Shaikha 6/1 t.i.d. Day 6 + midcycles

Status
Not open for further replies.

wombat88

Member Since 2010
Posting a little late today. I woke up an hour late, so Shaikha's shot was late as a result. I think that's why the higher number. I then had to do some running around, so no tests prior but her next test was also high (see reason below -- little sneak!). ;-) I tried to increase her dose this AM but with my syringes it is hard to measure. As it is, 0.6 is halfway between the 1 and 2 unit marks on my U100 syringe. If I go to a "fat" 0.6 that is 3/4 of the way. Not easy to measure! Would U40s give me better markings, does anyone know? Or is there another syringe out there that would help me measure these tiny doses easier? The more exact I can make the measurement, the easier it would be to tell if any changes are the result of insulin dose or something else. Will test her again in a little while and probably will give her MDPS shot a little early (1/2 hour) if numbers look like they are rising so I can try to get her back on schedule.

5/31 PMPS = 231, gave 0.6U
6/1 numbers:
AMPS = 313, gave 0.7U (NOTE: Her shot was one hour late as I overslept so that may be why it is high; at least this proves she can't go more than 8 hours on insulin!)
+5.5 = 253 (could be food spike as she stole some dry food from her brother)
MDPS= 331, gave 0.7U NOTE: gave this actually at nearly +7 since I felt she'd just continue to zoom otherwise (test was at +6.5)
+5 = 237
PMPS = 440, gave 0.8U (I think she has an infection again given the high numbers plus she's peed on the floor plus bed; increased insulin slightly to help compensate)
 
Aww...little sneak! Max sometimes sneaks a chip that's dropped to the floor, and I'm all no,no, not for you...special diet food for you sweetie. The u100 syringes allow for more accurate dosing than the u40's (usually only marked in whole #'s). I'd stick with the u100 and the conversion chart...not aware of anything else that doses in smaller increments.
 
hollyall said:
Aww...little sneak! Max sometimes sneaks a chip that's dropped to the floor, and I'm all no,no, not for you...special diet food for you sweetie. The u100 syringes allow for more accurate dosing than the u40's (usually only marked in whole #'s). I'd stick with the u100 and the conversion chart...not aware of anything else that doses in smaller increments.

Thanks, Holly. I thought the U100s would dose more easily because at least compared to the ones I originally got from my vet, they were smaller. My problem is I'm parsing out much tinier amounts because of her getting it more frequently.

We haven't had such a good day today, unfortunately. I gave her insulin earlier than usual because at +7 (tested at +6.5) she was already up to 331 and based on past patterns I know a zoom up when I see one. She would have been in the reds or worse by dinner. It didn't seem to make much of a difference because at +5 she was only down to 237.

I'm probably going to take her back to the vet for a PCV and urinalysis tomorrow. On top of the higher numbers (not "high" but an increase) I don't like the consistency of the blood coming out of her ears (it looks watery) and her gums look paler to me. Since she's been anemic I want to ensure we are not getting worse there. She also isn't eating as much though still is hungry and peed on my bed, so she may have yet another UTI. Ugh. Maybe it is just the heat or a bad day. I plan to test her more tomorrow to see what the low is. Hopefully we don't have a return of a mystery infection going on. With her low white cell counts she's sort of difficult to handle there. Will see how the rest of the cycle goes and how her PMPS is.
 
With the U100 syringes are you using the conversion chart?

You can get U100 syringes with half unit markings. Those make the smaller doses much easier to see.

I use the Walmart Relion syringes, Capacity 3/10 ml 30 unit, 31 guage, 8mm short needle, UPC barcode 6 81131 31179 3. Before you buy them open the box and check for the half unit markings, the whole units are on the right, the half unit marks are staggered on the left.
 
Rob & Harley said:
With the U100 syringes are you using the conversion chart? You can get U100 syringes with half unit markings. Those make the smaller doses much easier to see. I use the Walmart Relion syringes, Capacity 3/10 ml 30 unit, 31 guage, 8mm short needle, UPC barcode 6 81131 31179 3. Before you buy them open the box and check for the half unit markings, the whole units are on the right, the half unit marks are staggered on the left.

Oh yes, the chart is next to my Sharps container. No worries there. I wouldn't be able to measure 0.6U otherwise on the U100.

Will check on the Relion syringes tomorrow. I've been buying BD ultra-fine 3/10 cc 8mm syringes. They are a similar gauge to yours, so looks like I should try switching as the BDs only have 1 unit markings. Thanks for the tip! I was just at Walmart today but can zip over there while they are doing blood and urine tests on Shaikha tomorrow. Half markings would make my life much easier!
 
No 1/2 unit markings :shock: I'm impressed you are measuring 0.6!!! Yeah a fat 0.6 is no go w/o the 1/2 unit markings. :? You will love them. Hocks has them if Walmart doesn't.
 
It hasn't been easy, trust me. I thought insulin syringes just came this way. ohmygod_smile If there are ones with 1/2 unit markings my life will be much improved, and dosing more accurate so Shaikha probably will be happy too! I checked Hocks and it looks like they have BD, Good Sense, and Monojects with 1/2 unit markings with a short needle. Just in case my Walmart is out of the Relions tomorrow, any suggestion on the other brands? There are big differences on pricing. I've been happy with BD quality but they are also nearly $30 per box compared with $16.50 for the cheapest brand. Monojects are a few dollars more and mention sharp needles and a lubricant to ensure they go in smoothly, similar to what BD describes. I usually get a box at a time just to make my life easier.
 
OMG I wish I had realized it earlier. The Relion from Walmar are just under $13 dollars for a box of 100. There aren't very many to choose from with the half unit markings.
 
I think I used the Monojects & loved them. I tried the WMart ones and there always seemed to be a small air bubble in the syringe, it was annoying. The MJs didn't have that, if I remember my brands right.
 
Rob & Harley said:
OMG I wish I had realized it earlier. The Relion from Walmar are just under $13 dollars for a box of 100. There aren't very many to choose from with the half unit markings.

The $30 I quoted was from Hocks, but I'm pretty sure I pay about $25 at Walmart for the BDs. It definitely isn't $13! I bought a needle snipper the other day too. Much better than prying the top off with a needlenose pliers, which is what I've been doing. I'd been taking the cap and all off by breaking the end essentially. Amazing what I'm learning! That will leave only the lancets I have to dispose of (and the needle box once the container is full), which should make my vet happy.
 
I've found syringes with the 1/2 unit marking at Walgreens (Walgreens brand, 31 gauge, 0.3 mL, 8 mm). Unfortunately, they are also ~$25 for a box of 100.
 
jackie said:
I've found syringes with the 1/2 unit marking at Walgreens (Walgreens brand, 31 gauge, 0.3 mL, 8 mm). Unfortunately, they are also ~$25 for a box of 100.

If I can't get them at Walmart that will be my next stop tomorrow. Will probably order some at Hocks just in case. You never have enough syringes!
 
Well, it seems her BG numbers are a mess again. cat(2)_steam I am fairly certain we are dealing with an infection (still?), so I increased her insulin to 0.8U given how bad her numbers have been today (not much of an increase an easier to measure until I get some new syringes). Hope that works. Will let you all know what the vet says tomorrow but I'm willing to bet I'll be coming home with antibiotics for her.

I asked a question over in the health board but will ask here too -- anyone use d-mannose on their sugarcat? Someone suggested it to prevent UTIs but I've read it is a sugar and can make glucose higher, something she does not need at this point. It would be nice to find a preventative since she gets them constantly, but not if it makes BG levels harder to control.
 
I think I've seen one of the newer foods list cranberries as part of it's make-up. If cranberries are safe for cats (please check) I'd try some juice. There's a cystitis & UTI remidies for cats site that recommends Apple Cider Vinegar added to food and water or even through syringe feeding. Might be worth looking into as an adjunct to antibiotics.
 
Kathyh said:
I think I've seen one of the newer foods list cranberries as part of it's make-up. If cranberries are safe for cats (please check) I'd try some juice. There's a cystitis & UTI remidies for cats site that recommends Apple Cider Vinegar added to food and water or even through syringe feeding. Might be worth looking into as an adjunct to antibiotics.

Usually they add them to acidify the food. I tried several varieties of Wellness which has cranberries in it and it gave her diarrhea, but that likely was from the fish they stick in it too. The problem is that sometimes we want to use things on cats that work on people, but cats have a different digestive system and what works for us they may not be able to process or digest. To be honest,I don't think that studies have been done on whether fruits are even digestible in obligate carnivores like cats. I know that for cats with renal failure, they say you should never feed cranberries because they already have enough acid in their systems. I tend to be pretty skeptical about some of the natural food claims simply because there is no testing or regulation really, so they can make health claims that have no basis in scientific fact based on actual testing on cats (not humans). The FDA will test to ensure that turkey cat food contains turkey and doesn't contain bacteria, but the other stuff isn't really regulated in any way to my knowledge. Then again, the same thing can be said for d-mannose, but it works in a different way than cranberries do (which acidify the urine to make infections less likely, while d-mannose apparently attracts the bacteria to it so they can't stick to bladder walls). I'd be hesitant to give a cat cranberry juice because it is usually loaded with sugar.

All that said, I did find some cranberry supplements in powder form with no sugar at Amazon that have good reviews, so I just ordered some. I figure it is work a shot, since keeping her on antibiotics permanently probably isn't the best solution. Some of the products didn't even list ingredients in the Amazon listing -- scary. Others listed ingredients, but contained lots of diuretics but again I'm scared of many herbal ingredients for cats unless I know they have been tested to ensure they aren't toxic.

Thanks for the idea. We'll see if it works! Off to the vet....
 
wombat88 said:
I bought a needle snipper the other day too. Much better than prying the top off with a needlenose pliers, which is what I've been doing. I'd been taking the cap and all off by breaking the end essentially. Amazing what I'm learning! That will leave only the lancets I have to dispose of (and the needle box once the container is full), which should make my vet happy.

OK I have NO IDEA what you are talking about!!!! I have a disposal container I got at Wmart or Target and I just pop the whole syringe, lancet, whatever in there. When it's full I close the top and take it to the hospital where they have a drop box for household sharps (in CA you can't dispose of them through the vet anymore). Are you really supposed to break off just the needle or something?

Well anyhow. On the cranberry thing I experimented with that once years ago, I found a liquid supplement thing at a pet store that was supposed to promote urinary health and it had some cranberry in it. Messy, cat didn't like it, and it didn't help. I found urinary acidifiers (either prescription food or as a supplement) were what worked best. There was also a homeopathic thing that seemed to work for my kitty who would test with blood in his urine but never any infection and the vets couldn't figure it out. That was from GNC and called urinary something or other and I gave him a few drops a day and then his urine samples would come up with no blood in them. Weird, who knows if it really worked or was something else. For actual infections though if they keep coming back, I am a fan of urinary acidifiers as long as you can monitor at home to be sure you don't overdo it.

Sorry her #s have gone south. Things were looking so good! confused_cat
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
OK I have NO IDEA what you are talking about!!!! I have a disposal container I got at Wmart or Target and I just pop the whole syringe, lancet, whatever in there. When it's full I close the top and take it to the hospital where they have a drop box for household sharps (in CA you can't dispose of them through the vet anymore). Are you really supposed to break off just the needle or something?

What I found at Walmart in the pharmacy dept. is a BD Safe-Clip, which is a needle clipping and storage device:
http://www.amazon.com/Safeclp-clipper-S ... roduct_top

It is sort of like nail clippers except you put the needle only into a hole, press the clip down, and it shims the needle off flush with the end of the syringe. You can then dispose of the syringe according to your state's health regulations. I sometime accidentally would stab myself recapping the needle on a used syringe, but with this device I can safely remove the needle so that recapping before disposal is no problem. The clipped needles are stored in a sealed container that holds up to 1500 needles. When full, you dispose of the whole container like a sharps. The reviews I've seen at Amazon and elsewhere mention throwing the used syringes in the trash after needles are removed, but I don't know if that meets most state regulations. My vet takes care of disposal for me. I now put the lancets only in the sharps and the used (needle-snipped) syringes in an old coffee can to take back to him for disposal in their much larger Sharps containers. I think the clipper is much safer than trying to recap a used syringe. Once you remove the needle, putting the cap on is no big deal. Sorry if I wasn't clear before.
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
On the cranberry thing I experimented with that once years ago, I found a liquid supplement thing at a pet store that was supposed to promote urinary health and it had some cranberry in it. Messy, cat didn't like it, and it didn't help. I found urinary acidifiers (either prescription food or as a supplement) were what worked best. There was also a homeopathic thing that seemed to work for my kitty who would test with blood in his urine but never any infection and the vets couldn't figure it out. That was from GNC and called urinary something or other and I gave him a few drops a day and then his urine samples would come up with no blood in them. Weird, who knows if it really worked or was something else. For actual though if they keep coming back, I am a fan of urinary acidifiers as long as you can monitor at home to be sure you don't overdo it.

We need to find out what is going on with how acid her urine is though first. The pH was far lower than it should be. Too acid urine can lead to different types of stones, so I want to be sure I don't create more problems. And, if she does have renal failure, these cats tend to already have acid systems, so cranberry is not recommended as a result. I may investigate homeopathic solutions though. Some of the herbal treatments I saw today have tons of diuretics in them, not exactly something I want to give a cat with potential renal failure or diabetes, not to mention pancreatitis since dehydration is an problem when it is kicking up. All that said, I ordered some cranberry stuff for animals today before I found out about the acid urine, so I'm hoping that clears up so I can try it on her.

How do you monitor acid at home? With some sort of urinary test strips?
 
Yeah, I saw the other post about the acidity after I posted this. :-D I used to moniter with reagent paper, I got it from 911healthshop.com (took a lot of searching to find one that tests the right range). Pool stores have test kits, but the range was wrong. Then you just dip the paper in their pee, like testing for ketones. I remembered using it in science class in like 5th grade, so I knew they had to sell it somewhere. It is one of the things on the dipsticks that vets use to test pee, but those are expensive, and I found hard to get as a non-vet.

I had a kitty who had an internal cyst that caused acidic urine, that's why I was curious. It was pretty weird, and had to be surgically removed, and then his urine went back to normal. I caught it b/c his pee started to smell like vinegar. :o
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top