Ziggyloveforever
Member Since 2021
Got it I’m gonna fill this out ASAP to help everyone help me and also for my own reference
Got it I’m gonna fill this out ASAP to help everyone help me and also for my own reference
I love looking at my spreadsheet, you can see me learn what I'm doing and how insane I am with testingGot it I’m gonna fill this out ASAP to help everyone help me and also for my own reference
you've got this sugar parent! Ill be on for a while if you need help with the SS!I love looking at my spreadsheet, you can see me learn what I'm doing and how insane I am with testingyou've got this sugar parent! Ill be on for a while if you need help with the SS!
Thank you so much I’ll get to this ASAP
im actually gonna try and get some rest now I’ve been up almost two days straight at this point with this new diagnosis just terrified I’m gonna do something wrong I’ll definitely need assistance with the spreadsheet but I assume that’s something I can YouTube someone mentioned it’s like excel so I figure I’ll look that up I assume we’re in different time zones because it’s 1:30am here or I would love your help I appreciate all the help you’ve given me and I’m looking forward to doing the spreadsheet like you said for your own reference it helps a lot I’ve been keeping a log in my journal so that would be even better

Just sending you a PM with the details I need to set up your spreadsheet and signature.I’ll definitely need assistance with the spreadsheet but I assume that’s something I can YouTube someone mentioned it’s like excel so I figure I’ll look that up I assume we’re in different time zones because it’s 1:30am here or I would love your help I appreciate all the help you’ve given me and I’m looking forward to doing the spreadsheet like you said for your own reference it helps a lot I’ve been keeping a log in my journal so that would be even better
Thank you so much I’m sorry I was sleeping for the first time in quite some time I just sent all the information over thank thank you from the bottom of my heartJust sending you a PM with the details I need to set up your spreadsheet and signature.
I’m sorry I wasn’t around earlier.
The urine strips, as I explained before don’t give an up to date reading of the blood sugar.
Are you testing every day for ketones? If you aren’t able to get reliable blood glucose readings and are skipping doses it is REALLY important that you test every day for ketones.
Hopefully @Bandit's Mom will be able to help you set up the spreadsheet and signature. These are both really important things we need to be able to help you.
I’m trying so hard to navigate the spreadsheet right now I’m gonna have to use my brothers computer when he’s done with school because my phone won’t let me enter it he’s so young and has so many complications my poor baby I’m gonna do whatever I can to help him and help you help us but please be patient with me while I learn to navigate this all the spreadsheet is sending me for a loop but I promise I’ll get it !Welcome. I see you have a spreadsheet now. Please plug in whatever numbers you have for the last week or two. Zingy is so young to have diabetes. Hopefully we can help you get him regulated quickly. I just read some of your intro. Hopefully the pancreatitis brought on fd and he will become diet controlled.
Slow down. Deep breaths! Rome wasn’t built in a day. There’s a lot to learn. We don’t need that information until PMPS. Are you in the US? What time zone? When is your shot time? I’m on the west coast.
Slow down. Deep breaths! Rome wasn’t built in a day. There’s a lot to learn. We don’t need that information until PMPS. Are you in the US? What time zone? When is your shot time? I’m on the west coast.
Thank you so very much we’re at the vet now making sure my glucose meter matches their and they’re giving me some lessons I’ll definitely look into that ASAP because I’ll take all the help I can get <3@Ziggyloveforever
I scrolled back quickly through this @nd might have missed it but hopefully these Testing Tips will help you all.
You’re welcome!Thank you so very much we’re at the vet now making sure my glucose meter matches their and they’re giving me some lessons I’ll definitely look into that ASAP because I’ll take all the help I can get <3
You’re welcome!
While we wouldn’t have you shoot the BGs below 200 yet, all the others are shootable. When you get an AMPS or PMPS above 200 and you are nervous about shooting, stall a bit without feeding and post for someone to help you but you should easily be able to shoot those with the 0.5u. After you build some data, we lower that to 150 and then teach you to shoot lower and lower gradually when it’s safe. Most members whose cats are on Lantus or one of its derivatives or Levemir, who have data and been here a bit, and who have supplies and can test, shoot everything 50 and above.
But we get there slowly and teach you how to do it using data (BG tests) you collect.
All those BGs are after meals he would eat again but I’m really starting to think he was misdiagnosed he also has IBD and takes several medications so I have to feed him at certain times he tested 211 after a large meal so wouldn’t he drop after it digested ?
I’m sorry I’m so confused I thought the 211 was to close to normal to shoot ? May I message you ?

I’m sorry I’m so confused I thought the 211 was to close to normal to shoot ? May I message you ?
She’s not shooting above 200, she’s skipping. If she is worried about shooting even above 200, as he does have several BGs in the lower 200s that she hasn’t shot, she can post and ask for help.@Marje and Gracie
Marje in your post #69 were you said
While we wouldn’t have you shoot the BGs below 200 yet, all the others are shootable. When you get an AMPS or PMPS above 200 and you are nervous about shooting, stall a bit without feeding and post for someone to help
Did you mean when you get an AMPS or PMPS under 200 and are nervous about 200 stall a bit without feeding and post for someone to help?![]()
I just tagged @Marje and Gracie for you post #72So I should shoot at 211 even if it’s after meal and steroid ?
OK thanks for explainingShe’s not shooting above 200, she’s skipping. If she is worried about shooting even above 200, as he does have several BGs in the lower 200s that she hasn’t shot, she can post and ask for help.

@Marje and Gracie
Marje in your post #69 were you said
While we wouldn’t have you shoot the BGs below 200 yet, all the others are shootable. When you get an AMPS or PMPS above 200 and you are nervous about shooting, stall a bit without feeding and post for someone to help
Did you mean when you get an AMPS or PMPS under 200 and are nervous about shooting stall a bit without feeding and post for someone to help?
@Marje and Gracie
Thank you so much !I just tagged @Marje and Gracie for you post #72
You should test before the meal, not after. You should also try to not feed in the two hours before the shot unless you’ve tested during that two hours and he’s in the low 40s or lower. Obviously, we want to feed a little to get them out of low numbers and you wouldn’t expect to shoot that kind of a number. Again, for now, you should skip everything below 200 and focus on getting some data each cycle…a few random tests during the a.m. and p.m. cycles.So I should shoot at 211 even if it’s after meal and steroid ?
OK thanks for explaining![]()
You should test before the meal, not after. You should also try to not feed in the two hours before the shot unless you’ve tested during that two hours and he’s in the low 40s or lower. Obviously, we want to feed a little to get them out of low numbers and you wouldn’t expect to shoot that kind of a number. Again, for now, you should skip everything below 200 and focus on getting some data each cycle…a few random tests during the a.m. and p.m. cycles.
The steroids are going to increase his BG. So, yes, I’d say shoot a 211 but you must be able to test him and feed him if the BG starts to drop. Onset with Lantus is usually at +2 which means that’s when the I sulking kicks in and the BG drops so any cycle you shoot, you should always get a +2. Because you are building data do giving steroids, post here for support and people will help direct you on what to feed, when to feed it, and when to test.
Then you should test before the medicine. It takes about 30 minutes for food to just begin to affect the BG. You do not want to shoot a food spike u til you have so much data on him, you’ll know how much of a spike he gets with each kind of food. So try and test, give him his meds and food, and shoot within 15-20 mins.I have to have him eat for medicine so that’s why he received a meal prior to bg test
Then you should test before the medicine. It takes about 30 minutes for food to just begin to affect the BG. You do not want to shoot a food spike u til you have so much data on him, you’ll know how much of a spike he gets with each kind of food. So try and test, give him his meds and food, and shoot within 15-20 mins.
Yes so try and take the variables out by testing before the med and the meal. You’ll want to see how much of a bump in BG he gets from the steroid if you haven’t figured that out yet but it seems the steroid will take more than 30 mins to raise the BG. However, every cat is different so you have to discover what the effect is on him with the steroid and when.Should I shoot I’ve had two different vets tell me different things and I’m just very confused as to the variables of it all ? Like the meal prior and the steroid ? If he tested 211 30 minutes after a meal and medication should I consider that a variable ?
No…you didn’t mess up. You are learning. Almost every new member, including me, had to learn to test before feeding.gotcha so I messed it all up sounds about right okay lesson learned
Yes so try and take the variables out by testing before the med and the meal. You’ll want to see how much of a bump in BG he gets from the steroid if you haven’t figured that out yet but it seems the steroid will take more than 30 mins to raise the BG. However, every cat is different so you have to discover what the effect is on him with the steroid and when.
No…you didn’t mess up. You are learning. Almost every new member, including me, had to learn to test before feeding.
Just keep in mind that if you test, feed and give a shot, then test again in 30 mins, you won’t know if it’s the food or the dex that is raising his BG.I looked up how quickly the dexamethasone shot effects him and it said within minutes that’s why I wanted to test after the dex but I see the meal messed that up so tomorrow I’ll just do both before and after ? Is that okay ?
Just keep in mind that if you test, feed and give a shot, then test again in 30 mins, you won’t know if it’s the food or the dex that is raising his BG.
Just curious why they are giving him such a strong steroid like dex? Is it for his IBD and have you tried budesonide which is used to treat IBD and has less impact on the BG? How often do you give the dex and how long does each shot last? Have you ever joined the FB group “Raw feeding for IBD Cats”? Fantastic group whether you feed raw or not.
While it might not help much, here is a SS of a cat on prednisilone. You can go through and see where Pred was given as Margaret put it in red. You can see a Pearl usually got a BG bump within hours of the pred.
Thank you for that background.I joined IBD kitties they’re a great help they gave him dexamethasone because prednisolone wasn’t helping him at all he didn’t respond to it and was hospitalized. My IM said he was likely being given the 5mg of prednisolone but not absorbing it due to the extreme amount of intestinal thickening we had to by pass the GI system nothing else worked he lived in the ER for almost two weeks on and off would do fine in there come home get one dose of pred and stop eating completely it wasn’t being absorbed and upsetting his stomach immensely (I always gave with food) so when he would stop eating he couldn’t get his medication and the medication made him not eat
Go to your your name , tap on it a drop down will appear , tap on signature and add it then it saveyes I can I have to figure out how to do that I thought I did ?
I joined IBD kitties they’re a great help they gave him dexamethasone because prednisolone wasn’t helping him at all he didn’t respond to it and was hospitalized. My IM said he was likely being given the 5mg of prednisolone but not absorbing it due to the extreme amount of intestinal thickening we had to by pass the GI system nothing else worked he lived in the ER for almost two weeks on and off would do fine in there come home get one dose of pred and stop eating completely it wasn’t being absorbed and upsetting his stomach immensely (I always gave with food) so when he would stop eating he couldn’t get his medication and the medication made him not eat
Go to your your name , tap in it a drop down will appear , tap in signature and add it then it save
@Ziggyloveforever
Go to your your name , tap in it a drop down will appear , tap in signature and add it then it save
@Ziggyloveforever
Great thank yougot it thanks so much![]()

Thank you for that background.
Do you know how to tag membersMy fear with shooting him is that he was misdiagnosed they never did a fructosomine test on him and he’s only tested over 400 once (he also had a flare up of pancreatitis at the time) he tested 211 again tonight after a large meal for his metronidazole less than 30 minutes ago and his dexamethasone injection was an hour ago I know dexamethasone also raises blood sugar and can cause diabetes since he tested 400 during his pancreatitis flare (also at the vet in stress) we’ve lowered the dex a decent amount he hasn’t been over anything 211 since should I still shoot that ? I know I messed up with the feeding tonight so this question is for learning purposes I will not shoot tonight
Do you know how to tag members
No problem at all I'll explain how to tag members , sometimes you need toI don’tit’s okay it’s for learning purposes I can make a new post tomorrow before I test the right way I don’t want to annoy people or take up time for hypothetical questions when people need real time help either so I should have held that question off anyway so sorry