Lauren & Red
Member Since 2021
I’ve only been giving 0.5u. But shouldn’t I increase the dose if my PMPS test is 403?
To 0.75 or 1?
To 0.75 or 1?
I’ve only been giving 0.5u. But shouldn’t I increase the dose if my PMPS test is 403?
With Lantus, the dose isn't based on the Pre-Shot....it's based on how low it takes him and since he dropped to 98 today on the .5, you'd hold that dose for now.
The Pre-Shot is important because you always want to make sure he's high enough for insulin at all, but when dealing with dose, we look at the lows
Ruh-roh! —that’s a Scooby Doo referenceAlso, that 403 is probably a "bounce" number.
Bounces happen when 1. they drop too low, 2. they drop too fast, 3. they drop into numbers their body isn't used to anymore (or any combination of all 3)
With Red dropping to 98 today, while that's not "too low", it's probably a lot lower than his body has been for quite some time. Our cats are so good at hiding that they're sick so by the time we get them diagnosed, they've probably been diabetic for a long time. Their blood glucose has slowly been going up and their body has gotten used to it. Once we start giving insulin, we're forcing the BG down and his body is thinking "Oh no....this doesn't feel right!" and the liver releases stored sugars and hormones to bring it back up. It can take up to 6 cycles for those hormones to clear the bloodstream.
Understood. ThanksPlease go back to the 0.5 unit dose at the next preshot, if the preshot BG is high enough to shoot..
Please give more than 10 minutes for us to answer. Sometimes we are there within 1 minute but at other times we may be helping someone else or not online at the at moment. We are all volunteers here.
You asked the dosing question in the testing condo after you got the PMPS 403. @Chris & China (GA) responded to you in the same thread 7 minutes later. That is lightening fast for the Main Health Forum. And then you questioned her judgment even though Bron had already told you here to hold the dose and I agreed with her. AND she explained to you why not to increase.Well that’s not good. I was anxiously waiting because my time was already getting messed up again (the test just takes forever so it’s unpredictable when I will have my BG number). When no one responded after at least 10 minutes I just made a decision and went with it. I shot somewhere between .5 and 1. So 0.75 or maybe less. It’s impossible to tell without quarter marking lines. Hopefully I didn’t mess up too bad. Clearly, I’m not understanding how this works. I printed it out and read everything so many times that I don’t know why it’s still not clicking. But I’ll keep trying. Thanks again for your help!
I actually asked for a clarification on the comment from her on the 0.5. I wasn’t sure if she meant that it was OK in general to be giving insulin and not understanding that I asked if I could increase it or not in the other thread.You asked the dosing question in the testing condo after you got the PMPS 403. @Chris & China (GA) responded to you in the same thread 7 minutes later. That is lightening fast for the Main Health Forum. And then you questioned her judgment even though Bron had already told you here to hold the dose and I agreed with her. AND she explained to you why not to increase.
As Bron said in this thread, Chris again responded to the same question that you posed in this thread (were you hoping for a different answer?) in 13 minutes. Again....really fast.
We’ve asked you repeatedly to move your shot time back so you can take the time you need to get the test and not always be lagging behind. It also gives you time to ask your questions and have them answered.
So....tough love here. There is so much info on this board that it’s beyond amazing and incredible. Members are willing to put down whatever they are doing, and most of them have their own diabetic cats, to respond to someone in need. But you need to have patience. Look at this forum alone and see how many new, frightened members there are. Then go to the LBL forum, the PZ forum, the Vetsulin forum, the acro forum. Look how many people need help and there are only a few that have the experience with every insulin. Patience, Grasshopper!
If you don’t get a response right away, read back through what has already been given to you in the thread and if you still don’t understand whether to increase the dose, then tag an experienced member or send one a PM and ask them to go to your thread. But don’t just arbitrarily and on your own increase the dose because you don’t have the data right now. The saying here is "don’t increase the dose unless you know how low the current dose is taking the kitty". And you don’t know. He could easily have gotten a BG somewhere below 98.
Caveat for anyone reading: if your cat has ketones or a history of DKA and you want to raise the dose but are unsure, put up a 911 to get the attention if you must shoot right away (most times, you can stall until you get help). Just be sure you take the 911 down as soon as someone helps you.
It’s easy enough for you to say if something happens it’s your responsibility. Yes, that is true, but don’t you think we all feel it when something happens to a cat here regardless of whether the CG was being careless or not? We do. We take every single cat here seriously and the loss or irreparable insult to even one of them from a symptomatic hypo devastates the entire group.
Many members have made many good suggestions but have you tried them? Did you try to burrito him and put him in a chair next to you where he can’t move and his paws are covered? Did you look into toe pad testing? Unfortunately, I have not heard back from the member who, for a short time, did urine glucose testing but, honestly, it’s not something I’d have ever done and now you see why. Now you understand why it is imperative that he learn to be tested.
Have you ever tried a thunder shirt for cats? They work well for most.
I know you will likely be upset when you read this. We understand you are trying. But you can’t be cavalier ("Ruh-roh! —that’s a Scooby Doo reference”) because his life is in your hands and this is not funny or anything to be taken lightly.
Final word: please have respect for our members here and how they are trying to help you. Don’t give them 10 minutes to respond and do what you want without even understanding the repercussions.
Ok...off my soapbox.
I removed it. I don’t think this is the right place for me. I am apparently upsetting people. Which was never my intention. I don’t need any more stress or negativity when I’m already having such a hard time. I have printed out all the information, including your wonderful advice and will use it as a reference. Thank you for all of your help!I could have sworn Lauren had a SS set up, now it's gone?
I looked into paw testing but learned it’s a bad idea because of possible infection.
Chris said this:I actually asked for a clarification on the comment from her on the 0.5.
I don’t understand what about that needs any clarification.403 is more than high enough for insulin so go ahead and give the .5 unit dose again.
They follow a protocol or method of regulation. Those methods are on the board for anyone to read. Yes, looking at other SSs is a great idea as long as you understand what you are looking at or ask questions when you don’t.It seems like most people increase the insulin when the number is higher.
I did read all of your previous posts and you didn’t address that you tried “ALL” the suggestions. If paw testing can result in infections, I wouldn’t have suggested it.If you read any of my previous messages you would see that I have tried ALL the suggestions. Including the ones you just repeated.
I looked into paw testing but learned it’s a bad idea because of possible infection.
You might want to recall all the time I’ve patiently spent helping and supporting you, how many times I’ve assured you you were not bothering me and I was happy to help, how many links and other info I’ve provided for you. Every, single new member here feels drowned by all of this.You seem very unable or unwilling to relate to someone who’s new to this and is not only feeling drowned by new and confusing information, but is having a really hard time with everything.
Of course I have. We all have. Members have been very patient and helpful to you in answering your questions in straightforward answers.Have you ever read something and not understood a word of it because it’s all brand new?
No one has attacked you. There is a difference between what I said to you and “attacking you” which no one here has done. Everyone has tried to answer your questions and have been quite patient and supportive.Perhaps it’s best if I find a different support system so I don’t have to feel attacked by asking questions or making mistakes. I thought that was the whole point of this forum.
Lauren, My cat is not on Lantus but on ProZinc. I also heard but did not GRASP what the wonderful helpful people here told me. I made a WORD doc on my computer and copy and paste all pertinent tidbits of info into that word doc. Save it but leave it up. Then read it daily. I did all of this. Just the main point is what needs to sink in. Also read others' troubles and the answers they get (how I found out about your situation today) I am a newbie too!Ruh-roh! —that’s a Scooby Doo reference
So I dosed too much? You have been so unbelievably helpful! I don’t even know how to thank you. But if I’m being honest, I just read that twice and it’s not really clicking. I’m sure it eventually will and you simplified your explanation nicely. So I’ll keep reading all of your advice and comments until hopefully I get that “ah ha” moment.
Until then, there’s not much more you can do.
thank you again truly! Your time is valuable and it means a lot that that you gave so much of it to me this week.
I was doing paw testing but felt it hurt my cat more so learned ear testing. PM me for help with getting ear testing down, if you chooseI looked into paw testing but learned it’s a bad idea because of possible infection.
So not true. The peeps here are so helpful, I know because I am new and struggling. It is important to learn everything you can, make bullet pointsYou seem very unable or unwilling to relate to someone who’s new to this and is not only feeling drowned by new and confusing information, but is having a really hard time with everything. It’s overwhelming. I DO read everything but its hard to remember sometimes.
I do not think you should stop asking questions, just make copies of the question and answer on a bullet point page so you can refer to itAs for the rest of it, I will stop asking questions since I keep getting these type of response from you. Perhaps it’s best if I find a different support system so I don’t have to feel attacked by asking questions or making mistakes. I thought that was the whole point of this forum.

