suki & crystal (GA)
Member Since 2014
Wonderful news that Saoirse is making a good recovery, continued vines and prayers for you both









)Thank you very, very much for sharing this, Carol: it is absolutely beautiful, incredibly inspiring, and wonderfully uplifting.Hope is like a road in the country; there was never a road, but when many people walk on it, the road comes into existence."



One day at a time, my friend. Scritches just delivered and they went down a storm, Sharon!Sending poopy vines for sweet Saoirse, along with lots of scritches and hugs![]()
(And mama found the hugs just as comforting. 
Hear, hear!Sending love to ALL our FDMB kitties on Valentine's Day... I wonder if they know how truly, madly, deeply they are loved...






I'm also pleased to hear you are getting a bit of rest, yourself. Now we just need to get you to eat, too. 











No Mogs. I think you are running on pure love. I think the visiting nurse/vet tech idea is marvelous so you can get the rest you need to feel better yourself.@suki & crystal -
Thank you for checking in to see how we're doing, and also for the hugs and moral support: it really, really helps.
I really do need some assistance with Saoirse's nursing at the moment. Having her as a day patient tomorrow will be a start, but I really do need to find someone to monitor and 'semi-assist feed' Saoirse while I get sleep. Don't know what I'm running on at the moment. Certainly not fumes; they ran out several days ago. Must be fear ...
Mogs
.





These will hopefully help too. 


Asked my trusty cabbies to get a kebab for me tonight. There are two kebab joints in town. One's really, really good; the other one's the pits. Guess which one he went to? Yep.Could you order in some food to get a full meal into you?
Still, it's eaten. I will tell him the street name as well as the shop name next time. 

OYEEE! You'd think the cabbie would have the scoop on the best kebabs in town wouldn't you?Ones' really, really good; the other one's the pits. Guess which one he went to? Yep.Still, it's eaten.
Poopy vines successful! Thank you, Sharon.Sending poopy vines for sweet Saoirse ...
Or perhaps there's a kickback somewhere? (I am so cynical!You'd think the cabbie would have the scoop on the best kebabs in town wouldn't you?![]()



The owner of the firm has been taking Saoirse to her vet appointments for some time (plus the run back from the veterinary school last year). He collects her prescriptions from the vets and drops them in to me, too. He knows about my anxiety disorders and how very difficult it is for me with the agoraphobia. He always tries to reassure me and to calm me down me on the rare occasions I leave the house. When he brought us up to the hospital last week he said to me that they would do anything they could to help us. And, boy, didn't he deliver! I appreciate both himself and his staff so much.I'm glad to hear that your cabbies are taking care of you
It's wonderful to find there are still people like that around, even if they are few and far betweensddddddddpThe owner of the firm has been taking Saoirse to her vet appointments for some time (plus the run back from the veterinary school last year). He collects her prescriptions from the vets and drops them in to me, too. He knows about my anxiety disorders and how very difficult it is for me with the agoraphobia. He always tries to reassure me and to calm me down me on the rare occasions I leave the house. When he brought us up to the hospital last week he said to me that they would do anything they could to help us. And, boy, didn't he deliver! I appreciate both himself and his staff so much.
Mogs
.
... even if they are few and far betweensddddddddp
;
EDIT: Lol, that was Candy walking on my keyboard, sorry!
'Twas not always thus. I've come on over the years....excited over poop!
I'm with you, Mogs, I will always err on the side of caution! (I'll be checking Squallie again in about 15 minutes to see where his reduced dose is taking him tonight.)PS:
PMPS - 13.9 (Alphatrak) - Dose: 'Fat Zero'
PM+6.25 - 8.4
@Squalliesmom -
FYI, this is a prime example of what drives my conservatism when it comes to my dosing decisions for Saoirse.
Saoirse hasn't had any insulin since 2am Thursday morning so there's nothing in the Lantus depot. This is significant lowering just on a droplet of insulin. I based the dose decision on Saoirse's BG unexpectedly dropping to 4.6 on Wednesday morning - in the hospital and prior to her op (high stress situation) - after a dose of 0.25IU Lantus*; and also on the fact that, even with the soreness after the op, she is feeling better now and at home.
Mogs
* Note: Dosing accuracy achieved by veterinary professional administering the injection is an unknown quantity.
.


I had a doberman pinscher who swallowed a sock. Yup, a whole sock. It passed through, too..dunno what the odds on that were. But I noticed something emerging from Chopper's nether end, and pulled. He whooped, and I found out where my missing sock was. SURPRISE!
I made sure all socks were picked up off the floor pronto after that. Yup, Saoirse is probably sore when she eats..all those muscles are so close to cheek and jowels. But she sounds like she's accelerating in healing. Each day she should feel better expotentially. But I know you'll be relieved when she can get her usual dose of insulin.
Oops! Happy belated Valentine's day, everyone!


YAY for tummy rubs! Now you KNOW Saoirse's feeling better! Great, great news...and when you know she's feeling good it makes it much easier for you to sleep.Then she rolled over on her side to ask me for a tummy rub!![]()

Am so very pleased for you and your Saoirse, Mogs!Right now I'm so happy I could spit.![]()






Saoirse had her ondansetron this morning mixed in with her food. So far today she has eaten two meals of just under a pouchful each.
Saoirse's fur is growing back!

















I was so happy to read your update ...




You know, the vet who did Bubba's enucleation did not shave his fur.
The cone stayed pretty secure. The only issue I had was that he was a very bad "driver" with it on, bumping into everything. At first I took it off because he was ramming into the walls trying to get it off but a friend insisted that I was playing Russian Roulette with him by not making him wear it and I put it back on. We had a few days where he was aggravated by it and then he just settled it. Is Saoirse getting hers off?Hi Bobby,
Very good to hear from you. I hope that you and Pirate Bubba are doing well today.![]()
Saoirse's opthalmologist said to me that it may not be necessary to shave the area but she prefers to do so as an extra safety precaution.
Thank you for the continued healing vines. The redness has gone down a little around the wound but I think Saoirse's still sore when she eats. She has a way to go yet. How long did you keep Bubba's Cone of Shame in place?
Mogs
.
)
That looks like Bubba' cone. So glad she is being good with it. The play pen sounds like a good plan!Saoirse's being really good with her collar. It's one like this:
![]()
I think the cushioning helps a lot. Normally Saoirse is like that Simon's Cat cartoon you posted for me earlier and perpetually trying to reverse out of the collar. The collar's snug enough to stay in place without needing to secure it on a collar and it's pretty much see-through. I think that could be why it's not making Saoirse as anxious as other collars have in the past. The snap fastenings make it much easier for her when I'm taking it off and putting it back on again.
I'm keeping Saoirse in her resting cage at the moment and, unusually for her, she's quite content being in there at the moment. She can see me all the time (except when I have to leave the room for bits and pieces. I'm glad she's getting a good rest and that her temporary confinement isn't causing her to fret. I hope her new playpen comes soon. We've both got a lot to learn and I want to know she will be safe any time I'm sleeping. The playpen will give her room for manouevre and me peace of mind. Well, that's the plan.
Mogs
.