? Should I have increased?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue484

Member Since 2015
Hi. A couple of nights ago, I asked for advice on increasing and was told to go ahead. Yesterday, someone suggested that Frankie could be bouncing from the mid cycle yellows he was seeing. I shot his increased 3 units last night even though his BG was 30.7 (553) which looked like he was bouncing. Overnight he remained high and this morning he was 31.1 (560). Could this be NDW or should I not have increased as he was bouncing? I am using an AT meter.
 
It's not a problem to increase while kitty is bouncing. Check out Libby's post here on increasing during a bounce. You just don't want to increase on the particular cycle that they are breaking the bounce. On those particular cycles, there is some downward momentum, which can be made worse if done the same time as an increase. I think you are seeing some NDW now. Paws crossed you see some better numbers soon.
 
Phew. That's a relief. I haven't seen that post before which shed more light. Thanks. Paws crossed he starts coming down. About day 3 according to the post is that right?
 
How long it takes a cat to clear a bounce can vary. The longest is typically 3 days. The more a cat becomes used to normal numbers, the more the bounces will lessen, both in intensity and in duration. So at first the cat might bounce the whole 3 days in 300+ numbers. But if they spend more time in normal numbers, hey might only bounce for 2 days, then just one day, then eventually a bounce might only last a couple of hours and only go to 150. Eventually most cats will get used to normal numbers and stop bouncing.

Looking at Frankie's ss, on 6/19 when he got to green, he bounced and hit black by pmps. That bounce he cleared in just less than 2 days.

Just fyi, when you reduce a dose, the idea is that the cat returns back into green numbers when any bounce clears. If the cat doesn't end up back in green numbers, then it would be a failed reduction and you'd want to increase the dose back up immediately. There's no need to hold onto a dose after a reduction to see if they will settle into it. You only do that when you're initially going up the dosing scale. After a reduction the cat should continue in normal numbers. Here's another explanation of that.

Hope some of that helps answer your question about bouncing. Keep asking questions, Sue!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top