Shaak, AMPS 343,Feb. 7th.2016

Status
Not open for further replies.
+11 280. It's higher than I wanted but still so much lower than where she started out at her +11 (what I thought was her AMPS) Not sure which I should be calling it.
 
Cathi, either 0.5 if you are willing to stay up, or less (pull up 0.5 and let out a drop or two) if you are want to have a calmer night. Marje?
 
okay, I will pull up 0.5 and let out a drop or two. I do need a calmer night, I still have to fix dinner and get my daughter ready for school in the morning, she is special needs and it takes a bit to get it all done with her the night before and the morning of.
 
Yes...definitely feed her maybe some now and also at her shot. Might be better to go on the light side of 0.5u tonight as I doubt I'll make it much past 11 to help out if she comes down.

LOVE the avatar!!!

Edited to add: I'd get no later than a +2 and also a before bed test.

Thanks Sue!,
 
so the fact that we are starting out a almost 100 points lower than we did before her (AMPS? +11) she started at 343 with 1u and now it will be 280 with 0.5u minus two drops. I am just worried that with her lower numbers she is just going to be right back where she started, though actually I don't know a thing about this yet... just trying to understand. She is eating and I will give her her shot in an hour.
 
so the fact that we are starting out a almost 100 points lower than we did before her (AMPS? +11) she started at 343 with 1u and now it will be 280 with 0.5u minus two drops. I am just worried that with her lower numbers she is just going to be right back where she started, though actually I don't know a thing about this yet... just trying to understand. She is eating and I will give her her shot in an hour.
Not sure if you are worried she will come back down tonight or that the reduced dose will make her go back up and stay?
 
Well, she shouldn't. But even if she did, you know what to do to keep her safe. My guess is that she will be fine. But remember, anytime she is going down and not up is a good day (or night)
 
worried she will come down again tonight
Thanks for clarifying. I wish I had a crystal ball to tell you what she will do BG-wise. Although, maybe this will help:
image.jpeg


Just remember s few things if she does come down:
--someone experienced with low numbers is most likely to be on the board somewhere
--and if they aren't, you have testing, karo, and food in your toolbox. If there's no one on to tell you when to give HC or karo, use your best judgement and if she gets near 50 and you are worried, keep her safe and give her the HC/karo but do not get complacent on testing. As you saw today, when the HC/karo wears off, numbers can come back down. Test until she's up safely for a couple hours with no food.
 
I'm hoping you won't need to. Why don't you see where she is at +3 and then decide whether you need to test any more. If she's still way up at +3, you can get some sleep but if she's headed down, I'd grab a +5 or, if she's coming down faster than you expected, a +4.

I'll be up another hour.
 
She's just onsetting later than she was. It's not a big drop, though.

Just remember at any time tonight that you need to do it so you can get some rest, you can give her a little gravy if you need to. I was just waiting up for this test but I'm headed to bed.

@Andy & Pimp are you still up a bit?
 
I'll be around for another hour at least. I'll tag @Gill & George too, she just got up for the day in Spain :)
That would be really great if you all could stay with Cathie for a few hours.

After over five years of being up all night many nights and up and down most of the rest, I'm still trying to get through the exhaustion.

I truly appreciate it.

Take it easy tonight, Shaak!!
 
She's just onsetting later than she was. It's not a big drop, though.

Just remember at any time tonight that you need to do it so you can get some rest, you can give her a little gravy if you need to. I was just waiting up for this test but I'm headed to bed.

@Andy & Pimp are you still up a bit?

okay, I will see how it is next hour and decide whether or not to give a touch of food to her in order to see if I could sleep, however, I feel guilty as crazy for doing that.

I'll be around for another hour at least. I'll tag @Gill & George too, she just got up for the day in Spain :)

Andy, I appreciate it, I am taking a 45 minute nap right now if I can.
 
Hi Cathie,

I've just got up and will be around for at least a few hours.
Just finished reading your condo, looks like you have had a busy day.
See you at +3
 
No probs, just starting to come alive after my second cup of coffee:coffee::coffee::coffee:

I'll still be around for a while Cathie should you have any unexpected shenanigans:)
 
+4 245 Looks like on an upswing again. I was hoping for more middle of the road numbers, I guess it is too soon for that though, duh.. esp since we just transitioned to wet food just today!! I am so proud that we have made that transition!! Now I can't feel sleepy, I think I will do a +5 to be on the safe side. If anyone wants to hang around in an hour I would appreciate it.
 
I'm off to bed myself it's almost 3am here. Would have been up anyhow so don't worry about that;)

Gill will keep an eye on you and if ever you need immediate help for emergency change your title and title icon to "911" (on the left of the text box in the edit window). If it's the middle of the night I also recommend posting a HELP thread in the lantus/levemir forum as it's the most active part of the board.
 
I'll be here,
If it was me I would also want to get that+5, just as a sanity check.

eta Good idea Andy, about posting on the Lantus and Lev forum in case of emergency, as a lot more activity there, but make sure you make it clear you are on Novolin, just to avoid confusion:confused: I'm getting my 3rd coffee now:coffee::coffee::coffee: then I should be fully awake;)(spot the caffeine addict)
 
I'll be here,
If it was me I would also want to get that+5, just as a sanity check.

eta Good idea Andy, about posting on the Lantus and Lev forum in case of emergency, as a lot more activity there, but make sure you make it clear you are on Novolin, just to avoid confusion:confused: I'm getting my 3rd coffee now:coffee::coffee::coffee: then I should be fully awake;)(spot the caffeine addict)
yes, my sanity is very important, I will have nightmares if I feel something is off. Been a rough day. I am thrilled about the food situation but never realized it could cause so much upheaval. I now know I will never go back to kibble. I feel like I just had a couple cups of coffee, I get this way when I need sleep, a second wind that stirs up just before I am ready to pass out. I am praying for a decent +5. If it is too high I will be sad, however I will go to bed if it is high. If it goes down even a little I won't be able to sleep though. Just stirs up my fears.
 
I know how you feel. I'm the same with BFG.

But looking at your ss it seems that after about +5 the action of the novolin is waning so you should be ok if he is higher or the same.
You can give her a snack just before you hit the sack, just for good measure if that helps you rest better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top