Shaikha 7/18 TID - pls look at SS

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Active Member
We had a bounce last night, but she was high again this AM. I've increased her dose a little. My radar says we may have something going on again though. I hope I'm wrong. Will see how she does on 0.7U today. It may be as simple as her needing more insulin now that she's adjusting back to TID. I started her at less than she had been getting. But yesterday she was RAVENOUS and to be honest that started a little a few days prior. I've not seen her like that except when her glucose was sky-high, and that hasn't been the case recently so it has to be something else. IBD can cause this, as can other things. I may have my vet do a test for thyroid since one prior test was borderline high. Another thing to add to the list. Hoping it is NOT that!

7/17 PMPS = 391, gave 0.6U (bounce?)
7/18 numbers:
AMPS = 350, gave 0.7U (ugh -- increased dose in case there is more going on than a bounce)
MDPS = 374, gave 0.7U (double ugh -- this test was 1 hr late though, but I'm sure she has stayed high -- not a good sign) *
+3 = 341
+4 = 391 (gave subQ fluids, just in case there is a urinary issue responsible for this)
+6 = 338 (better, but still not great)
PMPS = 273/265, did NOT give insulin as was falling

* NOTE: I was late getting back from work so tested late, but I fed her and FORGOT the insulin. Duh. I realized an hour later, so shot then. Am not expecting a good mid-day cycle as a result. I plan to test her every two hours so I can see whether she's staying flat or if this really could just be a bounce. My guess is she needs more insulin though -- the question is WHY. I probably will have to take her back to the vet again this week if this keeps up. She's finishing off the last of the antibiotics, so if this is an infection it isn't being covered by what she's taking. I did cut back on subQ fluids because she had a fluid pocket that wasn't absorbed, but may try giving them daily but with a smaller volume. :sad:
 
Re: Shaikha 7/18 TID

Good Luck--hopefully she just needs a little more insulin.

Whatever it is, I know you can handle it!
 
Re: Shaikha 7/18 TID

Wendy she still get's pred. daily? right? Payne does 5 mg. a day (2.5mg.2x day help keep #'s down) but is the only thing that helps the pancreatitis .... but it does make the #'s harder to keep level, and at times eat like a dog! (sorry Payne!)

I have actually had a vet tell me that it is impossible to regulate a diabetic cat on pred. and eventually the cat will waste away ..... well, here at my feet at the hotel, ready to start wailing again! is the Payne who kept the family up all night and gave not good head butts!! who would have thought the bird would travel better? next time she can stay at the vet's!!!
 
Re: Shaikha 7/18 TID

Yes, she gets pred daily and has since May 2010. She gets the same amount Payne takes. I can't stop it or her IBD and pancreatitis go south. I know pred spikes appetite but this is a definite change -- she's almost desperate to eat. Combined with the sudden rise in BG it makes me nervous. Will see how it goes but if this keeps up and takes a lot more insulin I need to get her seen by the vet for sure as we could be dealing with another infection or perhaps the start of a flareup of IBD or pancreatitis. She's still on AB's but maybe something has taken hold that isn't covered by it. We were going to finish these off and do a culture/sensitivity to ensure her UTI was really gone. We may need to bump that schedule up.
 
Re: Shaikha 7/18 TID

Ha! Shaikha makes my head :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat :dizcat

She's certainly got me dancing as fast as I can. dancing_cat Sometimes I wonder if she stays up all night thinking about new curve balls to throw at me at totally unexpected times!
 
Take a look at her SS. She is rising at only +4. If I accidentally shot a double dose, she should be falling, right? I am sure I didn't shoot, which is why I gave her the shot an hour after I'd tested. I didn't test her before that, but she also had gotten food an hour prior so there would have been a food spike in addition to no insulin being on board so I knew she would be more than high when I did give her the shot. That shot was 2 hours after when she should have gotten one. I did give the normal dose of 0.7U, but it didn't drop her much it appears and she's climbing rapidly. I'm afraid we may have either an infection or possibly the start of another pancreatitis attack going on, though she hasn't shown symptoms of the latter yet (BG often goes up before the other symptoms start though).

Does this look like a double shot to you? I don't think it does. I am afraid we may see high reds or even a black tonight at this rate. I likely will give her a shot early if it is really bad. Will decide on dose then, but will likely go up to 0.8U and see how she does in the AM.

Just in case, I gave her subQ fluids a little while ago and will repeat that daily provided she's absorbing them all. I hope whatever this is clears up quickly. I can't get her to the vet until Thursday with my work schedule, though obviously if I feel it is an emergency she'll be in there regardless. So far she's acting fine, other than being very hungry. She does seem less "desperate" to get food today than she was yesterday. confused_cat
 
Actually, when she spiked last night I opened a can of the lower carb food and fed her that. Neither are "low" like you all are feeding, but they are as low as I can get her and keep her GI issues at bay. The lowest carb food she eats is about 20%, while the higher one she's been eating for a while is 30%. Both foods don't have fish or other ingredients that would impact her various issues (low residue or novel protein) and are also lower in fat, which she needs to keep pancreatitis from being triggered as much.

I don't think it is a food change causing this, unfortunately.
 
I gave subQ fluids at +4 suspecting a possible urinary issue. By +6 her numbers had fallen and by +8 she was still falling. I'm not sure what to think. I wouldn't think fluids would make that much of a difference, but I don't know how else to explain it other than that or possibly a bounce of some kind that took a long time to clear. I decided not to give insulin at all to let things settle out. We'll see how she is in the morning. If numbers are not too bad, I may drop back to 0.6U and see how she does with that. REALLY weird pattern today and last night.

Ideas???? confused_cat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top