Shaak, AMPS 343,Feb. 7th.2016

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cathie and Shaak Ti (GA)

Member Since 2016
she did it!! She ate a mixture of dry and wet! I don't know what the difference is but never before has she been willing. Of course I had not tried in over two years though.

AMPS 343

I am so :cat::D:joyful:
 
she came to me when I called her to get her +1 and she laid down in front of me and then purred the whole time even when I poked her!!!:woot::joyful:

+1 298
WooHoo!!! :):cat::woot: Kitties love routine! I often find Pimp in his test spot when it's time, without even calling him!

Did you feed after/with the injection again, like last night?

Hopefully Sue pops in with dosing advice today.
 
A tsp of gravy at the 63? Great job!

If you haven't addressed the 49 yet, first take a breath. She's safe ..we just need to get her to stop.

I'd give her another tsp of gravy, a couple small licks of karo,and a tsp of the Low carb wet food to help her stabilize because the HC will wear off. I think the wet food is what is causing her to drop but I don't want to skyrocket her with dry and it takes a bit longer to kick in.

Test 30 mins after you give her the above. Ok?
 
I'm watching for you so don't worry. The karo should help.

Quite a response to the diet switch....just like Scooter!
 
No..if you rubbed it on her gums, that should help as long as you got a couple decent fingertips of it. If you don't think she got much, you could try a tiny bit in her food but my only concern with that is I don't want to discourage her from eating canned food if she doesn't like karo.

Edited to add: and it will be interesting to see how this changes the duration of her insulin.
 
just sitting here waiting to test again. I know at the moment the karo is the only thing I have in the house, but what could I try if this ever happens again, since she doesn't like the karo and she squirmed like crazy getting upset when I rubbed the karo on her gums
 
Do you think she would let you syringe a small amount of karo in her mouth if you needed to if she didn't like it on her food? I have a TON of needle less syringes for that very purpose and could give you some.

She might very well eat it mixed in can food but I'd rather try that when she's not quite this low. I am wondering if you got her on canned food if she might not need insulin.
 
I think I could get her to take the karo out of a needle less syringe.

I have been hoping that exact thing, that if I put her on wet food if she will not need insulin. The only good thing I have been thinking of in the last hour.
 
Good. Give her another tsp or so of canned food if she will eat it and retest in 30. Her insulin should start wearing off soon and the HC gravy and karo might influence the duration. We will have to find out. Don't worry if she drops back down in 30 mins. You'll just give her a little more gravy.
 
:nailbiting::nailbiting: Glad you were here Marje! That was totally unexpected! Considering that she still ate dry this morning, with lc wet mixed in :confused:

Cathie you're doing great! Good work on the gravy at 63!
 
Cathie....we will also need to drop her dose tonight. I'm not sure yet by how much. I going to tag @Sue and Oliver (GA) to help and hope that she's around. If we don't hear from her, I've got one other person to ask.
 
Well, she "earned" a reduction. I think I would be cautious, as you are probably planning to keep adding wet and taking away dry, and that may drop the numbers more.

She is very likely to bounce up for pmps as her body hasn't seen any numbers in that range in a while. But regardless, I think I would give .5. And plan to get a test before bed to make sure she isn't dropping too fast. If that dose isn't enough and she is higher that cycle and the next, you can always split the difference and try .75 for the next one, but it's easier to raise the dose a little than try to guess how much to reduce.

What do you think, Marje?
 
We posted at the same time. Great minds and all that....... Yes, .5 sounds good. I will surprised if she isn't pretty high for pmps, but yes, no shot under 200.
 
Well, she "earned" a reduction. I think I would be cautious, as you are probably planning to keep adding wet and taking away dry, and that may drop the numbers more.

She is very likely to bounce up for pmps as her body hasn't seen any numbers in that range in a while. But regardless, I think I would give .5. And plan to get a test before bed to make sure she isn't dropping too fast. If that dose isn't enough and she is higher that cycle and the next, you can always split the difference and try .75 for the next one, but it's easier to raise the dose a little than try to guess how much to reduce.

What do you think, Marje?
I was thinking 0.5u with all LC canned and no dry food.
 
I think that should be okay, even if she eats all low carb. You are cutting the dose in half and we are planning for a pretty high pmps. (If she is not high and near 200, then maybe we reduce more.) But I would plan to test a few times tonight after the shot, just to see where things are heading.

You are in the Mountain time zone, right? I'll check on you around pmps.
 
I’ll be around, too, but it’s good to also have Sue on hand in case we need to change our dose strategy. Don’t forget to keep her SS updated :):);););)
 
Thanks for updating her SS.

She’s just “surfing” which is great!!! Awesome healing for her pancreas. While I probably would normally leave her and not feed, I know from a quick phone conversation with you about strips that you need to get out and get some so you can feed her a tsp of LC and see if she comes up so you can get out.
 
Happy she's up a bit for you. And now you have experience steering with carbs. You've gotten over a lot of big hurdles this week!:):cat::cool::D
You're doing great!
 
It's very encouraging, Cathie, that she has surfed along and didn't bounce right up from the low numbers. And that she has gotten a nice long cycle today.
 
These are my notes for Shaak's SS, I am having trouble getting the SS to accept the comments so I thought I would put it all in the thread for now, until I can get the SS figured out.


+3 63 scared me plenty, gave one teaspoon gravy from FF Gravy Lovers;
+4 49 she would not lick karo, had to rub my finger with a drip of karo on her gums twice,one teaspoon gravy and one teaspoon LC wet food;
+4.5 57 gave 2 teaspoons LC wet food;+5 59 one teaspoon LC wet food;
+5.5 64;
+6 57 gave one teaspoon LC wet food;
+6.5 55 2 teaspoon LC wet food;
+7 81 think we are headed back up now, ran out to get strips;
+8 126
 
I am so nervous about tonight. I am sick at my stomach already with knowing will have to give her another shot tonight and I am so scared it will happen again. I know we will reduce the u but still afraid of where it will go.
 
It's early days. If you want a good nights' sleep (you've had a long day) we can be real cautious with the evening shot. The food can really change things, so you could even skip the shot (unless she jumps way up) and get some wet low carb in her, and start again tomorrow.
 
Marje, I entered all my notes on my spreadsheet but it is saying formula parse error and won't accept the text.
Fixed. You can't start a remark with an = or + etc.

I think it's a good plan to see where she is at PMPS. You did outstanding today, Cathie. Good job on the remarks so you can remember what you did.
 
@Sue and Oliver (GA) Cathie and I were just discussing the SS and she said she realized that all the PS numbers were actually done at +11 because she tests and then feeds one hour before the shot to have the food on board at shot time. She wondered if that is ok or if she also needs to be doing a PS (+12) test as well.

I don’t know the answer because I haven’t dealt with an in/out insulin as the basal insulin and I’m assuming a +12 is going to result in a food spike except that we don’t have any info for canned food fed at +11. What is the best way for her to approach this? Test and then feed at +11 and then test and shoot at +12 (AMPS or PMPS) or test and feed at +11 and then just shoot at +12?
 
I am not sure either, as you don't have to feed early with ProZinc..Id just say to test before food and we'll work with that number? My thinking is that the food will increase the number, but I think we want to dose the "true" number.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top