Youde
Member Since 2025
Short story:
15 year old cat diagnosed 3 months ago is likely going into remission.
Right now his pre-dose level is 104 mg/dL, nadir is around 95, has been on 0.4 unit of prozinc twice daily in the past 24 hours, and 1 unit of prozinc for 7 days before that, and 2 units before that.
Long story:
Youde was first diagnosed in December and has been on U-40 Prozinc. We started with 2 units twice daily initially and the vet let us do home testing since we were comfortable with it and already had a human meter at home.
We increased the amount of wet food we give to Youde immediately after the diagnosis (from 100 g per day to 200 g per day), and 3 weeks after the diagnosis we removed dry food completely. He eats cans from a brand called Wild Freedom that we get on Zooplus, and he's been eating the food from mostly the same brand for 5/6 years now.
About 3 months after the diagnosis, or a week ago, I did a curve at home and realized his glucose levels were between 45 and 130. After discussing with the vet over the phone we lowered his insulin intake to 1 unit twice daily. He was on 1 unit of Prozinc for exactly one week and his glucose levels were between 100 and 160, and it was trending down. So yesterday we lowered it again to 0.4 unit twice daily and the levels have been between 95 and 135. My vet said if his low gets below 90, we should stop giving him insulin.
I am new to the forum and really don't have much experience with charting. Everything was handwritten in a notebook. His PS is so low (104) but since the nadir is still above 90, and he's only on 0.4 U, I am not sure what to do....
15 year old cat diagnosed 3 months ago is likely going into remission.
Right now his pre-dose level is 104 mg/dL, nadir is around 95, has been on 0.4 unit of prozinc twice daily in the past 24 hours, and 1 unit of prozinc for 7 days before that, and 2 units before that.
Long story:
Youde was first diagnosed in December and has been on U-40 Prozinc. We started with 2 units twice daily initially and the vet let us do home testing since we were comfortable with it and already had a human meter at home.
We increased the amount of wet food we give to Youde immediately after the diagnosis (from 100 g per day to 200 g per day), and 3 weeks after the diagnosis we removed dry food completely. He eats cans from a brand called Wild Freedom that we get on Zooplus, and he's been eating the food from mostly the same brand for 5/6 years now.
About 3 months after the diagnosis, or a week ago, I did a curve at home and realized his glucose levels were between 45 and 130. After discussing with the vet over the phone we lowered his insulin intake to 1 unit twice daily. He was on 1 unit of Prozinc for exactly one week and his glucose levels were between 100 and 160, and it was trending down. So yesterday we lowered it again to 0.4 unit twice daily and the levels have been between 95 and 135. My vet said if his low gets below 90, we should stop giving him insulin.
I am new to the forum and really don't have much experience with charting. Everything was handwritten in a notebook. His PS is so low (104) but since the nadir is still above 90, and he's only on 0.4 U, I am not sure what to do....
Last edited:
It’s possible that your vet is not experienced/well-educated in feline diabetes? They don’t sound as though they’re really trying to help you though. I would be angry. We can help you here. Of course they would not see many remissions if they tell people to euthanize their cats when they are diagnosed as diabetic! And also if they’re telling people to stop insulin when the cat has a BG of 90 — Unless the cat stays always at 90, that is. Do you feel like you would trust them to treat Youde with a different health condition? Or do you think that in the future you might need a different vet anyway?