Should I skip a shot?

Youde

Member Since 2025
Short story:
15 year old cat diagnosed 3 months ago is likely going into remission.
Right now his pre-dose level is 104 mg/dL, nadir is around 95, has been on 0.4 unit of prozinc twice daily in the past 24 hours, and 1 unit of prozinc for 7 days before that, and 2 units before that.

Long story:
Youde was first diagnosed in December and has been on U-40 Prozinc. We started with 2 units twice daily initially and the vet let us do home testing since we were comfortable with it and already had a human meter at home.

We increased the amount of wet food we give to Youde immediately after the diagnosis (from 100 g per day to 200 g per day), and 3 weeks after the diagnosis we removed dry food completely. He eats cans from a brand called Wild Freedom that we get on Zooplus, and he's been eating the food from mostly the same brand for 5/6 years now.

About 3 months after the diagnosis, or a week ago, I did a curve at home and realized his glucose levels were between 45 and 130. After discussing with the vet over the phone we lowered his insulin intake to 1 unit twice daily. He was on 1 unit of Prozinc for exactly one week and his glucose levels were between 100 and 160, and it was trending down. So yesterday we lowered it again to 0.4 unit twice daily and the levels have been between 95 and 135. My vet said if his low gets below 90, we should stop giving him insulin.

I am new to the forum and really don't have much experience with charting. Everything was handwritten in a notebook. His PS is so low (104) but since the nadir is still above 90, and he's only on 0.4 U, I am not sure what to do....
 
Last edited:
Hello over here on the ProZinc forum, too. I already replied on your other thread on the health forum. Later we can move over here because it will be easier for me to help you from here.
 
Day 3 on 0.4 U and we got a green nadir (90), but we did gave him a fat dose this morning. Will continue to aim at 50-100 with the current dose.
 
He’s doing very well on that small amount of insulin. I would hold the dose for several days to let things stabilize. It can take a little while for the pancreas to heal and the insulin will support that healing.
 
Just realized that I was responding in the wrong thread - sorry!

Youde got 233/129 (AMPS/+4) today despite being given 0.6 unit this morning.

My vet has been painfully slow - it took me two days to get them to agree to my request for more insulin, and I was finally able to pay now, so hopefully they'll send the prescription to the pharmacy soon.

Can I rant here? - I don't trust my vet. When Youde was diagnosed they suggested euthanasia as one of the two viable options (the other being insulin). They said diet didn't matter. They said I should stop insulin as soon as I get a nadir below 90. They charged me not a small amount for just taking a look at Youde's spreadsheet and telling me they don't think he needs more insulin. They said they rarely see any cats going into remission. Then now it's taking me email after email and multiple calls just to get the prescription sent to the pharmacy. But I also don't want to pay thousands again (which would be 650+ USD) just to try another vet. - Rant over.
 
Just realized that I was responding in the wrong thread - sorry!

Youde got 233/129 (AMPS/+4) today despite being given 0.6 unit this morning.

My vet has been painfully slow - it took me two days to get them to agree to my request for more insulin, and I was finally able to pay now, so hopefully they'll send the prescription to the pharmacy soon.

Can I rant here? - I don't trust my vet. When Youde was diagnosed they suggested euthanasia as one of the two viable options (the other being insulin). They said diet didn't matter. They said I should stop insulin as soon as I get a nadir below 90. They charged me not a small amount for just taking a look at Youde's spreadsheet and telling me they don't think he needs more insulin. They said they rarely see any cats going into remission. Then now it's taking me email after email and multiple calls just to get the prescription sent to the pharmacy. But I also don't want to pay thousands again (which would be 650+ USD) just to try another vet. - Rant over.
It’s definitely all right to rant here! :bighug:It’s possible that your vet is not experienced/well-educated in feline diabetes? They don’t sound as though they’re really trying to help you though. I would be angry. We can help you here. Of course they would not see many remissions if they tell people to euthanize their cats when they are diagnosed as diabetic! And also if they’re telling people to stop insulin when the cat has a BG of 90 — Unless the cat stays always at 90, that is. Do you feel like you would trust them to treat Youde with a different health condition? Or do you think that in the future you might need a different vet anyway?
 
His numbers are creeping up a bit. I hope you can get the new insulin soon!! Do you see particles in the insulin?

Would it do any good to go to the vet’s office and park yourself there until they write you a prescription for the ProZinc? This is ridiculous!
 
You are absolutely right. I called them back to back on Tuesday to make sure that they sent the prescription to the pharmacy, then called and stopped in person by the pharmacy on Wednesday. The new vial finally arrived on Thursday and we started it this morning (Friday). So far Youde's numbers have been consistent with what he had with the old vial, which is a relief.

Thank you for hearing me and listening to my vent. You are right, I wouldn't trust them should Youde have a different condition, so my search for a new vet shall start. It won't be easy as we are new year in the city and we had a terrific vet where we used to live, it would be hard to match up, but we have to, it's the only way to go.
 
I see he’s just a little bit lower today. Nice to see the green color on there! Let’s let this dose settle a little bit longer before making any decisions. He is doing well! Making progress! ❤️
 
He is making good progress! We are now trying to lower the dose just little but little (from 0.6 to 0.5, or at least we try), and perhaps to 0.4 in the next few days. I think he is heading towards staying the green-zone at all times, hopefully soon, fingers crossed!

Once we have the new test strips I plan to do a full curve (every 1-2 hours) next week just to understand it better. In a week's time we will be away from home, and there will be a guest family staying in our apartment for one week to administer the shots. They can give him the shots but it would be too complicated to ask them to measure the glucose levels too. So we are thinking to ask them to give him a <0.4 shot, which is <1 unit on the U-100 syringe.

How do you like the idea?
 
Last edited:
How is Youde? He was getting wonderful numbers but then there is no recent data on the spreadsheet. I hope he is doing really well!

Maybe you have been away. I hope the caregiver was going to be shooting a reduced dose for safety’s sake since there would be no testing.
 
Thanks for following up! Yes as planned they were asked to shoot a reduced dose (0.3) for a week, and we also skipped a shot due to complicated logistics, I wanted to play safe and only asked the secondary caregiver to give him food, no insulin. We just got back home today and got his +7 number, a bit higher than usual but still pretty good given that he had been on a reduced dose for a week. He also lost a tiny amount of weight (he was slightly overweight), so all is good. Hope you had a good Easter Holiday!
 
That is all good news. I look forward to seeing his progress. I am excited about all the green numbers he was having before, and I want to see them on his spreadsheet again. That blue number is very good for the reduced dose. Hopefully, he will earn a reduction on his own now that you are home.

I hope you enjoyed your time away with no worries about Youde. I did enjoy my Easter holiday, thank you!
 
Yes from today's data it looks like he is more or less back to his "normal" range prior to the reduction. I think we will stay here for a bit and see how he holds up.
 
AMPS should be a little lower, but the 79 at +3 looks good. It should be fine to continue with this dose for a few days to see how his numbers go.
 
Back
Top