Should I give him insulin ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I love looking at my spreadsheet, you can see me learn what I'm doing and how insane I am with testing :joyful: you've got this sugar parent! Ill be on for a while if you need help with the SS!

im actually gonna try and get some rest now I’ve been up almost two days straight at this point with this new diagnosis just terrified I’m gonna do something wrong I’ll definitely need assistance with the spreadsheet but I assume that’s something I can YouTube someone mentioned it’s like excel so I figure I’ll look that up I assume we’re in different time zones because it’s 1:30am here or I would love your help I appreciate all the help you’ve given me and I’m looking forward to doing the spreadsheet like you said for your own reference it helps a lot I’ve been keeping a log in my journal so that would be even better
 
im actually gonna try and get some rest now I’ve been up almost two days straight at this point with this new diagnosis just terrified I’m gonna do something wrong I’ll definitely need assistance with the spreadsheet but I assume that’s something I can YouTube someone mentioned it’s like excel so I figure I’ll look that up I assume we’re in different time zones because it’s 1:30am here or I would love your help I appreciate all the help you’ve given me and I’m looking forward to doing the spreadsheet like you said for your own reference it helps a lot I’ve been keeping a log in my journal so that would be even better

I'm in Florida, I just work nights mostly and I'm getting married in a month so sleep is hard to come by. I'll be here nights mostly but everyone is willing to help! I was in such a panic my first day on FDMB that I didn't even set up my spreadsheet, the amazing @Bandit's Mom did lmao

Hi again @Diane Tyler's Mom ! It's been awhile friend!

I'll be trying to head to bed myself. Goodnight!
 
Hi can you please fill out this info
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.


Tagging Bhooma to help you with the spreadsheet she will send you a private message so look for it above in your inbox, she can also set up your signature for you
@Bandit's Mom
 
I’m sorry I wasn’t around earlier.
The urine strips, as I explained before don’t give an up to date reading of the blood sugar.
Are you testing every day for ketones? If you aren’t able to get reliable blood glucose readings and are skipping doses it is REALLY important that you test every day for ketones.
Hopefully @Bandit's Mom will be able to help you set up the spreadsheet and signature. These are both really important things we need to be able to help you.
 
I’ll definitely need assistance with the spreadsheet but I assume that’s something I can YouTube someone mentioned it’s like excel so I figure I’ll look that up I assume we’re in different time zones because it’s 1:30am here or I would love your help I appreciate all the help you’ve given me and I’m looking forward to doing the spreadsheet like you said for your own reference it helps a lot I’ve been keeping a log in my journal so that would be even better
Just sending you a PM with the details I need to set up your spreadsheet and signature.
 
I’m sorry I wasn’t around earlier.
The urine strips, as I explained before don’t give an up to date reading of the blood sugar.
Are you testing every day for ketones? If you aren’t able to get reliable blood glucose readings and are skipping doses it is REALLY important that you test every day for ketones.
Hopefully @Bandit's Mom will be able to help you set up the spreadsheet and signature. These are both really important things we need to be able to help you.

don’t be sorry this group saved our tails yesterday thank goddesses for everyone here I’ve sent bandits mom over all the needed information and i can’t even tell you how much I appreciate it I do also test for ketones he’s been negative every time I was able to get the ear prick last night and he was not given insulin the urine strips are not correct you’re so right they can tell me when he’s higher but they don’t give the number had i shot off the urine strip we would have been in trouble
 
Welcome. I see you have a spreadsheet now. Please plug in whatever numbers you have for the last week or two. Zingy is so young to have diabetes. Hopefully we can help you get him regulated quickly. I just read some of your intro. Hopefully the pancreatitis brought on fd and he will become diet controlled.
 
Welcome. I see you have a spreadsheet now. Please plug in whatever numbers you have for the last week or two. Zingy is so young to have diabetes. Hopefully we can help you get him regulated quickly. I just read some of your intro. Hopefully the pancreatitis brought on fd and he will become diet controlled.
I’m trying so hard to navigate the spreadsheet right now I’m gonna have to use my brothers computer when he’s done with school because my phone won’t let me enter it he’s so young and has so many complications my poor baby I’m gonna do whatever I can to help him and help you help us but please be patient with me while I learn to navigate this all the spreadsheet is sending me for a loop but I promise I’ll get it !
 
Slow down. Deep breaths! Rome wasn’t built in a day. There’s a lot to learn. We don’t need that information until PMPS. Are you in the US? What time zone? When is your shot time? I’m on the west coast.
 
Slow down. Deep breaths! Rome wasn’t built in a day. There’s a lot to learn. We don’t need that information until PMPS. Are you in the US? What time zone? When is your shot time? I’m on the west coast.

Thank you kindly for your patience im in eastern standard time in the US we are in NY. his insulin shot was only given once on the 15th the night of his diagnosis at that time his BG read 265 after not eating for 6 hours.I waited for him to eat and gave him half a unit he’s tested normal ever since and no insulin has been given.
Slow down. Deep breaths! Rome wasn’t built in a day. There’s a lot to learn. We don’t need that information until PMPS. Are you in the US? What time zone? When is your shot time? I’m on the west coast.
 
Thank you so very much we’re at the vet now making sure my glucose meter matches their and they’re giving me some lessons I’ll definitely look into that ASAP because I’ll take all the help I can get <3
You’re welcome!

While we wouldn’t have you shoot the BGs below 200 yet, all the others are shootable. When you get an AMPS or PMPS above 200 and you are nervous about shooting, stall a bit without feeding and post for someone to help you but you should easily be able to shoot those with the 0.5u. After you build some data, we lower that to 150 and then teach you to shoot lower and lower gradually when it’s safe. Most members whose cats are on Lantus or one of its derivatives or Levemir, who have data and been here a bit, and who have supplies and can test, shoot everything 50 and above.

But we get there slowly and teach you how to do it using data (BG tests) you collect.
 
You’re welcome!

While we wouldn’t have you shoot the BGs below 200 yet, all the others are shootable. When you get an AMPS or PMPS above 200 and you are nervous about shooting, stall a bit without feeding and post for someone to help you but you should easily be able to shoot those with the 0.5u. After you build some data, we lower that to 150 and then teach you to shoot lower and lower gradually when it’s safe. Most members whose cats are on Lantus or one of its derivatives or Levemir, who have data and been here a bit, and who have supplies and can test, shoot everything 50 and above.

But we get there slowly and teach you how to do it using data (BG tests) you collect.

All those BGs are after meals he would eat again but I’m really starting to think he was misdiagnosed he also has IBD and takes several medications so I have to feed him at certain times he tested 211 after a large meal so wouldn’t he drop after it digested ?
 
All those BGs are after meals he would eat again but I’m really starting to think he was misdiagnosed he also has IBD and takes several medications so I have to feed him at certain times he tested 211 after a large meal so wouldn’t he drop after it digested ?

I’m sorry I’m so confused I thought the 211 was to close to normal to shoot ? May I message you ?
 
I’m sorry I’m so confused I thought the 211 was to close to normal to shoot ? May I message you ?

@Marje and Gracie
Marje in your post #69 were you said
While we wouldn’t have you shoot the BGs below 200 yet, all the others are shootable. When you get an AMPS or PMPS above 200 and you are nervous about shooting, stall a bit without feeding and post for someone to help

Did you mean when you get an AMPS or PMPS under 200 and are nervous about shooting stall a bit without feeding and post for someone to help? :cat:

@Marje and Gracie
 
Last edited:
@Marje and Gracie
Marje in your post #69 were you said
While we wouldn’t have you shoot the BGs below 200 yet, all the others are shootable. When you get an AMPS or PMPS above 200 and you are nervous about shooting, stall a bit without feeding and post for someone to help

Did you mean when you get an AMPS or PMPS under 200 and are nervous about 200 stall a bit without feeding and post for someone to help? :cat:
She’s not shooting above 200, she’s skipping. If she is worried about shooting even above 200, as he does have several BGs in the lower 200s that she hasn’t shot, she can post and ask for help.
 
@Marje and Gracie
Marje in your post #69 were you said
While we wouldn’t have you shoot the BGs below 200 yet, all the others are shootable. When you get an AMPS or PMPS above 200 and you are nervous about shooting, stall a bit without feeding and post for someone to help

Did you mean when you get an AMPS or PMPS under 200 and are nervous about shooting stall a bit without feeding and post for someone to help? :cat:

@Marje and Gracie

but the 211 reading was after a meal ? I know I can get him to eat again he’s always hungry I have to have him eat for medicine so that’s why he received a meal prior to bg test which I am getting the hang of my primary vet who went to today seems to believe he was misdiagnosed so im really nervous to shoot close too 200 because of all the variables with the steroid and the needing to eat for meals
 
So I should shoot at 211 even if it’s after meal and steroid ?
You should test before the meal, not after. You should also try to not feed in the two hours before the shot unless you’ve tested during that two hours and he’s in the low 40s or lower. Obviously, we want to feed a little to get them out of low numbers and you wouldn’t expect to shoot that kind of a number. Again, for now, you should skip everything below 200 and focus on getting some data each cycle…a few random tests during the a.m. and p.m. cycles.

The steroids are going to increase his BG. So, yes, I’d say shoot a 211 but you must be able to test him and feed him if the BG starts to drop. Onset with Lantus is usually at +2 which means that’s when the I sulking kicks in and the BG drops so any cycle you shoot, you should always get a +2. Because you are building data do giving steroids, post here for support and people will help direct you on what to feed, when to feed it, and when to test.
 
You should test before the meal, not after. You should also try to not feed in the two hours before the shot unless you’ve tested during that two hours and he’s in the low 40s or lower. Obviously, we want to feed a little to get them out of low numbers and you wouldn’t expect to shoot that kind of a number. Again, for now, you should skip everything below 200 and focus on getting some data each cycle…a few random tests during the a.m. and p.m. cycles.

The steroids are going to increase his BG. So, yes, I’d say shoot a 211 but you must be able to test him and feed him if the BG starts to drop. Onset with Lantus is usually at +2 which means that’s when the I sulking kicks in and the BG drops so any cycle you shoot, you should always get a +2. Because you are building data do giving steroids, post here for support and people will help direct you on what to feed, when to feed it, and when to test.

Oh I understand now ! Okay makes sense so two hours from steroid I should test his Bg to understand more now thank you I’ve clearly messed up tonight but will start fresh tomorrow I didn’t get the reading before he ate I’m sorry
 
I have to have him eat for medicine so that’s why he received a meal prior to bg test
Then you should test before the medicine. It takes about 30 minutes for food to just begin to affect the BG. You do not want to shoot a food spike u til you have so much data on him, you’ll know how much of a spike he gets with each kind of food. So try and test, give him his meds and food, and shoot within 15-20 mins.
 
Then you should test before the medicine. It takes about 30 minutes for food to just begin to affect the BG. You do not want to shoot a food spike u til you have so much data on him, you’ll know how much of a spike he gets with each kind of food. So try and test, give him his meds and food, and shoot within 15-20 mins.

gotcha so I messed it all up sounds about right okay lesson learned
 
Should I shoot I’ve had two different vets tell me different things and I’m just very confused as to the variables of it all ? Like the meal prior and the steroid ? If he tested 211 30 minutes after a meal and medication should I consider that a variable ?
Yes so try and take the variables out by testing before the med and the meal. You’ll want to see how much of a bump in BG he gets from the steroid if you haven’t figured that out yet but it seems the steroid will take more than 30 mins to raise the BG. However, every cat is different so you have to discover what the effect is on him with the steroid and when.
 
Yes so try and take the variables out by testing before the med and the meal. You’ll want to see how much of a bump in BG he gets from the steroid if you haven’t figured that out yet but it seems the steroid will take more than 30 mins to raise the BG. However, every cat is different so you have to discover what the effect is on him with the steroid and when.


I looked up how quickly the dexamethasone shot effects him and it said within minutes that’s why I wanted to test after the dex but I see the meal messed that up so tomorrow I’ll just do both before and after ? Is that okay ?
 
I looked up how quickly the dexamethasone shot effects him and it said within minutes that’s why I wanted to test after the dex but I see the meal messed that up so tomorrow I’ll just do both before and after ? Is that okay ?
Just keep in mind that if you test, feed and give a shot, then test again in 30 mins, you won’t know if it’s the food or the dex that is raising his BG.

Just curious why they are giving him such a strong steroid like dex? Is it for his IBD and have you tried budesonide which is used to treat IBD and has less impact on the BG? How often do you give the dex and how long does each shot last? Have you ever joined the FB group “Raw feeding for IBD Cats”? Fantastic group whether you feed raw or not.

While it might not help much, here is a SS of a cat on prednisilone. You can go through and see where Pred was given as Margaret put it in red. You can see a Pearl usually got a BG bump within hours of the pred.
 
Just keep in mind that if you test, feed and give a shot, then test again in 30 mins, you won’t know if it’s the food or the dex that is raising his BG.

Just curious why they are giving him such a strong steroid like dex? Is it for his IBD and have you tried budesonide which is used to treat IBD and has less impact on the BG? How often do you give the dex and how long does each shot last? Have you ever joined the FB group “Raw feeding for IBD Cats”? Fantastic group whether you feed raw or not.

While it might not help much, here is a SS of a cat on prednisilone. You can go through and see where Pred was given as Margaret put it in red. You can see a Pearl usually got a BG bump within hours of the pred.


I joined IBD kitties they’re a great help they gave him dexamethasone because prednisolone wasn’t helping him at all he didn’t respond to it and was hospitalized. My IM said he was likely being given the 5mg of prednisolone but not absorbing it due to the extreme amount of intestinal thickening we had to by pass the GI system nothing else worked he lived in the ER for almost two weeks on and off would do fine in there come home get one dose of pred and stop eating completely it wasn’t being absorbed and upsetting his stomach immensely (I always gave with food) so when he would stop eating he couldn’t get his medication and the medication made him not eat
 
I joined IBD kitties they’re a great help they gave him dexamethasone because prednisolone wasn’t helping him at all he didn’t respond to it and was hospitalized. My IM said he was likely being given the 5mg of prednisolone but not absorbing it due to the extreme amount of intestinal thickening we had to by pass the GI system nothing else worked he lived in the ER for almost two weeks on and off would do fine in there come home get one dose of pred and stop eating completely it wasn’t being absorbed and upsetting his stomach immensely (I always gave with food) so when he would stop eating he couldn’t get his medication and the medication made him not eat
Thank you for that background.
 
I joined IBD kitties they’re a great help they gave him dexamethasone because prednisolone wasn’t helping him at all he didn’t respond to it and was hospitalized. My IM said he was likely being given the 5mg of prednisolone but not absorbing it due to the extreme amount of intestinal thickening we had to by pass the GI system nothing else worked he lived in the ER for almost two weeks on and off would do fine in there come home get one dose of pred and stop eating completely it wasn’t being absorbed and upsetting his stomach immensely (I always gave with food) so when he would stop eating he couldn’t get his medication and the medication made him not eat

he gets the shot once a day and when I asked for Buedosone because I’ve read about in the IBD kitties group my IM said that’s even less effective than pred and with a cat like Ziggy it’s not worth the risk he doesn’t think it will help him at all and that seems to be the case with some of the more severe cases of IBD in the group pred works for mild and severe but budesonoe really isn’t for everyone I know it has less side effects but the prednisolone didn’t work for hi
Go to your your name , tap in it a drop down will appear , tap in signature and add it then it save
@Ziggyloveforever

on the spread sheet or main profile ?
 
Thank you for that background.


My fear with shooting him is that he was misdiagnosed they never did a fructosomine test on him and he’s only tested over 400 once (he also had a flare up of pancreatitis at the time) he tested 211 again tonight after a large meal for his metronidazole less than 30 minutes ago and his dexamethasone injection was an hour ago I know dexamethasone also raises blood sugar and can cause diabetes since he tested 400 during his pancreatitis flare (also at the vet in stress) we’ve lowered the dex a decent amount he hasn’t been over anything 211 since should I still shoot that ? I know I messed up with the feeding tonight so this question is for learning purposes I will not shoot tonight
 
My fear with shooting him is that he was misdiagnosed they never did a fructosomine test on him and he’s only tested over 400 once (he also had a flare up of pancreatitis at the time) he tested 211 again tonight after a large meal for his metronidazole less than 30 minutes ago and his dexamethasone injection was an hour ago I know dexamethasone also raises blood sugar and can cause diabetes since he tested 400 during his pancreatitis flare (also at the vet in stress) we’ve lowered the dex a decent amount he hasn’t been over anything 211 since should I still shoot that ? I know I messed up with the feeding tonight so this question is for learning purposes I will not shoot tonight
Do you know how to tag members
 
Do you know how to tag members

I don’t :( it’s okay it’s for learning purposes I can make a new post tomorrow before I test the right way I don’t want to annoy people or take up time for hypothetical questions when people need real time help either so I should have held that question off anyway so sorry
 
I don’t :( it’s okay it’s for learning purposes I can make a new post tomorrow before I test the right way I don’t want to annoy people or take up time for hypothetical questions when people need real time help either so I should have held that question off anyway so sorry
No problem at all I'll explain how to tag members , sometimes you need to
After I'm done posting my question I like to go to the next line so it's at the end of my post you will do this
@ then after that start to type the first 3 letters of the member you want to tag and you will see a list appear , tap on the member you want and hit post
It should appear in blue after you post
Try tagging me now
@Ziggyloveforever
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top