? safe #? 1/30 Gobbles PMPS HI/571 +3~392 +9~221 +11~382

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/29 Gobbles PS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78...+4.5~87 +5.5~9

Recap:

AMPS ~ 119 (1.75u shot 2.5 hours late) ate 1/2 can FF LC after shot
+1 ~ 112 ate a couple nibs FF LC
+2 ~ 107 had a miniscule pinch of american cheese (no carbs) w/test
+3 ~ 78 ate 1 spoonful FF LC
+3.5 67
+4 67 ate 1 spoonful FF 16%
+4.5 87
+5.5 96

Can someone please b*tch slap mefor being such a neurotic basket case (again)...
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles PS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78...+4.5~87 +5.5~9

Awesome, he's holding his own! Great day for Gobbles.

Can someone please b*tch slap mefor being such a neurotic basket case (again)...

Only because you asked so nicely....



:mrgreen:
Carl
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles PS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78...+4.5~87 +5.5~9

that's hilarious--didn't know there was a smiley for b*tch slapping haha_smiley
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles PS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78...+4.5~87 +5.5~9

smileyjungle.com

There's an icon for just about everything!



Carl
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles PS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78...+4.5~87 +5.5~9

LOL. Looks like he might be going back up again like he did on the 24th. I think Tiggy is too now. Get ready for bouncy boys!
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles PS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78...+4.5~87 +5.5~9

Wendy&Tiggy said:
LOL. Looks like he might be going back up again like he did on the 24th. I think Tiggy is too now. Get ready for bouncy boys!
brats :dizcat
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles PS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78...+4.5~87 +5.5~9

Recap:

AMPS ~ 119 (1.75u shot 2.5 hours late) ate 1/2 can FF LC after shot
+1 ~ 112 ate a couple nibs FF LC
+2 ~ 107 had a miniscule pinch of american cheese (no carbs) w/test
+3 ~ 78 ate 1 spoonful FF LC
+3.5 67
+4 67 ate 1 spoonful FF 16%
+4.5 87
+5.5 96
+6.5 (no test) ate 1/3 can FF LC
 
Re: TEST WHEN? Gobbles PS 119 +1~112...+3~78...+4.5~87 +5.5~

without being excessive (Gobby's had lots of pokes & tests today) when should I test again? any possibility of a (somewhat) early shot? Keep in mind, he was shot late 2.5 hours due to low numbers @10:00 AM EST--I didn (please see SS if you have a minute) as I didn't feel confident before that time). I want to be safe and would shoot earlier if I can so I can start moving him back to regular shot time & be able to stay up for some tests later....PM will be cycle 3 which is of a dose increase...? 30 minutes earlier OK since "cycle" began late?
 
Re: ok to shoot a 1/2 hour early ???

We're going to have to wait and see what his +11.5 looks like. If you want to get a +10.5, that would help in the decision.
 
Re: ok to shoot a 1/2 hour early ???

Dyana said:
We're going to have to wait and see what his +11.5 looks like. If you want to get a +10.5, that would help in the decision.
Thank you, Dyana. I will certainly get a +10.5 (which will be at 8:30 PM est) and post it as soon as I put it on his SS.
 
Re: ok to shoot a 1/2 hour early ???

Okay, I promise to stay up until 8:30pm to check on you, and then it's my ni~ni time.
Can you please change the Subject Line in your first post to say the date, your cat's name, and his most current numbers,
and then you can add any questions like "shoot early?" or add the ? icon.
 
Re: ok to shoot a 1/2 hour early ???

Kat,

I'm watching too....in case Dyana dozes off! :mrgreen:

Carl
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78...+4.5~87 +5.5

Obvious question, but did you double check?

Carl
 
Re: SHOOT EARLY??? 1/29 Gobbles PM 537 or 429

I would get a +11. If that's a 100 point drop, I wouldn't necessarily recommend you're shooting a dropping number if numbers continue to drop at that speed.
 
Re: SHOOT EARLY??? 1/29 Gobbles PM 537 or 429

Sienne and Gabby said:
I would get a +11. If that's a 100 point drop, I wouldn't necessarily recommend you're shooting a dropping number if numbers continue to drop at that speed.
I got 537 and then 429 like 3 minutes later.... I'm not following what you mean
 
Re: SHOOT EARLY??? 1/29 Gobbles PM 537 or 429

We call that the Relion Prime. :oops:

I suspect shooting 30 min early might work in this case.
 
Re: SHOOT EARLY??? 1/29 Gobbles PM 537 or 429

The question is what's correct? Over a 100 point difference in that short a time span doesn't sound reliable. That's why I'm suggesting testing at +11.

Do you want to shoot an hour early? If so, the +11 is important. If you want to shoot 30 min. early, that's a no brainer -- go ahead and shoot 30 min. early. Usually, 30 min. or less has a minimal effect on numbers.
 
Re: SHOOT EARLY??? 1/29 Gobbles PM 537 or 429

Sienne and Gabby said:
The question is what's correct? Over a 100 point difference in that short a time span doesn't sound reliable. That's why I'm suggesting testing at +11.

Do you want to shoot an hour early? If so, the +11 is important. If you want to shoot 30 min. early, that's a no brainer -- go ahead and shoot 30 min. early. Usually, 30 min. or less has a minimal effect on numbers.
Gotcha. I will get the +11. Could the 537/429 have something to do with meter variance? Am I looking to see if he has a big drop at +11?
 
Re: SHOOT EARLY??? 1/29 Gobbles PM 537 or 429

No, I think what you're hoping for is a number that looks close to one of your +10.5 readings, then you'll have a higher degree of confidence that he's way up there, and then it would be okay to shoot. I think.

Carl
 
Re: SHOOT EARLY??? 1/29 Gobbles PM 537 or 429

Carl & Bob said:
No, I think what you're hoping for is a number that looks close to one of your +10.5 readings, then you'll have a higher degree of confidence that he's way up there, and then it would be okay to shoot. I think.

Carl
how about this...I get a +11.25 and if he's close to one of the +10.5 readings, then i will shoot?
 
Re: SHOOT EARLY??? 1/29 Gobbles PM 537 or 429

Sure. But post the number if you aren't quite positive?

Carl
 
Re: SHOOT EARLY??? 1/29 Gobbles PM 537 or 429

Gee, Gobbles, bounce much? I think that took the guesswork out of the equation...

Carl
 
Re: SHOOT EARLY??? 1/29 Gobbles PM 537 or 429

He's always up to shenanigans...even when not feeling well :) I assume now a +2 would be appropriate????
 
Re: SHOOT EARLY??? 1/29 Gobbles PM 537 or 429

Well, he doesn't show a habit of clearing bounces quickly, but just when you think you know what's coming, they remember that they're cats! A +3 if you're going to be up. Otherwise an "on the way to bed" test?

Carl
 
Re: SHOOT EARLY??? 1/29 Gobbles PM 537 or 429

Carl & Bob said:
Well, he doesn't show a habit of clearing bounces quickly, but just when you think you know what's coming, they remember that they're cats! A +3 if you're going to be up. Otherwise an "on the way to bed" test?

Carl
Gosh he'll be ecstatic that he doesn't get tortured for 2.5 hours from now; a cake-walk compared to this morning :) Then I will still be up to do a +4, if need be. Or can get up at +10, +11...
 
Re: SHOOT EARLY??? 1/29 Gobbles PM 537 or 429

I'll still be up at +3 time so I'll check in by then.

Carl
 
Re: SHOOT EARLY??? 1/29 Gobbles PM 537 or 429

Kat --

I'm going to try to put today's activity in perspective so you have the big picture. First, shooting 30 min. early is not an issue. Unless the numbers are in the low 50s, you can shoot 30 min. early any time. It's shooting an hour or more early where you have to have an eye to the numbers.

This morning: Delaying Gobbles' shot was not really necessary. Most of us will shoot numbers of 50 and above. You are home and you test. You have the necessary supplies handy. The slogan in these parts is, "Shoot low to stay low." In all likelihood, you would have seen pretty much the same flat, green cycle. What you need to keep in mind with shooting low numbers is that first, you're feeding at shot time. Numbers will rise due to food. You also have the influence of the previous shot wearing off -- numbers will rise. Finally, you have an hour or two before Lantus onset starts -- numbers will be rising. If you stall, you are losing of overlap between the cycles and you deplete the depot. While the effect on the depot may not be immediate, it is in part contributing to the high numbers tonight. Remember, a delayed shot acts like a dose reduction. Tonight's highs are the result of the delayed shot and a bounce -- the proverbial double whammy.

The temptation is to think that if numbers can drop from 300 to the 50s, that your cat will be in the basement if you shoot low. While numbers can certainly drop if you shoot low, more often you end up with a "flat" curve which is typical of Lantus. I would also be remiss if I didn't point out that when you shoot low, you monitor. We encourage you to get a +1 and a +2 test to start. As long as you have a glucometer, strips, and high carb food, you are in control of the cycle.

With a big bounce like tonight, if you want to get back on schedule, one way to accomplish this is to shoot early. This was my reason for asking you to get a +11. I was assuming you were going to shoot at +11 as a way of both making up for the stall this morning and to help offset the high numbers. An early shot functions like a dose increase. In fact, it would have been possible to have shot even 2 hours early. This is a more advanced technique and I would not suggest doing this without checking in with someone more experienced first. Just like with shooting low, this is safe to do if you are prepared and confident in your ability to steer the curve.

You do need to curb your anxiety level. Like I said earlier, cats are very sensitive to their caregiver's emotions. The more you exude a sense of calm and confidence, the easier this will all be for Gobbles.
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles PMPS HI/571

I couldn't agree more with Sienne's summary.

For brand new members, we like to stall when they have a lower PS than they have shot before because they do not generally have much data. But once the CG has data, it's best to shoot on time as long as long as kitty is above 50, you have supplies, and you will be there to monitor. Stalling is primarily for the CG, not the cat.

It's fine if you need help shooting a low number but you are building enough data that you can look back and see what he did, what you did, how he reacted, etc.
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles PMPS HI/571 +3~392

Sleep well, Kat.
You too Gobbles!

Carl
 
Re: 1/30 Gobbles PMPS HI/571 +3~392 +9~221

Did a +8.75 test (not +9 as in subject line) and got +221. Then fed Gobbles (famished) a can of FF LC. (Had to change date in the title for this subject--I had 1/29 when in fact yesterday was 1/30, dah)
 
Re: 1/30 Gobbles PMPS HI/571 +3~392 +9~221

Thank you for your insight; great perspective and "pulls" things together. Obviously I cherish Gobbles; I can see from today (and a few days in the past when I withheld his shot) that though I thought I was protecting him (from hypo) what I did was hinder him towards recovery. He's at +221 @8.75 so it will be interesting to see what his # is at +11. He (and the civvies) ate at 6:15 then I put the food up.

Now, I have to be prepared what is his lowest shoot number....and will mark it on his SS for now...what would be, considered on Gobbles history, a safe shoot number? 80? 100?
 
Re: ? safe #? 1/30 Gobbles PMPS HI/571 +3~392 +9~221

Morning Kat ~O)

I can't advise, but I see you plan to get a +11, hopefully when you post that the trend
will be clearer.... You might be looking at a PS like yesterday's. ohmygod_smile Looks like
Gobbles sure made fast work of that bounce....
 
Re: ? safe #? 1/30 Gobbles PMPS HI/571 +3~392 +9~221 +11~38

+11 = 382

shoot a little earlier (last night he was moved up 45 minutes due to hi number and am stalling)? or wait to see what PMPS is?
 
Re: ? safe #? 1/30 Gobbles PMPS HI/571 +3~392 +9~221

Bruce & Simon said:
Morning Kat ~O)

I can't advise, but I see you plan to get a +11, hopefully when you post that the trend
will be clearer.... You might be looking at a PS like yesterday's. ohmygod_smile Looks like
Gobbles sure made fast work of that bounce....
+11 = 382 !!!
 
Re: ? safe #? 1/30 Gobbles PMPS HI/571 +3~392 +9~221 +11~38

do you still have time to make up in order to get back on schedule?

if you do, are prepared to monitor closely today, and have the tools to steer the curve if necessary... i would go ahead and shoot now.

if you shoot an hour early this morning, do NOT shoot early tonight. generally speaking, you want to avoid shooting 2 early shots back-to-back.


open up a new thread if 382 @+11 becomes his AMPS.
 
Re: ? safe #? 1/30 Gobbles PMPS HI/571 +3~392 +9~221 +11~38

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'm not sure what your question is.
ITwo questions: based on Gobby's SS/history, approximately what would be a safe shoot number? And can I shoot early if +11 high (which it is) though I see Jill has answered that question :)
 
Re: ? safe #? 1/30 Gobbles PMPS HI/571 +3~392 +9~221 +11~38

Jill & Alex said:
do you still have time to make up in order to get back on schedule?

if you do, are prepared to monitor closely today, and have the tools to steer the curve if necessary... i would go ahead and shoot now.

if you shoot an hour early this morning, do NOT shoot early tonight. generally speaking, you want to avoid shooting 2 early shots back-to-back.


open up a new thread if 382 @+11 becomes his AMPS.
I still do have time to make up, however, it can be done in small increments as I am getting used to 6 hours of sleep each night (used to be a "sleeper" and would sleep about 9 hours). I have to get to the store today sometime--I'm about out of strips and it's starting to snow (with more on the way!) so I wouldn't be home all day, to keep a tight reign on his BG's. I would like to avoid shooting 2 shots early, back to back. I'll test him again at +12 and if he isn't real low, I'll shoot.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top