911 Saoirse - PRAYERS PLEASE: UPDATED MONDAY GMT 21:00 - Steady Progress

Status
Not open for further replies.
Update: Sunday 10:44 GMT
---------------------------------

Saoirse started getting itchy yesterday morning. It's on her unaffected side so I don't know whether or not it is a sign of healing. Her posh Cone of Shame is doing a good job of protecting her little face. Saoirse is actually quite OK with the collar and also being in the resting cage. Normally she would get fretty if she was cooped up so I'm relieved that she's quite calm about being in there.

Subsequent to the wonderful conversation with that vet on Friday morning I put a call in to our own vets to ask for help with Saoirse's meds. I also managed to drag myself (no hyperbole) to the local chemist to speak with the pharmacist about whether I could get liquid suspensions of any of Saoirse's other meds. Struck out on the famotidine front, but there is a liquid suspension of ondansetron available (for UK readers - Teva do one). Also you can get a liquid formulation of cyproheptadine from a compounding pharmacy (not cheap) so I'm ordering some of that as well. The pharmacist was really helpful. (Thanks for giving me the idea, @Andy & Pimp!) He worked out the doses ready for me to give to the vet for the written prescription (which they did a speedy turnaround on for me today). All going well, I may get the ondansetron early next week (the cornerstone of Saoirse's maintenance regimen: under normal circumstances if her nausea is controlled she doesn't need appy stimulus) and the cypro suspension the week after.

On Friday afternoon, Saoirse's right eye area looked very sore and swollen. :( Also, she was really queasy; she looked like she was hovering between hiccuping and dry heaving. I couldn't get her to touch either her regular food or the Liquivite, but I finally managed to get her eat a little bit of gravy from a pouch of Hill's i/d off my fingers. (Any port in a storm; I had to get something into my little Munchkin's tummy to help counter the tummy acid build-up.) Our own main vet very kindly agreed to squeeze us in for a house call to give her a 3-day duration amoxicillin antibiotic jab and some Cerenia. (I could've hugged him for sparing Saoirse the trip to the surgery.) Unfortunately he forgot the Cerenia. Thankfully, the little bit of i/d gravy I managed to get down her settled her stomach a little and she ate the whole pouch of food for me. :) I wonder whether the carbs in the gravy might have settled her tum a bit, similar to a human eating saltines? It's definitely going in my bag of tricks for the future.

Our own main vet thinks the inflammation and swelling round the eye is well within expectations and that Saoirse's progress is on track for a normal recovery from enucleation surgery. He was really happy Saoirse made it through the op and that her post-operative progress is going well. I thanked him profusely for his work to get the opthalmologist to see Saoirse as an emergency case.

I tested Saoirse's BG Friday night (13.3 / 239 Alphatrak) and blood ketones (0.7mmol/L on human meter). Saturday night, she was at BG 12.3/221 and ketones 0.4 mmol/L. I'm not comfortable with Saoirse at her current BG levels but because I can't monitor her properly I've had to hold off on giving insulin again. :( The reason I'm so wary is that she threw a very unexpected 4.6/83 (Alphatrak) at the hospital on the morning prior to her procedure and it was fairly far on in the cycle. Also, I can't leave food available for her to graze while I sleep. The other variable is that she is recovering and if she gets more comfortable that might drop BG levels, too. I don't want to risk her dipping low while I am asleep and she has no access to food. On the positive side, Saoirse is eating fairly well again (anti-jinx, anti-jinx) and I know her blood ketone status. I am so glad I got the ketone meter and strips; it was a smart investment in both Saoirse's care and my sanity. I really had hoped to restart Saoirse on insulin yesterday but I have to get more sleep in order to be able to monitor and keep her safe. Hopefully today I'll have caught up a bit and will able to restart her Lantus, even if it's at only one dose a day for the time being.

Saoirse ate nearly a whole pouch for me again yesterday evening. I blended it to a purée and put it on a side plate. It was easier for her to get into her mouth and she didn't lean the sore side of her face into it but she didn't eat quite as much as when I just blended it to a finely minced texture. Eating is a bit of a messy affair at the moment, so I'm using an updside down puppy pad as a tablecloth; works really well and cleans with a wipe of a damp cloth. Saoirse grumbled a bit just before she finished eating so I think she's sore on the right side of her mouth when trying to eat. For previous pouches I gave the bupe a little bit before the food. I had tested her BG and ketones just before feeding and she was so hungry I fed her straight after. I think she missed having the bupe prior to eating. She was a bit lip-licky afterwards but I don't know whether this was due to soreness or her losing the effects of the Cerenia. Overnight I gave Saoirse another pouchful but this time I just blitzed it to a fine minced texture. I think she better likes the taste when it's prepared like this. I put it on the side plate and used a spatula to keep moving the food back to the centre of the plate as she ate. No messy face and she finished the whole pouchful. This is great because she is almost back to eating her normal daily amount of food (anti-jinx, anti-jinx). Saoirse got cranky again after this meal, so I think eating must be quite hard work for her at the moment with her little face and part of her mouth being sore and the larger meals must be tiring for her. I can't wait to get the legs legs back under myself so that I can get her back to smaller, more frequent feeds. I want to do everything I can to help Saoirse through her convalescence and to help her get better as soon as possible. I wish she had never had to go through this; and I wish I could take all of the pain and soreness onto myself so that nothing might hurt my beloved girl.

I managed to eat a bit, but Greggs' steak slices and Star Bars'll only do a partial job of nourishing a body. I could do serious damage to a proper, nutritious meal right now, but any prospect of that is some way off into the future. :( I'm keeping horizontal as much as possible (no choice; chest and head are full of the cold, body feels like lead and legs are like putty). I slept for 12 hours straight on Friday night. Since then I'm back in PTSD land and having difficulty drifting off in spite of being absolutely shattered. I took a sleeping tablet after Saoirse's early morning feed and that knocked me out for a good few hours. Saoirse is getting more relaxed as her recovery progresses and she is now getting restful sleep. I can hear her snoring gently when she's snoozing. She gets quite perky when she knows her grub is about to be served. :)

I managed to get some of the Royal Canin recovery food from Amazon (thank you for digging up the info for me!) and Saoirse's playpen is on order. I hope she will like it. I love my girl. She's so brave. I'm very relieved to see her improving.

My heartfelt thanks to all of you for staying with me and my girl throughout all of this, and for continuing to pray and send healing thoughts. It is making such a difference to both of us and it is helping so much. If you're looking for specifics to focus on today for Saoirse, some pooping type activity would be welcome. (Hasn't gone for days ... :nailbiting:)


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Hang in there, Mogs, it will get better. We're fairly certain Saoirse is on the mend, so while she's holding up, we're primarily concerned about you now. If you take a nose-dive, so does Saoirse. So don't be stingy with your own care.

Obviously this isn't a mere cold. You are exhausted and a nasty bug has snuck in below your defenses. Sleep is the best thing for you. Don't miss a chance to catch some Z's. Also... Please remember to take some really deep breaths now and then: lift your arms and make sure you expand your chest... it will open up the lung sacs and help to break up any mucus. If you can, get into your bathroom and let the hot water run, let the room fill up with steam. A little hydrogen peroxide in your ears will help keep them from getting infected. Salt water gargles will make sure your throat doesn't become infected, too.

Don't worry about jinxing yourself, either. There's enough of us out there working to counteract that. Prayer and intent go a long way to building up a protective wall against Mr. Murphy and his so-called Law. :bighug: One day at a time, my friend. ;)One day at a time.
 
My Bonnie just ate another 2/3 pouch for me. :)

I'm so relieved for her that she's managing to eat OK under her own steam. In my weakened state I am petrified of failing her on the nursing front. (Feel awful that I haven't been able to safely give her her insulin yet. :oops:) Also, after all my precious little girl has been through and with her face all sore it would have been awful to have also had to try to assist feed her. I'm so, so, so glad she doesn't have that additional stress to contend with.

I really do think it makes her sore when she eats. She's quite enthusiastic and excited when I bring in her grub and she is eager for me to lift her out of the resting cage and over onto the sofa to give her her meal, but she gets a bit cranky once she has finished eating. Still, she's such a good little patient. She puts this stoic expression on while I gently clean around her mouth after she has eaten. You couldn't but love her. :)


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Mogs, i'm sure every day will bring an improvement now and the fact that Saiorse is eating well is such a good sign... She will be feeling slightly off still whilst the anaesthetic is in her system and she adjusts to her different state, but overall both you and she have done a tremendous job over the past week.

Sending love to ALL our FDMB kitties on Valentine's Day... I wonder if they know how truly, madly, deeply they are loved...

Diana
 
Mogs, I'm so glad things are looking up for you! I hope you start feeling better yourself! I've had a lot going on so I haven't been able to read much on the board the last few days, but I wanted to let you know that you and Saoirse have been in my thoughts and prayers. Please take care of yourself! :bighug:
 
Mogs, I was so happy to read your update on Saoirse! Thrilled that she is recovering so well, and eating and pooping, now! :joyful: I'm also pleased to hear you are getting a bit of rest, yourself. Now we just need to get you to eat, too. :)

Still sending all prayers and healing thoughts to both of you! (((HUGS)))
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
So elated to hear Saoirse is now eating well and improving with each day!:D There really are no words to describe the relief I am feeling for you Mogs and of course your sweetie! It's been a very trying time for you both but you both have weathered the storm and the skies are clearing. Just make sure you remember that sometimes Momma Bean has to put herself first, if only for a short time, so she stays strong for her little one! Could you order in some food to get a full meal into you? A good meal would help you heal better too! Sending hugs for you and scritches for Saoirse and wishing you both a wonderful Valentine's Day! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@suki & crystal -

Thank you for checking in to see how we're doing, and also for the hugs and moral support: it really, really helps.

I really do need some assistance with Saoirse's nursing at the moment. Having her as a day patient tomorrow will be a start, but I really do need to find someone to monitor and 'semi-assist feed' Saoirse while I get sleep. Don't know what I'm running on at the moment. Certainly not fumes; they ran out several days ago. Must be fear ...


Mogs
.
No Mogs. I think you are running on pure love. I think the visiting nurse/vet tech idea is marvelous so you can get the rest you need to feel better yourself. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: These will hopefully help too. :)
 
Could you order in some food to get a full meal into you?
Asked my trusty cabbies to get a kebab for me tonight. There are two kebab joints in town. One's really, really good; the other one's the pits. Guess which one he went to? Yep. :banghead: Still, it's eaten. I will tell him the street name as well as the shop name next time. :rolleyes:

Wishing you and all your furbabies a happy Valentine's Day, too, Linda. :bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
I'm loving the updates from the last couple of days, Mogs. It's so wonderful to hear that Saoirse is doing better - and that you can now take some time to rest yourself too. I think it's quite possible that Saoirse is finding eating a little uncomfortable at the moment - there's certain to be bruising to the whole side of her face from the operation, so it's not really surprising that she's still a little cranky after she has to use that side of her mouth to eat. But she's clearly hungry enough to take the discomfort and eat anyway which is great to hear.

I'm glad to hear that your cabbies are taking care of you too - even if they did pick the wrong shop to go to. You need someone to do some of the running around for you, so I'm really glad you have them to call on for help. :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug:
 
Sending poopy vines for sweet Saoirse ...
Poopy vines successful! Thank you, Sharon. :)

The last time Saoirse had general anaesthesia it constipated her quite badly. Also, she normally has a little pumpkin added to her food but she hasn't had any since the beginning of last week. She had bad diarrhoea from the different meds just before she went into the hospital and as at time of today's morning update she hadn't had a bowel motion since. Granted, she didn't eat very much after the op and after the anaesthesia I expected things to be slow but I have been really worried. She has been through so much and I really didn't want to see her needing an enema on top of everything else.

Saoirse tried to go this afternoon and all she could manage to pass were a few diamond-hard raisins. One got stuck and I had to help her clear it. (Mama wasn't exactly flavour of the month for that. :( ) However, I'm both pleased and very relieved to say she's just passed a proper poop fairly easily. Woot! :D

Managed to get a dose of ondansetron into Saoirse's pre-insulin meal this evening, too.

Saoirse's BG tonight was 13.9/250 (Alphatrak - ack! :( ) and blood ketones were 0.3 (human meter). I summoned up the courage and gave her a 'fat zero' drop of insulin. With the exception of the time I had to dose her blind on our old vet's say so I've never been so nervous about giving Saoirse her insulin. It's so difficult when one is in the position where one cannot monitor and also cannot leave food available. Granted I can set an alarm but with the sleep disorder and the additional exhaustion due to recent events it's not likely to wake me. It's doubly tough because at the moment I can't guarantee a single 12-hour period where I won't pass out. :(

I must away: there's a bottom that needs cleaning.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
I'm glad to hear that your cabbies are taking care of you
The owner of the firm has been taking Saoirse to her vet appointments for some time (plus the run back from the veterinary school last year). He collects her prescriptions from the vets and drops them in to me, too. He knows about my anxiety disorders and how very difficult it is for me with the agoraphobia. He always tries to reassure me and to calm me down me on the rare occasions I leave the house. When he brought us up to the hospital last week he said to me that they would do anything they could to help us. And, boy, didn't he deliver! I appreciate both himself and his staff so much. :)


Mogs
.
 
The owner of the firm has been taking Saoirse to her vet appointments for some time (plus the run back from the veterinary school last year). He collects her prescriptions from the vets and drops them in to me, too. He knows about my anxiety disorders and how very difficult it is for me with the agoraphobia. He always tries to reassure me and to calm me down me on the rare occasions I leave the house. When he brought us up to the hospital last week he said to me that they would do anything they could to help us. And, boy, didn't he deliver! I appreciate both himself and his staff so much. :)


Mogs
.
It's wonderful to find there are still people like that around, even if they are few and far betweensddddddddp
;
EDIT: Lol, that was Candy walking on my keyboard, sorry!
 
... even if they are few and far betweensddddddddp
;
EDIT: Lol, that was Candy walking on my keyboard, sorry!

I'd buy and sell her, Lucy. After Saoirse finally ate a meal for me the evening before last and I was finally able to try to sleep I started to post an update before putting my head down. When I woke up 12 hours later I was greeted by a very large screenload of Ks ...

Yep. The Mogster passed out on the keyboard again. :oops::oops::oops: (No Mars Bar this time.)


Mogs
.
 
PS:

PMPS - 13.9 (Alphatrak) - Dose: 'Fat Zero'
PM+6.25 - 8.4

@Squalliesmom -

FYI, this is a prime example of what drives my conservatism when it comes to my dosing decisions for Saoirse.

Saoirse hasn't had any insulin since 2am Thursday morning so there's nothing in the Lantus depot. This is significant lowering just on a droplet of insulin. I based the dose decision on Saoirse's BG unexpectedly dropping to 4.6 on Wednesday morning - in the hospital and prior to her op (high stress situation) - after a dose of 0.25IU Lantus*; and also on the fact that, even with the soreness after the op, she is feeling better now and at home.


Mogs


* Note: Dosing accuracy achieved by veterinary professional administering the injection is an unknown quantity.
.
 
PS:

PMPS - 13.9 (Alphatrak) - Dose: 'Fat Zero'
PM+6.25 - 8.4

@Squalliesmom -

FYI, this is a prime example of what drives my conservatism when it comes to my dosing decisions for Saoirse.

Saoirse hasn't had any insulin since 2am Thursday morning so there's nothing in the Lantus depot. This is significant lowering just on a droplet of insulin. I based the dose decision on Saoirse's BG unexpectedly dropping to 4.6 on Wednesday morning - in the hospital and prior to her op (high stress situation) - after a dose of 0.25IU Lantus*; and also on the fact that, even with the soreness after the op, she is feeling better now and at home.


Mogs


* Note: Dosing accuracy achieved by veterinary professional administering the injection is an unknown quantity.
.
I'm with you, Mogs, I will always err on the side of caution! (I'll be checking Squallie again in about 15 minutes to see where his reduced dose is taking him tonight.)
 
*Holds out spitoon* KA-PING! Nice shot, Mogs. ;) Look at it this way...no mars bars this week, but at least you don't have to pick nougat out of your ear.

Now you really know Saoirse is on the mend.:D A TUMMY RUB! WOOT! And she gets a clean bottom out of it, to boot! Now that is love, from one end to the other:bighug:I had a doberman pinscher who swallowed a sock. Yup, a whole sock. It passed through, too..dunno what the odds on that were. But I noticed something emerging from Chopper's nether end, and pulled. He whooped, and I found out where my missing sock was. SURPRISE! :facepalm: I made sure all socks were picked up off the floor pronto after that. Yup, Saoirse is probably sore when she eats..all those muscles are so close to cheek and jowels. But she sounds like she's accelerating in healing. Each day she should feel better expotentially. But I know you'll be relieved when she can get her usual dose of insulin.

I'm glad to hear you are finally getting some shut-eye, too Mogs. Sleep will heal you both. Good to know that the drop of Lantus helped Saoirse, too. Poor baby..she's a real trooper.

That taxicab company owner is a living doll. I agree with Lucy. People like that are in short supply, these days. :woot: Oops! Happy belated Valentine's day, everyone!:kiss::bighug::bighug:
 
Such wonderful news to read. Now you can start to take care of you. I am so happy for you both. Sending hugs and belly rubs.
 
Update: Monday 21:00 GMT
----------------------------------

Hi people!

Thank you for checking in on us; it always gives me such a boost to read your messages. I appreciate you all so very much.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

I had hoped to start a new thread today but I'm awful tired so I'll keep today's update here and start a new condo on the morrow.

I'm relieved that Saoirse is getting a little insulin again but I can't get back to BID dosing yet; I'm just not in a fit state to monitor her reliably. That said, even with the tiny dose it's helping to get her into better numbers for part of the day and her ketone levels are OK (anti-jinx, anti-jinx). I'm glad to see her moving a good bit below renal threshold.

+14 after previous Lantus dose of 'fat zero':

AMPS - 11.9 (Alphatrak) - Dose: Midline Zero Lantus.
AM+6.75 - 8.0
Ketones: 0.4mmol/L (human meter)

I did get some sleep last night but I'm still wiped out. I've spent most of the day resting. No choice really: standing up is a struggle. I'm skipping insulin tonight in the hope that what sleep I may get might be a bit more restorative if my subconscious mind isn't worrying about Saoirse's BG levels.

Saoirse's appetite is holding well (anti-jinx, anti-jinx). She gets all excited when her grub is due - and she is 'speaking' to me again! When I see her little face eagerly anticipating her next meal my heart is so joyful it does somersaults. :cat: Saoirse had her ondansetron this morning mixed in with her food. So far today she has eaten two meals of just under a pouchful each. :) I will set the alarm and feed her again during the night. The minced food, small plate and spatula assistance is working well for us; Saoirse is able to eat more tidily now. It's a relief to be able to keep the food away from her healing wound. She gives out to me afterwards, though, when I gently wipe her mouth to keep her face clean. I don't mind. :)

One of our vets did a house call again today to give Saoirse her antibiotic injection and she says that Saoirse's healing is progressing well. (Thank you for all the prayers and vines!) I am so pleased that they could do the home visits: I am grateful that I could spare Saoirse the vet stress. I donated the second ketone meter to the vets so they might use it in their diabetes clinics or perhaps loan it out to caregivers who may be finding it difficult to monitor urine ketones. I hope it will be a help to other kitties (and maybe droolers, too).

Apart from the feeding and some fuss sessions (and another tummy rub!) Saoirse has been sleeping really comfortably for much of the day. And ...


:cat: :cat: :cat: :cat: Saoirse's fur is growing back! :cat: :cat: :cat: :cat:


I'm thrilled for her! I love her so. :)

My friendly neighbourhood cabbie got me another kebab tonight - from the right shop this time; much nicer! I'm going to try to get some more sleep now. Hoping that you and all your furbabies are having a grand day.

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:



Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
So glad for the update and it sounds like things are progressing nicely for Saoirse. Sure hope you feel better really soon and I am glad that you taking care of yourself by not worrying about Saoirse through the night. That is a good call. Beans have to take care of themselves too. ;)

You know, the vet who did Bubba's enucleation did not shave his fur. All the photos I saw online prior showed the animal shaved. I was quite surprised when I went to pick him up.

Sending lots of healing vines from across the pond. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Bobby,

Very good to hear from you. I hope that you and Pirate Bubba are doing well today. :) :bighug:

You know, the vet who did Bubba's enucleation did not shave his fur.

Saoirse's opthalmologist said to me that it may not be necessary to shave the area but she prefers to do so as an extra safety precaution.

Thank you for the continued healing vines. The redness has gone down a little around the wound but I think Saoirse's still sore when she eats. She has a way to go yet. How long did you keep Bubba's Cone of Shame in place?


Mogs
.
 
Hi Bobby,

Very good to hear from you. I hope that you and Pirate Bubba are doing well today. :) :bighug:



Saoirse's opthalmologist said to me that it may not be necessary to shave the area but she prefers to do so as an extra safety precaution.

Thank you for the continued healing vines. The redness has gone down a little around the wound but I think Saoirse's still sore when she eats. She has a way to go yet. How long did you keep Bubba's Cone of Shame in place?


Mogs
.
The cone stayed pretty secure. The only issue I had was that he was a very bad "driver" with it on, bumping into everything. At first I took it off because he was ramming into the walls trying to get it off but a friend insisted that I was playing Russian Roulette with him by not making him wear it and I put it back on. We had a few days where he was aggravated by it and then he just settled it. Is Saoirse getting hers off?
 
Saoirse's being really good with her collar. It's one like this:

41KbXBzlVcL.jpg


I think the cushioning helps a lot. Normally Saoirse is like that Simon's Cat cartoon you posted for me earlier and perpetually trying to reverse out of the collar. The collar's snug enough to stay in place without needing to secure it on a collar and it's pretty much see-through. I think that could be why it's not making Saoirse as anxious as other collars have in the past. The snap fastenings make it much easier for her when I'm taking it off and putting it back on again.

I'm keeping Saoirse in her resting cage and, unusually for her, she's quite content being in there at the moment. She can see me all the time (except when I have to leave the room for bits and pieces. I'm glad she's getting a good rest and that her temporary confinement isn't causing her to fret. I hope her new playpen comes soon. We've both got a lot to learn and I want to know she will be safe any time I'm sleeping. The playpen will give her room for manouevre and me peace of mind. Well, that's the plan.


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Saoirse's being really good with her collar. It's one like this:

41KbXBzlVcL.jpg


I think the cushioning helps a lot. Normally Saoirse is like that Simon's Cat cartoon you posted for me earlier and perpetually trying to reverse out of the collar. The collar's snug enough to stay in place without needing to secure it on a collar and it's pretty much see-through. I think that could be why it's not making Saoirse as anxious as other collars have in the past. The snap fastenings make it much easier for her when I'm taking it off and putting it back on again.

I'm keeping Saoirse in her resting cage at the moment and, unusually for her, she's quite content being in there at the moment. She can see me all the time (except when I have to leave the room for bits and pieces. I'm glad she's getting a good rest and that her temporary confinement isn't causing her to fret. I hope her new playpen comes soon. We've both got a lot to learn and I want to know she will be safe any time I'm sleeping. The playpen will give her room for manouevre and me peace of mind. Well, that's the plan.


Mogs
.
That looks like Bubba' cone. So glad she is being good with it. The play pen sounds like a good plan!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top