wombat88
Member Since 2010
We had a bounce last night, but she was high again this AM. I've increased her dose a little. My radar says we may have something going on again though. I hope I'm wrong. Will see how she does on 0.7U today. It may be as simple as her needing more insulin now that she's adjusting back to TID. I started her at less than she had been getting. But yesterday she was RAVENOUS and to be honest that started a little a few days prior. I've not seen her like that except when her glucose was sky-high, and that hasn't been the case recently so it has to be something else. IBD can cause this, as can other things. I may have my vet do a test for thyroid since one prior test was borderline high. Another thing to add to the list. Hoping it is NOT that!
7/17 PMPS = 391, gave 0.6U (bounce?)
7/18 numbers:
AMPS = 350, gave 0.7U (ugh -- increased dose in case there is more going on than a bounce)
MDPS = 374, gave 0.7U (double ugh -- this test was 1 hr late though, but I'm sure she has stayed high -- not a good sign) *
+3 = 341
+4 = 391 (gave subQ fluids, just in case there is a urinary issue responsible for this)
+6 = 338 (better, but still not great)
PMPS = 273/265, did NOT give insulin as was falling
* NOTE: I was late getting back from work so tested late, but I fed her and FORGOT the insulin. Duh. I realized an hour later, so shot then. Am not expecting a good mid-day cycle as a result. I plan to test her every two hours so I can see whether she's staying flat or if this really could just be a bounce. My guess is she needs more insulin though -- the question is WHY. I probably will have to take her back to the vet again this week if this keeps up. She's finishing off the last of the antibiotics, so if this is an infection it isn't being covered by what she's taking. I did cut back on subQ fluids because she had a fluid pocket that wasn't absorbed, but may try giving them daily but with a smaller volume. :sad:
7/17 PMPS = 391, gave 0.6U (bounce?)
7/18 numbers:
AMPS = 350, gave 0.7U (ugh -- increased dose in case there is more going on than a bounce)
MDPS = 374, gave 0.7U (double ugh -- this test was 1 hr late though, but I'm sure she has stayed high -- not a good sign) *
+3 = 341
+4 = 391 (gave subQ fluids, just in case there is a urinary issue responsible for this)
+6 = 338 (better, but still not great)
PMPS = 273/265, did NOT give insulin as was falling
* NOTE: I was late getting back from work so tested late, but I fed her and FORGOT the insulin. Duh. I realized an hour later, so shot then. Am not expecting a good mid-day cycle as a result. I plan to test her every two hours so I can see whether she's staying flat or if this really could just be a bounce. My guess is she needs more insulin though -- the question is WHY. I probably will have to take her back to the vet again this week if this keeps up. She's finishing off the last of the antibiotics, so if this is an infection it isn't being covered by what she's taking. I did cut back on subQ fluids because she had a fluid pocket that wasn't absorbed, but may try giving them daily but with a smaller volume. :sad: