Scooter hypoed (25) on a reduced dose, what to decrease???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ry & Scooter

Member Since 2011
Hi,

Last night Scooter had a low preshot (85) and I was asleep so Ben decided to shoot a reduced dose (1.5u from 2u). He then decided his video games were of utmost importance and did not test Scooter until +4 to find he was full blown hypo at ***25***. He loaded him up with syrup, tested him once more, and then went back to his games for 2 hours... ohmygod_smile

I got really upset and told him next time if he can't commit to caring for the cat to just wake me up.... I don't want to hear any hurtful comments but if you have any messages I can relay to him to try and get the point across of how important this is, please do share.

ANYWAYS. My question is, what should I do dose-wise, considering Scooter hypoed so bad on a reduced dose?
 
Re: Scooter hypoed (25) on a reduced dose???

I know when I read the stickies about symptoms of hypo that made me want to stay away from that every happening, if possible. Maybe have Ben read that if he has not done so already. At least you had the supplies and he knew to give Scooter syrup. What was his BG after the syrup?

Maybe next time Ben is in charge set your alarm for the 1/2 way mark just so you can "check in"?
 
Re: Scooter hypoed (25) on a reduced dose???

His shot is at 12/12 so in another 5 hours, roughly.

I have the hypo symptoms and treatment thingy on the fridge and I'm glad he gave syrup but he obviously gave too much and made Scooter's BG skyrocket.

Unfortunately I have a sleep disorder and need every minute of uninterrupted rest I can get. I let him know to wake me up next time :sad:
 
Re: Scooter hypoed (25) on a reduced dose???

Just to clarify, was Scooter exhibiting any symptoms of hypoglycemia? We differentiate between low numbers and symptomatic hypoglycemia. If you take a look at Gabby's SS, she hit a 27 on 3/35 (PM cycle). There were absolutely no symptoms. The way it sounds, Scooter was fine. I'm not saying to ignore testing or to think numbers in the 20s are OK, but, I think it helps your peace of mind to know if Scooter was (or wasn't) symptomatic.

One thing I suggest is to routinely get a +2 test. Testing at +2 can help you know if its going to be an active cycle. (The +2 test should be roughly the same number as your pre-shot test so if it's much lower, you will have some idea where the cycle is heading.) Sometimes just getting into a routine of when to test can help to avoid a situation like this.

To be honest, most of us have been surprised by our cat throwing us an unexpected number -- I wasn't expecting that 27. Yes, hypoglycemia can be dangerous but beating up on someone or on yourself doesn't usually help. I'd look at this as a good indication of why home testing is so important for maintaining your cat's safety. We can all get caught up in doing something and lose track of time. Maybe, setting an alarm so you and Ben can get into that +2 test routine will help to avoid any similar situations in the future.

Also, and this may help Ben to appreciate why testing is important, it can often happen that a reduced dose doesn't have an effect on the current cycle. Lantus dosing is cumulative due to it being a depot-type of medication (i.e., there's a "shed"). Even having taken the precaution of lowering the dose doesn't necessarily mean the reduction will have it's effect on the current cycle just as you saw last night. We also strongly suggest if you are shooting a low number that you get tests at +1 and +2 because you may not yet have the data to know how your cat will respond to your shooting a low number. I don't know now much time Ben has spent reading the board but maybe if he is able to read condos, he will have a better sense of how others deal with similar situations.
 
Re: Scooter hypoed (25) on a reduced dose, what to decrease?

Maybe ask Ben to set an alarm when testing is critical? It's easy to lose track of time with video games, after all, they are designed to be addictive. I know what you mean about needing your sleep.
Liz
 
Re: Scooter hypoed (25) on a reduced dose, what to decrease?

No severe symptoms but he was disorientated/wobbly and his eyes were "weird".

I don't find the +2 thing reliable, we do always try for a +2 or at least a +3 but for some reason I guess it just didn't click with him that you should probably check more often shooting a lower preshot.

Anyways if you read my first post this is not meant to be a bashing thread about anything, I never wanted it to be... I am really just asking what to do with his dose at this point.
 
Re: Scooter hypoed (25) on a reduced dose, what to decrease?

Other people may not do this, if they know their really cat well, but since my cat doesn't get a lot of numbers in the green range, I usually try to test at least hourly if J.D. is in the green numbers, and every 30 minutes if the BG is 60 or below.
If I saw something in the 20s, I would feed gravy or syrup like Ben did and then test again in 20 minutes. Lather, Rinse, and Repeat. Maybe Ben could post on the board for help or suggestions when he gets a test below 70? Just a suggestion.

Scooter did earn a dose reduction with that 25. The next shot is due in 4 hours?
 
Re: Scooter hypoed (25) on a reduced dose, what to decrease?

Scooter's dose should have been 2.0u last night. With the drop, a reduction is warranted. IMHO, the new dose would be 1.75u.
 
Re: Scooter hypoed (25) on a reduced dose, what to decrease?

3 hours now but yes. I guess I will do 1.75. Thank you. I am ecstatic that Scooter has been doing so well but I really would like to be able to leave the house every once in a while and not worry about him @-)
 
Re: Scooter hypoed (25) on a reduced dose, what to decrease?

Wow, Scooter...way to make your desire for a reduction known! :shock:
Ry, i didn't take your post as bashing Ben...
I took at as him being like my nephew and just not understanding the possible seriousness of low numbers.

I don't want to hear any hurtful comments but if you have any messages I can relay to him to try and get the point across of how important this is, please do share.

What really drove the message home for me was seeing a thread the first week we joined FDMB where a kitty didn't survive a hypo.
Before seeing that, I knew about hypos from the stickies, but reading about it as it happened was shocking and revealing...
I'll never forget it- it was heartbreaking.

If you think it might help for Ben to read one of those, I'll be more than happy to go back and find one and link it for you.

celi & binks
 
Re: Scooter hypoed (25) on a reduced dose, what to decrease?

Yeah, he's on a roll with the reductions :-D

That might be informative for him. I just don't think he understands that it could kill Scooter VERY fast, especially because we are without a vehicle and so far away from a vets...
 
Re: Scooter hypoed (25) on a reduced dose, what to decrease?

I'm glad Ben caught that number and glad he gave the karo to bring Scooter up.

When I'm looking at his SS, I see several times that you did a +2 which was lower than the PS and then followed by an active cycle. Will it happen every time? Probably not. It didn't when Gracie
was on lantus but I still religiously got a +2 because it happened more OFTEN than not that she would drop and that is what I'm seeing with Scooter. I think it's worth it to get the +2....IMHO especially because the
last two times he went really low....3/29 and 3/3, you probably would have seen a drop in the +2.

His SS is looking good! Good luck on the reduction.
 
Re: Scooter hypoed (25) on a reduced dose, what to decrease?

Yes, but then there were days like 3/25 where his preshot was 121, +2 was 124, and then he hit 49 at +4. It's not always possible for me to test +2, lately I have been shooting him at noon, running errands, and coming home in time for a +2 or +3 because early afternoon is the only time I can get groceries etc.
 
Re: Scooter hypoed (25) on a reduced dose, what to decrease?

hi ry,

you've described a symptomatic hypoglycemia - looking disoriented, glazed, wobbly, etc., are symptoms. the cat's brain is what reacts if there isn't enough glucose in their system. and, there's always the possibility he was lower before he was caught. once cats have had a symptomatic hypo episode, they can become more sensitive to insulin.

looking at his ss, i see a "change in the game." he has stopped bouncing. there are almost no yellows. he's in greens most of the past 8 days, just popping into blues. i just want to point that out to you - because you may have hit the break-through dose and he made need more monitoring than before to keep him safe. some cats hit that breakthrough dose and come screaming down the dosing scale.

no crystal ball from me on what ry will do, but based upon this past week, i wanted to point out to you what i'm seeing and what *might* be ahead.

i can totally appreciate you feeling tied down - i imagine we all do. all the advice people are giving you are based upon what they perceive your cat needs in order to stay safe. we know you'll figure out how to do those things to accommodate mr scooter's needs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top