Shaikha 7/25 - what a ride!

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Member Since 2010
Yesterday AM was a scary mix of reds or blacks. We started at 447 and stayed high, ending mid-day at 516. After a dose increase, we got her into the mid to high 300s but she was pretty flat, and ended up PMPS at 366. I increased dose again and we got her to 173 at +4. Oy veh! This AM she was up to 216, so at least we seem to be be in much better territory! Will monitor her closely today again. She's on bupe and fluids for what appears to be a pancreatitis flareup. Will likely take her in for a check of urine just in case given how much sugar I know she's been throwing given the higher numbers. She finished the last of the ABs today so we'll see how we do the rest of this week. I ordered a case of fluids for her, so hopefully I won't run out of them anytime soon. Will pick up a large sterile syringe to do the fluids tonight until the normal IV bags arrive. Trying to stay ahead of her is a challenge! :shock: I do think she's feeling better today, so hope that continues.

7/24 PMPS = 366, gave 0.7U
+4 = 173 (what a lovely color after all those nasty reds and blacks!)
+7.5 =208

7/25 AMPS = 216, gave 0.7U
+3.5 =137
+5 = 164
MDPS = 336, gave 0.7U (may increase her to 0.8U tonight if midcycle numbers are not good)
+3 = 257
PMPS = 401, gave 0.8U (too flat this cycle and rising, so increased dose again)
+7 = 272
 
Every time I think Payne is complex, I think of Shaikha! She seems to be better today, is she on bupe still?

You are amazing what you do for her! I hope today is really good! no more reds or blacks!!
 
I am so glad her numbers are better today
You are an awesome Mom!!
hang in there!

Densie and Shakes
 
Ginny & Alex said:
It surely is a ride -- a rollercoaster ride. Did anyone offer you motion sickness medication? :lol:

I sure needed it yesterday, that's for sure! She's better today, but I probably will need to increase her dose yet again. She's nearly at double what she was getting a week ago. That's my girl!
 
Nancy and Payne said:
Every time I think Payne is complex, I think of Shaikha! She seems to be better today, is she on bupe still? You are amazing what you do for her! I hope today is really good! no more reds or blacks!!

Yes, she's definitely on bupe and needs it. I'm about to give another dose because she was obviously uncomfortable when I was giving fluids earlier. Her tummy definitely hurts to touch, poor thing. I've increased her from 0.4 to 0.7U three times per day, and I'll probably need to increase her again to 0.8 or even 0.9 I think by the time it is all said and done. She went a little higher by her mid-day shot and has been a little flat this cycle, so I think we will be safe with another 0.1U increase. I do not want her getting back into the reds or blacks, or having to go back to the vet for re-regulation. I will test her again for ketones today, just to be safe since she's definitely got a flareup going on. :cry:
 
Great job Wendy!!!! Blues are awesome, hopefully that will help her get feeling better. Amazing how well she responded to that small increase, woohoo!
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
Great job Wendy!!!! Blues are awesome, hopefully that will help her get feeling better. Amazing how well she responded to that small increase, woohoo!

It actually hasn't been that small though. Only a few days ago I was shooting 0.4U TID. Tonight I'm increasing to 0.8U, so we've doubled insulin dose in just a few days though in 0.1U increments. She's sucking it all up though. Her numbers were not budging or were rising otherwise.

Personally, I'm glad I'm using PZI. With as unpredictable as this girl is, if I were using something like the L's I could not react as quickly as I need to unless I also added something like R if she were climbing high. I've read a lot on the L's but this is working for me. I find it interesting that even some L users have to resort to trying TID. The shed stuff is scary, IMHO, especially if you have a cat that can throw ketones but for whom you cannot react because you are working with a shed. I'm also not sure how I could make something like those work anyway with my schedule and with having friends test and give insulin on occasion. Too complicated to try to manage.

Off to feed and do my final testing for the night.
 
I have found when Payne is not feeling well, her need for more insulin starts to increase. But she is a big gulper, like Kitty .... Shaikha uses so little insulin and she can go low on occasion, which is problematic, so if you had to add R? it would scare me.

PZI is really good if you need to quickly adjust dose for ketones or? go t.i.d. I tried following the one that was doing t.i.d. on Lantus but she is not consistent and hard to follow. It would scare the bejesus out of me, plus I think she adds R.

With pzi what you see is what you get, no hidden surprises! you can add stuff if you understand how it works on your kitten and it is flexible to a busy schedule. We hear all the time about the glory of the L's but we don't tend to toot our own horns but maybe we should??
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top