Shaikha 8/2 - ate on own this AM!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Active Member
Though she still feels warm, I do think her fever is down some and that she's feeling better. She seemed interested in food this AM so I tried a can of Fancy Feast on her. She nibbled on it a little last night but would not eat enough so I had to assist feed her usual food. However, this AM she ate the entire can of Fancy Feast on her own in several passes. That's a very good thing! I can't keep giving her that or it can cause GI issues, but wanted to see if her appetite had picked up based on how she was acting and apparently it has. Her BG level was lower this AM too, which was another good sign. I lowered her dose a little as she had longer duration than expected but she was also getting more insulin to compensate for the fever too. Am hoping she continues to feel better today!

8/1 PMPS = 331, gave 0.9U (she only got two shots yesterday due to vet visit in AM), assist fed blended canned food
+8.5 = 281
+9 = 251

8/2 AMPS = 253, gave 0.8U (ate a whole can of FF on her own!)
+ 2.5 = 135
+3 = 88 (fed a little dry food as drop is a little too quick & sharp)
+4.5 = 115
+7 = 169 (Ketones 0.2 on meter, fever 103.4)
MDPS = 247, gave 0.8U
+3.5 = 190 (last ketone test 0.0 on meter, fever gone)
+6.5 = 183
PMPS = 280, gave 0.8U (wasn't that eager to eat this time, but got most of it into her; seems warmer so fever may be returning)
+7 =
 
Re: Shaikah 8/2 - ate on own this AM!!!

Hoping she continues to feel better today!
 
Re: Shaikah 8/2 - ate on own this AM!!!

kse said:
Hoping she continues to feel better today!

After I posted that, her fever spiked up to 103.4, of course. She still isn't feeling as badly though, but the bupe probably is helping there. What surprises me is that her BG isn't high. It actually is lower than I'd expect. She was falling a little and then surfed this AM so I thought I'd be okay shooting a lower dose, but she dropped pretty quickly so I just gave her a little dry food. I may have to actually cut her dose this next shot which is a surprise given the infection and fever. Maybe her pancreas is doing some sputtering. It could also be the result of feeding FF this AM, and it has much lower carbs than what she usually eats. She just left a pile of puddle poo though so it is back to her normal food after this.
 
Re: Shaikah 8/2 - ate on own this AM!!!

At least she ate. She is going to wear out your dancing shoes, you might have to get steel toed tap shoes next. :smile:
 
Re: Shaikah 8/2 - ate on own this AM!!!

Rob & Harley said:
At least she ate. She is going to wear out your dancing shoes, you might have to get steel toed tap shoes next. :smile:

Steel toed definitely!!! She was up to 115 at +4.5 so we should be okay now. I need to go out this afternoon so am glad she's climbing now. I was afraid to leave with her being as variable as she's been. She's resting now, no doubt contemplating what new curve balls she can toss at me today! :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top