Samwise AMPS & PMPS 3/14

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
AMPS 477 Shot 2.5U

+6 49 DH gave one HC treat though I said not to. ohmygod_smile

PMPS 352 2.2U No idea why I settled on that. I wanted to see if the lower dose would make for a lower AMPS. Probably won't though.
 
Bouncing from yesterday's lovely numbers. Are you sure feeding the potential drop before +6? Feeding 2-4 hours after that morning shot could slow that drop. Or with Sam, maybe not.....
 
Sammy eats about an hour before the shot and right after. The DH says he usually feeds him once or twice before I get home for lunch. Maybe the bounce is from the high carb treats after the +6? Perhaps we will stop giving them and see what happens.

Yes, with Sam it could be anything. He is an enigma wrapped in a riddle! :lol:
 
Just to check, you do test before feeding, right?

If you get those greens at +6, you can try just lo carb food first, then in 15 minutes to be sure he is coming up, before you bring out the higher carb stuff. If he is super sensitive to carbs, that could be part of the bounce.
 
Hmmm, he is getting HC treats? I would definitely ditch those and stick with LC. I have seen people post lists of LC treats on Health if you need ideas. Even a couple bites of something higher carb can drive them from blues up to pinks even with insulin onboard. It is amazing to see when you see it in the #s. If he is getting HC, I would put my 2c on that being part of the high #s.

Also I'm wondering about the eating 1 hr before shot time, maybe that is skewing the #s & your PSs are food spikes? If there's a way to shift that timing it would be interesting to see if the PSs come down.
 
I'd like to try stopping the preshot eats. I don't want to change my shot times though. I suppose I could make him wait but man, he whines for food the instant I get up since they all get fed then.
 
We use baked chicken treats we make instead of purchased treats. Basically we just buy boneless skinless chicken when it’s on sale. I put it in a baking dish and cover with foil and bake in the oven. When it’s cool, we cube it in 1/4” chunks and freeze just a bit (maybe 15 mins-half hour) on a cookie sheet. Then, we bag them, this way they don’t stick together.

It sounds like a lot of work but really it’s not bad since we do a big tray on a free weekend and they last a long time.
We leave the big bag in the freezer and just take a day or two’s worth out of the freezer at a time. Our dudes love it and it’s low carb.
Just a thought....
 
Thanks for sharing Donna - sounds like a good recipe and easy enough to make.

I never cook for myself anymore, but would do anything for my furkids!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top