Shaikha 8/5 TID

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Active Member
Shaikha appears to be feeling much better today. She's still on bupe, fluids, and a whole host of antibiotics. She was eager to eat, though needed coaxing to finish, but she did get it all down with a little help. I was able to give her the normal food she eats too (blended with extra water) with a little dry food sprinkled on top. Interestingly, she seemed to eat around the dry food, so I will try lunch with none of that to see how she does. Her fever seems to be gone this morning, and I'm hoping it stays away!

8/4 PMPS = 317, gave 0.8U (she ATE! It took Fancy Feast and dry food and coaxing, but she ate!; gave shot at +7.5)
+7 = 182
+8 = 230 (I fed her and planned to give insulin, but got a phone call and then forgot to! Shot later, at +10.5 -- oops!)

8/5 AMPS = 251, gave 0.7U (testing lower dose since her fever appears to have broken)
+7 = 199
MDPS = 276, gave 0.8U (fed and gave insulin at +7.5 to help get her back on schedule; ketones = 0.2)
+4.5 = 103
+6 =179
PMPS = 297, gave 0.8U (she ate on her own this time with a little coaxing)
+7 =
 
Not just eating, but hungry in a way that says ... hey give me more of that stuff!!! I managed to screw up her AM shot -- filled the syringe and left it on the counter, but never got it into her. I got a phone call and then got tied up with something and apparently forgot. :o Two hours later I saw it sitting there and gave it to her along with more food, which she seemed to think was a great idea! This time it didn't take as much coaxing really. She just dove in and ate about 1/4 of a can of Fancy Feast. Either the bupe has performed a miracle cure or the antibiotics are finally kicking in or her nausea is subsiding. He added a second antibioitic to broaden the spectrum as that worked pretty well when her bile duct got upset a while back. Whatever works. I hope this continues because she's been up/down for a while but so far the fever appears to be gone. We'll know more when her mid-day shot comes up!
 
Thats really good news that her appetite is picking up, something must be helping. Hope she continues to feel better and have a good appetite.
 
Mid-day report: Her fever is still gone, so I think we have kicked it to the curb finally! She is still acting hungry, though has gotten a little spoiled in that she's wanting me to interact with her when feeding now. My GA Tabriz would often not eat on his own, but if I put it on a spoon or on my finger he'd eat away so his meals were mostly hand fed. Shaikha is playing the same game now. :YMSIGH: I'll do what it takes to get food down her, but hopefully this is a passing phase as it makes the routine longer. Her glucose started zooming a lot towards the end of her cycle so I gave her shot a little early and increased dose back to 0.8U since that seemed to be working better for her. She also was showing 0.2 ketones on the meter (normal), but I thought keeping her lower on glucose would be a good plan given they are showing up at all.

In all, very happy the fever seems to be gone and that she's interested in food again! Let's hope this continues. :mrgreen:
 
She ate only two hours ago and is begging me for food again. She's been on my desk (lying over my work of course), threading between my legs, and purring on my lap. It's is good to see, actually. Of course, if she demands a table setting and fine china for meals, well... :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top