue pre-shot to make the switch? What about dosage - do I start off a little lower than where he is on Prozinc or the same (he did go down to 50 on the current dose a couple days ago)? Just preempting some of my questions.
 
Thank you! I’m 99% sure I’m going to try to switch to a depot…if so, would you recommend waiting for a blue pre-shot to make the switch? What about dosage - do I start off a little lower than where he is on Prozinc or the same (he did go down to 50 on the current dose a couple days ago)? Just preempting some of my questions.
With his numbers I don't think it matters when you make the switch, as long as he isn't creeping up higher over time.

When you're ready to switch post again, and someone more experienced can advise in the dose. Because his nadirs are so low already, I doubt it will be a 1:1 switch. And always best to switch when you can really stay around to monitor.
 
When switching from prozinc you start with the same or a slightly lower dose. I have only used lantus. It worked for me at the time because the nadir was before +5-6 and with lev it’s often later I the cycle, even at preshot.
 
I posted earlier regarding recommendations or experiences switching from Prozinc to Lantus:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/should-i-switch-from-prozinc-to-lantus.249903/

I’ve decided to make the switch and would like to start him on it either tomorrow morning (Friday) or Saturday morning. I could also wait until Sunday or a little longer until his numbers start coming down though (he’s bouncing right now). I have the Lantus and U100 syringes and will be around to monitor him.

My question is what dose to start him on. He’s currently on 1.75U of Prozinc. He got up to 3.5U at the beginning of June and has slowly been earning reductions. He did go down to 50 BG two days ago on 1.75U, so not sure if 1.75 will be too high.

I’d also like to start tight regulation right away. (I’m currently doing the ProZinc equivalent of it.) I was wondering how long I would hold the initial dose to build the depot though.

Thank you!
 
Welcome to LLB. You will hold the initial dose for 7 days for the depot to build.

It’s very busy on LLB so we ask you post one condo each day and just add the question mark prefix or change the subject rather than start a new thread for each question. I gave my opinion on dosing on your other thread today. I’m going to ask the moderators to merge your threads.
 
Welcome to LLB. You will hold the initial dose for 7 days for the depot to build.

It’s very busy on LLB so we ask you post one condo each day and just add the question mark prefix or change the subject rather than start a new thread for each question. I gave my opinion on dosing on your other thread today. I’m going to ask the moderators to merge your threads.
So start with 1.5? Or 1.75?
 
Depends on how conservative you want to be. We suggest using the same dose, but he was pretty low on 1.75 units. It'd be fine to start with 1.5 if you want some margin.
 
Depends on how conservative you want to be. We suggest using the same dose, but he was pretty low on 1.75 units. It'd be fine to start with 1.5 if you want some margin.
Thank you. I ended up going with 1.75.
 
Back
Top