Should I increase?

Just a reminder when posting on the lantus forum you would post like this
The Date, then Oscar, then his AMPS number and any other tests after that
Do a new post everyday and link your previous days post to the new one
 
I use a vial. It waas getting over 2 months old. I started using a new one on Saturday. Also, switched up to a longer needle for a syringe. Sometimes, I question if got the the needle in. Should I hold at same dose or increase? Thinking about increrasing .5 and going to 5.25 Lantus twice a day.
 
I agree you are good to increase to 5.25. Your vial should last at least 5/6 months if stored in the fridge.
 
A little frustrated that I have been increasing insulin and going backward with the glucose number. I have been giving Oscar EZ Complete and mixing in different low carb/high proteins. Is Pork not a good one? I make every effort to find meats that are low sodium, low carb, and high proteins. I have dark chicken next in the rotation. What meats do you recommend? Oscar does have a good appetite so I am thankful for that. Trying to help my buddy put on some lbs in a healthy way. I do have a Vet appointment on Wed Evening. Hoping, to rule out other health issues that maybe is causing a high glucose level. Well, on a positive note Oscar enjoyed rolling around and purring today.
 
I have been giving Oscar EZ Complete and mixing in different low carb/high proteins.
Unfortunately, for my cat Sabrina, her glucose number elevated with a raw diet/higher protein diet. The metabolism of protein into energy is a process called gluconeogenesis. The protein eventually turn into glucose for energy. So a higher protein food can raise blood glucose, at least for some cats.

Is Pork not a good one?
Pork tenderloin and pork loin are good and lean. When I put Sabrina on raw/homemade cooked, she really enjoyed venison, bison, and quail.
 
Yeah, they ignored most of the raw meats. I have been cooking meats in the air fryer and they love that. Well better news with Oscar AMPS at 348 so down 30 points since the last test.
 
I been increasing Oscar .5 units of Lantus after 3 days of not getting in the 200's. Should I go ahead and go up another .5 tomorrow to make it at 5.75 units? Also, is their a point that I have the Vet try another insulin? The Vet suggested that when getting around 6. Oscar was ruled out of having a thyroid issue, Dental Disease, and UTI. Still concern as he pukes every 2 days usually just once and down to 10.96 lbs. Lost 3 lbs since diagnosed back on 9/8/22. The Vet office didn't have the equipment to test for Acromegaly.
 
My message was in my drafts until 3:45. My day does start early. I did increase .5. I believe that is the guideline. I don't like being at a higher amount but not sure what the other options are. On a positive note, Oscar was at 312 AMPS. His lowest score since 306 on 3/6 AMPS. Hoping, to get in the yellow and be there more consistently.
 
Back
Top