Screechy PMPS 184; retest 355; +2, 309; +6, 278

Status
Not open for further replies.

mtdenise

Member Since 2013
Do I still give him his 1.25 units? After being high all day, he just tested at 184. Please advise on what I should do.
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

You are right to hold off and wait for some dosing advice. Screechy is coming off a bounce, and it's not clear where he will go. Are you able to do several tests tonight? Do you have enough supplies (strips, HC food etc)? Someone with more experience should come along soon.
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

I can test him tonight if needed. I can set my alarm.
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

Have you fed? Hold off on the good and test again 30 minutes after your last test. Let's see where Screechy might be going. Would will need to test earlier in the cycle, around +1 or +2 to see where he is going, and again around nadir, depending on the numbers. I can't advise you to shoot - I would not be able to stay up with you. Let me see if someone is around.
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

No, I didn't feed him. I'll test him again in about 10 minutes, that will be 30 minutes from last test. I'll report back. This is my first time with a low number for Screechy since I've had him. The earlier test on his SS are from his two previous fosters.
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

Hello there, let's see where he is in 30mins. This is his first blue so in a way I wouldn't want to lose momentum by skipping but want eyes on this.

You have lots of strips, lancets, and some high carb food and syrup right? Could be a pajama party!

Wendy
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

Good. This isn't really a "low" number, but it's a good drop from his mid-cycle value, so he may be continuing to go down. And it would be the lowest number you've shot, so let's see what happens. Sometimes it takes several cycles for a dose increase to start showing any action, and it looks like it's started to take hold!
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

Yes, I have enough supplies and a hypo kit. Going to test him again in a few minutes. He's not happy that he didn't get his meal after the last ear stick though.
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

The only reason you want to re-test now is to determine if this is a dropping number. Since this is the first blue pre-shot, I can understand why you're nervous. Most of the time, we suggest you post and ask for input if you haven't shot lower numbers and your pre-shot is below 150. In principle, a 184 is fine to shoot. However, because your last test was 356, it looks like numbers are heading down. All this means is that there may be some momentum behind that 184. If you were to shoot, one scenario is that even with Lantus onset not being for a few hours and you would feed, numbers could continue to head down. That could mean a busy night of testing and feeding. A second scenario is that Screechy would surf in these numbers. The 3rd scenario is that this would be a non-event. And finally, the last scenario would be that Screechy would be bouncing as a result of the drop from the pinks into the blues.
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

Just got 355! What?! I guess I give him his insulin and test in a couple of hours?
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

That's a huge jump. Please take another test, want to be sure there wasn't an error in the reading.. Sometimes too much or too little blood can cause that.
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

Well, THAT certainly gives you great information! I would go ahead and shoot and get a test in a few hours.
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

Sounds like a plan.

FYI - since you didn't shoot the 184 and the 355 is the number you're basing your shot on, it becomes your PMPS.

Just a thought. Given that the 184 seems out of sync, if you are ever unsure if you have an unusual number, it's fine to re-test immediately. In this case, that's a huge jump in numbers in the space of 30 min. It's possible that the 184 was a bad test or the result of a bad strip.
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

Ok, I'm going to go feed this very patient soul and give him his insulin. I'll be back as I have a couple of questions. Thank you.
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

Ok, Screechy is eating and happy that this crazy human finally gave him his food :smile:

1. I've printed out so many things to read. I thought I read that under 200 you don't shoot, but is it 150 where I don't shoot? I'll try to go through all my papers and find the appropriate information (unless one of you knows the link to it).

2. Can I still give him his next insulin shot at 8:45 a.m. like I always do? I gave him tonight's dose at about 9:20-9:25.

That was the first blue I had with him, so I think I panicked a little. I should have thought to test him again. I know it wasn't a super low number and I know he wasn't in danger...I just wasn't sure what to do. Thank you all for being there. I'm sure I'll be needing you all again.

Oh, I hated changing that nice blue to pink. I haven't had any blues with him.
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

It's under 200 on the health board but 150 on this board... Since you are a bit more experinced now.
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

When you first join on Feline Health, the shoot/no shoot threshold is 200.
Once you come over to Lantus TR group the shoot/no shoot threshold drops to 150 usually.

Lantus dosing, we like you to keep close to the 12 hour schedule. You can move the shot 15 minutes , twice a day or 30 minutes once a day. I'd rather not see you move too much earlier than the 8:55 tomorrow for the shot.
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

Gotcha! So shoot over 150 and hold under 150. If I get under 150, do I post here again for advice? I can give him his insulin around 9 a.m. tomorrow.
 
Re: Dosing advice needed - Screechy PMPS 184 Do I shoot?

1. I've printed out so many things to read. I thought I read that under 200 you don't shoot, but is it 150 where I don't shoot? I'll try to go through all my papers and find the appropriate information (unless one of you knows the link to it).
As others noted, we use 150 as a "post and ask for input" number when you are still relatively new to using Lantus or if it's the first few times you're seeing low numbers. The reason for the difference between the Health board and LL is that with Lantus, you have at least an hour or two for onset to begin. In addition, Lantus is a much gentler insulin than the shorter acting types of insulin. With the shorter acting insulins, onset is quick and numbers can drop very fast. With Lantus, you have more time.

2. Can I still give him his next insulin shot at 8:45 a.m. like I always do? I gave him tonight's dose at about 9:20-9:25.
In general, what Deb/Wink said is accurate. When you want to shift your times, you can do so in 15 min. increments at each shot time or 30 min. once a day. If Screechy's numbers are still high in the morning, I think you'll be fine to shoot at your regular time. We're looking at a difference of 35 - 40 min. from your usual shot time. If Screechy's numbers are in the lower range, you may want to stick with shooting 15 min. early if only because an early shot acts like a dose increase. If you're not going to be home to monitor, you want to do what's best to keep Screechy safe.
 
Re: Screechy PMPS 184; retest 355; +2, 309

+2 was 309.

One other question: He's been on the bumped up dose of 1.25 units for 7 cycles now. Does he stay at that dose for a while longer?
 
Re: Screechy PMPS 184; retest 355; +2, 309

I'd increase him to 1.5u as long as you can continue to get spot checks like you have been.

As others noted, we use 150 as a "post and ask for input" number when you are still relatively new to using Lantus or if it's the first few times you're seeing low numbers

I want to re-emphasize what Sienne said. We don't have a no shoot number. We have a "post and ask for help" number which, as she said, is 150.

Good luck with the increase.
 
Re: Screechy PMPS 184; retest 355; +2, 309, +6,278

His +6 (at 3:30 a.m.) was 278, so obviously the 184 I got was a bad reading.

I can increase him to 1.5 units in the morning.
 
I wouldn't be so quick to automatically say at the 184 was a bad number. Sienne and Wendy's advice to test again right away is good to remember. A cat on a mission can swing BG values quite rapidly and surprisingly. I would put the number in your SS and make a note that it may not be an accurate test. (However, if you can clearly see something went wrong, like not enough blood, then by all means toss out the value.) If you see this happen again, or more often, than you can look into it further. But for now just treat it as very suspect. Even though last night was a non-event, you got some good advice and a little racing heart! :-D :-D :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top