? Scratches 3/4 AMPS 316 +4.5 302

Scratches123

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/scratches-3-3-amps-316.226500/#post-2537439

I kind of suspected this would happen. Could this be due to a bounce? Maybe, but I doubt it at this point. Every time I start to see blues, she goes right back up and I think maybe it's a bounce, but then she never goes back down and I need to increase. Idk what to do for her. I see all these new kitties being high for a couple weeks or even days then the insulin really kicks right in and they go right into blues and greens and they stay that way (which makes me so happy to see, don't get me wrong!). Maybe Scratches will never do that? Maybe i'm doing things all wrong? I just don't even know anymore. All I know, it's been six months and we aren't any better off than when we started. I saw a few greens not that long ago and she got decrease after decrease and was doing so well then all of the sudden went sky high again. I know now that most cats don't do well with so many decreases like that and ever since then she's been all over the place again. So, what can I do now? When should I be worrying about her next increase? She feels well I can tell, and she's acting great, but I think it's a matter of time before her sugar stops dropping again and i'm going to need to do yet another increase. Is this going to be my and her life forever? Constantly increasing and decreasing? I don't understand and I feel so terrible I can't get it right.

Looking back on her SS, I wish back when I was seeing the greens that I held the doses for a little longer rather than kept decreasing. I was still using the SLGS method, and i'm thinking that was a factor to her failed reductions. I could have held the doses longer and waited until she got lower before I decreased if I were doing TR then. I switched to TR right around that time but it was too late. ughhhhh can't I turn back time? I miss seeing those beautiful numbers.
 
Last edited:
I had the same frustration with Max. I would probably increase a few cycles sooner now. You test enough. It’s not too late for remission. Some go OTJ pretty quickly but many do in the:bighug: first year or even two years.
 
I had the same frustration with Max. I would probably increase a few cycles sooner now. You test enough. It’s not too late for remission. Some go OTJ pretty quickly but many do in the:bighug: first year or even two years.
Well that makes me feel better. I may have spoke too soon though, her sugar was 150 pmps :D I'm excited to see what tonight and tomorrow morning brings!! Let's go scratchie girl!
 
Keep following the TR protocol. Increase tomorrow. If you hold doses too long you can see glucose toxicity, where their bodies get used to higher numbers.

ECID is true, each cat really is different. My girl took a year before she stopped bouncing to reds. Scratches is starting to see some nice long stretches of blue, that’s a good thing,
 
Increase tomorrow. If you hold doses too long you can see glucose toxicity, where their bodies get used to higher numbers.
I didn't see this until this morning, I already shot her one unit. I don't want to do an increase tonight because I have to go to my sisters performance tonight and I won't be home for a while to check on her, plus her lower numbers show up in the evening and i'd feel better increasing tomorrow morning. 1.25? She's been at one unit for ten cycles now. 8 of which her sugar has been under 200, but nothing too low that i'd worry about increasing. It seems she needs a little push, then maybe i'd see some yellows or blues in the morning as well? So it would be a good idea to increase tomorrow morning? Plus, increasing on the weekends is best for me since I can be home all weekend with her if needed.
 
Scratches 123
I see all these new kitties being high for a couple weeks or even days then the insulin really kicks right in and they go right into blues and greens and they stay that way (which makes me so happy to see, don't get me wrong!).
All I know, it's been six months and we aren't any better off than when we started.

OMG, Have you been reading my mind ? I've been thinking the same thing.
At least you've gotten some greens. I've yet to see a green. I can't wait for the days when I get blues and greens.
But her SS does show improvement. Maybe Scratchie is taking the scenic route.
 
Back
Top