? safe #? 1/30 Gobbles PMPS HI/571 +3~392 +9~221 +11~382

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: LOW HELP 1/29 PMPS 419 +4.5 409 +4.5 227 +11 59

Got them printed out. I will test at +11.5 If he reads lower than 50 should I feed him a little HC???
 
Re: LOW HELP 1/29 PMPS 419 +4.5 409 +4.5 227 +11 59

That depends. If he's just at 49 or so, then a little LC hopefully will get him up. If he's well down into the lower 40s, then try a teaspoon of HC mixed in with a bit of LC. You only want to feed him a little bit.

It looks like he's coming down from a bounce.

Are you going to be home to monitor and do you have supplies?
And if you have to stall, is your shot schedule flexable enough to handle shooting later for awhile until you can slowly adjust it back to where you want it?
 
Re: LOW HELP 1/29 PMPS 419 +4.5 409 +4.5 227 +11 59

Dyana said:
That depends. If he's just at 49 or so, then a little LC hopefully will get him up. If he's well down into the lower 40s, then try a teaspoon of HC mixed in with a bit of LC. You only want to feed him a little bit.

It looks like he's coming down from a bounce.

Are you going to be home to monitor and do you have supplies?
And if you have to stall, is your shot schedule flexable enough to handle shooting later for awhile until you can slowly adjust it back to where you want it?
He's at 56 now. I do have supplies and will be home and can move his shot time, as needed.
 
Re: LOW HELP 1/29 Gobbles +11 59 +11.5 56 +12 50

recap:

PMPS 419
+2 409
+4.5 227
+11 59
+11.5 56
+12 50 - fed 1 heaping T. of FF LC (chunky chicken)
 
Re: LOW HELP 1/29 Gobbles +11 59 +11.5 56 +12 50

Test again, when??? (i did feed him @7:30 - 1 heaping T of FF LC) Feed again if low?
 
Re: LOW HELP 1/29 Gobbles +11 59 +11.5 56 +12 50

I only have a second, literally. What #are you comfortable shooting? Wait for that number then shoot, or you can skip. If you're planning to shoot, then I wouldn't feed again unless he drops well into the 40s . From his patterns, you know he probably won't start to rise until about +13. Gotta go...
 
Re: LOW HELP 1/29 Gobbles +11 59 +11.5 56 +12 50

Libby and Lucy said:
I only have a second, literally. What #are you comfortable shooting? Wait for that number then shoot, or you can skip. If you're planning to shoot, then I wouldn't feed again unless he drops well into the 40s . From his patterns, you know he probably won't start to rise until about +13. Gotta go...
K. fed @7:30. test again @+13?
 
Re: LOW Gobbles +11 59 +11.5 56 +12 50 +12.75 72

recap:

PMPS 419
+2 409
+4.5 227
+11 59
+11.5 56
+12 50 (fed 1 heaping T. FF LC)
+12.75 72
 
Re: LOW Gobbles +11 59 +11.5 56 +12 50 +12.75 72 +13 58

recap:

PMPS 419
+2 409
+4.5 227
+11 59
+11.5 56
+12 50 (fed 1 heaping T. FF LC)
+12.75 72
+13 58 (fed 2 T. FF LC)
 
Re: HELP Gobbles +11 59 +11.5 56 +12 50 +12.75 72 +13 58

recap:

PMPS 419
+2 409
+4.5 227
+11 59
+11.5 56
+12 50 (fed 1 heaping T. FF LC)
+12.75 72
+13 58 (fed 2 T. FF LC)
+13.5 70
 
Re: HELP Gobbles +11.5 56 +12 50 +12.75 72 +13 58 +13.5 70

Kat...you can't feed while stalling. Once again, you have a food influenced number here and Dyana, Libby, Sienne, and I are all working today so you need to have a non food influenced number to shoot and I'm hoping another member can help you with the numbers. Read the two stickys linked in my signature block.

When you shoot, get a +1 and +2.
 
Re: SHOOT? LOWGobbles +11.5 56 +12 50 +12.75 72 +13 58 +13.

You should be OK to shoot. I would have preferred that you didn't feed the 58 -- it clouds the picture. Typically, you "feed the 40s" not the 50s.

I won't be around to lend you a hand. I'll be getting ready to go to work shortly. I would definitely suggest you get at the minimum a +1 and +2 test.
 
Re: SHOOT? LOWGobbles +11.5 56 +12 50 +12.75 72 +13 58 +13.

Shoot? He was 70 +13.5 (9:00 AM est), but I did feed him. At 9:30 AM est, he will be 2 hours late for his shot....
 
Re: SHOOT? LOWGobbles +11.5 56 +12 50 +12.75 72 +13 58 +13.

How about a reduced dose (1.75 U last night was given)??? Just 10 minutes ago had a big, splatter diarhhea
 
Re: SHOOT? diarrhea! LOWGobbles 56 +12.75 72 +13 58 +13.5 7

If you are stalling, don't shoot a reduced dose. Stalling has the effect of a reduced dose.
 
Re: SHOOT? diarrhea! LOWGobbles 56 +12.75 72 +13 58 +13.5 7

Hi guys, no advice here, just want to say these are some nice looking numbers! Have a great day!
 
Re: SHOOT? diarrhea! LOWGobbles 56 +12.75 72 +13 58 +13.5 7

Ok. Maybe the .25 increase I initiated yesterday morning was too much. He just had a big messy bout of diarrhea at +13.5. I am stalling because I fed him at +13 (one hour ago). What is a safe shoot number? As of right now, he is 2 hours late on his shot...
 
Re: SHOOT? diarrhea! LOWGobbles 56 +12.75 72 +13 58 +13.5 7

I was told (via a post) that at 150 or lower, to ask for help re: shooting. at +14.25 he is 112. Help please
 
Re: SHOOT? diarrhea! LOWGobbles 56, 58 +13.5 70 +14.25 112

Hi Kat,
I'm not expert at giving dosing advice, but I think that you can go ahead and shoot your regular dose. He ate that small of food almost 2 hours ago (in the future, no feeding while stalling unless the cat is in the 40s, OK?). Do not shoot a reduced dose. And be sure to get a +1 and +2. If you do not feel comfortable shooting, at this point I think you could skip the shot, feed him his usual breakfast, and resume tonight at your normal shot time. His bg will go up for sure, but that is better than having a day of nervous very low numbers. It is your call: if you will be around to test and have no problems re-adjusting his shot time over the next few cycles, go ahead and shoot. Otherwise, feed as normal and skip. (If Sienne, Marje, Dyana, Libby disagree with my "advice", follow what they advise, OK? I only jumped in because Marje mentioned that they all would be working today.)

I hope you will have a good day. Scritches to Gobbles,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: HELP! 1/29 Gobbles AMPS119 +1~112 +2~107(shot 2.5 hrs la

Help -- feed HC? wait? danger?

shot late +112
+.5 119
+1 112
+2 107
 
Re: HELP! 1/29 Gobbles AMPS119 +1~112 +2~107(shot 2.5 hrs la

If his +2 is 107 why would you feed HC? Gobbles is surfing.

You have got to relax. Your anxiety is going to effect your cat. These are lovely numbers. If you usually feed at +2, give Gobbles some LC. If you're really nervous, give him a teaspoon or two of LC. If he was in the 50s, then HC might be indicated. Maybe you should read this post over a few times.
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS119 +1~112 +2~107(shot 2.5 hrs late)

LOL...you think after I've read that, like 4 times already, that it would kick me. After I made my last post, I finally sat down and had a late breakfast....then it dawned on me--these are great numbers! Poor Gobby though, he's been poked at least 20 times in the past 6 hours. I guess I'm a tad (lol) flippin' because I raised his dose yesterday, .25, and didn't factor in wonkiness, ECID, etc... I am squeamish about shooting him the 1.75 U. PM (which will be 10 pm est) esp. since I have no idea how I'm going to stay up throughout the night...he's dug himself in, under the bed. I'm considering leaving him be until +4 though...he ate and grazed...only LC..I revisited his SS and so far, today is beginning to look like a repeat of 1/24. Question: Any chance I can shoot earlier than 10 PM (or is that pushing it)? Thanks for dealing with me. Really.
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS119 +1~112 +2~107(shot 2.5 hrs late)

Wow, how did I miss all the fun? Oh yeah, I was sleeping in :-)

You okay, Kat? A +4 sounds like a plan.

We'll worry about tonight's shot later. Plenty of time for that...
Carl
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS119 +1~112 +2~107(shot 2.5 hrs late)

Better now since I took my Vitamin X.
I had to pull my hair out, torture Gobble AND do the time-keeping (that's your & Bob's department Carl, right?)
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS119 +1~112 +2~107(shot 2.5 hrs late)

Lol, yes, Bob and I play "keepers of the clock" on a regular basis, as well as "recaps" but it looks like you handled our duties wonderfully!

Carl
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS119 +1~112 +2~107(shot 2.5 hrs late)

I'm sorry I had to leave you this morning. We just got a "new" boss (the owner!), and I have to be in top form at my job.

I think you should get another test at +3 or +3.5, as the onset of Lantus is at about +2 and the latest shot of insulin may be starting to take affect.

Again, I have to log off in 4 minutes.

If he goes really high, like into the mid 300s or higher, then you can probably shoot a littler earlier tonight. Why don't you post his +10 number, and someone will talk to you then about it?
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS119 +1~112 +2~107(shot 2.5 hrs late)

Dyana said:
I think you should get another test at +3 or +3.5, as the onset of Lantus is at about +2 and the latest shot of insulin may be starting to take affect.
Did a +3 test, 78;

Recap:

Shot late, AMPS 112

+.5 119
+1 112
+2 107
+3 78
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78

78 or 87?

Not that there's much difference. How about a tsp of LC to slow things down, and a test 30 minutes later?

Carl
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78

Carl & Bob said:
78 or 87?

Not that there's much difference. How about a tsp of LC to slow things down, and a test 30 minutes later?

Carl
78 & will see if he'll eat that
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78

Super!
I'll be around watching for updates.

Carl
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78 +3.5~67

Spoonful of med. carb? Or even HC since it's still early.
Carl
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78 +3.5~67

Carl & Bob said:
Spoonful of med. carb? Or even HC since it's still early.
Carl
Ran out and grabbed a can of FF seafood feast gravy grilled - 16% (would that be considered MC or LC) and he inhaled a spoonful
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78 +3.5~67

I think it the high end of MC, but that's fine. Test 20-30 minutes after feeding, as it probably takes that long for the food to show up on the meter. The nice thing would be to keep Gobbles surfing in the 70s, but we'll see what he thinks. ;-)

Carl
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78 +3.5~67 +4.5~8

That's great!

AMPS ~ 119 (1.75u shot 2.5 hours late)
+1 ~ 112
+2 ~ 107
+3 ~ 78
+3.5 ~ 67
+4.5 ~ 87

Can you fill in the "what he ate and when"?
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78 +3.5~67 +4.5~8

Carl, How's this:

AMPS ~ 119 (1.75u shot 2.5 hours late) ate 1/2 can FF LC after shot
+1 ~ 112 ate a couple nibs FF LC
+2 ~ 107 had a miniscule pinch of american cheese (no carbs) w/test
+3 ~ 78 ate 1 spoonful FF LC
+3.5 67
+4 67 ate 1 spoonful FF 16%
+4.5 87
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78 +3.5~67 +4.5~8

Perfect :smile:

I think you could hold off on more food and see if he's still around the same level in 30 minutes?

Carl
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78 +3.5~67 +4.5~8

Carl & Bob said:
Perfect :smile:

I think you could hold off on more food and see if he's still around the same level in 30 minutes?

Carl
I can hold off his food for a while--he oughta be about full! Can we go maybe 45 minutes? an hour? I have an errand to run....
 
Re: 1/29 Gobbles AMPS 119 +1~112 +2~107 +3~78 +3.5~67 +4.5~8

Yes, I think that's fine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top