Juliet
I'm going to show you two pictures and yes, they are both the same cat...lol
This is my Cassanova when I first adopted him, yes he really is standing up, or at least standing up as much as he could back then.
His dose was being based off vet run spot checks not even a full curve at the vet's just random spot checks. His previous own still had him on dry DM and wasn't testing him at home. He was on 11u BID of Levemir. He was 37 LBS! He had neuropathy, his coat was dull and thin. in short he looked like hell warmed over after 2 years of treatment under vet supervision. He didn't have a bad vet, in fact I've spoken with him on many occasions since adopting Cassanova, he just didn't understand a depot insulin as he normally uses N or Prozinc with most of his clients. Now he is learning from me how Lantus and Levemir work.
Same cat 8 months later following the protocol here and was OTJ until I had to use a salve on his feet that contained a mild steroid, he's already back to .25u for a dose after starting him back at 1u. And this morning's preshot was 161. In a couple more weeks he'll probably go right back to OTJ once the steroids clear his system again.
He's a completely different cat. In fact he's not even the same color anymore. He really is that much oranger in real life as he is in the pictures that's not a trick of the lighting.
Mel and The Fur Gang