Samwise ambg 73 +2 54 +5 112 +10 426 PMPS 464

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
AMPS 73 NO SHOT
+2 54 I am confused. No shot and he is still dropping. confused_cat DH did the last test, said he got two errors before he could get a test. Now I am really worried but can't go home to many people are out at work. DH doesn't want to try again, he was shaking really badly.

PMPS 464 .7 or as near as I could eyeball it. Could be a .6u.

+2 424

1/13 AMPS 237 .7U Sam is at a pretty good number for yesterdays high end.

+5 178
PMBG 80 No shot
+1 107 .5U He's climbing but i will stay up to monitor. +2 221
1/14 amps 203 shot .6/7 U PMPS 229 .6U
1/15 AMPS 252 .6U
 
Re: Samwise amps 73 +2 54

Sorry - just saw this. If he didn't get a shot then he was probably not going to drop much further. 54 is perfectly safe, but you don't want to give insulin on it or course. If you left food down for him, I'm sure he was ok - assuming last night's shot was the regular dose and not a huge overdose. It happens with two care givers who both give shots... that is why notes, log sheets, etc are safer when two are doing testing and shots.

I tried to check the SS yesterday for recent numbers but it wasn't up to date - I'll check again in a second.

This very low and still dropping PS number (thank God you tested and did NOT shoot) is an example of that sudden low from too much insulin. No doubt he will be high tonight from this - a rebound bounce. I really wish you would reduce his dose. I know you said his numbers weren't better on less insulin, but you may not have reduced enough. I had to get down to .3u before Beau's numbers started to improve. It can be really hard to tell the difference between too little and too much insulin. They both can cause high numbers, but when you see these drops to very low numbers it has to be too much insulin. As the dose is lowered the drops to low numbers stop, but there can still be too much insulin. You won't see improvement in overall numbers until very near the right dose. But mid range, flat numbers will tell you that you are getting close.
 
Re: Samwise ambg 73 +2 54 +5 112 +10 426

Mmmm....I will lower his dose tonight since I know he is going to bounce for a couple of cycles. It's hard to not want to up the dose instead of dropping it when he goes so high. I can tell he feels like crap now, he's cranky, but at least is still a good boy when I do a test. I'll test pre-shot then try to get a test before bed.
 
Re: Samwise ambg 73 +2 54 +5 112 +10 426

Lowering the dose is the hardest thing to comprehend when everything else in life we are taught about says more of something makes whatever the problem is better.

You could also have a partially working pancreas going on here. That makes lowering the dose even more important because the two will work against each other. The insulin just needs to help the pancreas out, it doesn't need to replace its function.

Samwise is doing very well though. And so are you guys. I felt so bad when I read your hubby was shaking. I'm really proud of him for doing the testing and keeping Samwise safe today! I hope you are too. :-D

Oh the reason he feels bad is not because of the high BG, it's because of the climb from the low. High BGs in and of themselves, unless they are ongoing don't necessarily make them feel bad, but bouncing several hundred points in a day will.
 
Re: Samwise ambg 73 +2 54 +5 112 +10 426

Yeah, poor Sammy. I did give him a lower dose about a .7 by my eyeball. Which isn't to great cuz of the bifocals. :sad:
 
That's better - just expect it to take up to another 36 hrs to clear the higher numbers - maybe longer. Be patient.

I have progressive glasses (trifocals). I have to take them off to draw the dose. And I hold the syringe up with light behind it (from under cabinet lights). Someone else here has one of those lighted magnifiers - like a table light with a bendable neck. Maybe one of those tricks will help you?
 
I usually hold the syringe up to the refridgerator it's light colored with the light behind me too. It works pretty good.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top