Sad Update. Owen is gone ahead.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: How to handle the guilt/stress?

I agree on taking him to he e clinic for overnight monitoring. I would do the same as I don;t want my cats staying unsupervised.
 
Re: How to handle the guilt/stress?

Hillary & Maui said:
I agree on taking him to he e clinic for overnight monitoring. I would do the same as I don;t want my cats staying unsupervised.

Yep, as it turned out, I was very glad we took Owen to the e clinic last night. His BG did get a little bit low and they were able to address it right away. When I picked him up this morning, he was much, much brighter and although the clinic said they were not able to get him to eat... once we got him back to the regular vet's office this morning, he dove right into his food bowl for me. (Apparently he likes the FF Beef Feast again, LOL... guess I will be out shopping again today.) He also ate a bunch of the usually-forbidden crunchy snacks - you should have seen his eyes light up when he saw that bag. It was so funny. Even the vet laughed.

His labs are much better today. The vet told us that progress now will likely be slower, but hopefully will continue to improve steadily. If he eats well today and gets to the point where he can come off the IV fluids, he might actually get to come home tonight, which would be fantastic.

Please keep your fingers (paws!) crossed for us that the kidney issues continue improving and that the xray later today doesn't turn up a stone!
 
Re: How to handle the guilt/stress?

Good news on the update. Forbidden dry food, amazing if given a choice they will always go for that. But I guess it's the same for us too, if you had a choice of eating a salad or french fries - which would you choose.

Once his appetite comes back then you nix the dry. Although when my civvie stopped eating due to pancreatitis (yes civvies can get it too), and I had to give her dry, it took months to take it away from her again.

Let's hope the kidney issue is nothing to be concerned about and he can come home for good today.
 
Re: How to handle the guilt/stress?

Haha, it's true - the vet likened the crunchy snacks to potato chips too! And I guess that is accurate ;)

Owen ate a fair amount of the canned food as well, which made me happy. The tech at this vet's is really fantastic and brought him a "selection" of three different flavors so he could pick what he likes the best. Right now it seems to be the beef one, so I will certainly go out and stock up on that. It's one of the first flavors he went for years ago when we were originally transitioning him to canned food, so I guess that makes sense. Luckily he is not usually a picky eater but for right now, he can have whatever he wants as long as he is eating!

The vet did tell me he suspects Owen will need to go on insulin following this crisis. I guess I will be learning that whole routine soon. He doesn't seem to mind the shots he is getting now, so maybe it won't be too bad.
 
Re: How to handle the guilt/stress?

Phewwww,I am glad you took him to the emerg clinic overnight...and I am so glad he may be coming home today...Way to rally Owen :) Still crossing my pas and toes for you guys :) I don't know if you can get these treats where you are.They are called mighty lion and they are a grain free moist treat chicken or tuna...and Teddy loved them.Both cats would try and grab the bag out of my hand.And they are only 3.99 canadian a bag :) I am happy for you guys
 
Re: How to handle the guilt/stress?

Trix and((( Teddybear))) GA said:
Phewwww,I am glad you took him to the emerg clinic overnight...and I am so glad he may be coming home today...Way to rally Owen :) Still crossing my pas and toes for you guys :) I don't know if you can get these treats where you are.They are called mighty lion and they are a grain free moist treat chicken or tuna...and Teddy loved them.Both cats would try and grab the bag out of my hand.And they are only 3.99 canadian a bag :) I am happy for you guys

Thanks, Trixie, I am glad also!! To be honest I didn't like last night's vet quite as much as the first one - he read the notes wrong and almost repeated all of Owen's meds unnecessarily, plus he somehow doubled the quantity of everything on the estimate in error, so I was charged $700! Of course I got the overcharged amount sorted out this morning but it made me question his attention to detail, if that makes sense. Nevertheless, I do feel like Owen was better off there last night than being at the clinic alone, for sure. But I am REALLY hoping he can come home tonight!!!!!!!

We have a pretty nice farmer's market type store right around the corner, and they carry the Halo treats, which all three of my kitties really like. They are just dried chicken or salmon chunks, but I think they like that they are a little bit crunchy - they really missed their (high carb) kibble type snacks when we changed their diets years ago. They are unfortunately kind of $$$ but oh well. It doesn't look like the Mighty Lion treats are available anywhere near here :(

I am counting the minutes until I can call the vet to see how the numbers are this afternoon (and about how the xray went, which is kind of making me nervous to be honest.) Hopefully everything will go well and I will soon be posting an update saying my sweet boy is home :)
 
Re: How to handle the guilt/stress?

Hi Susan
I'm glad Owen is doing better. Any news on the xray? I hope they're clear. The guy who I use for ultrasounds is a veterinary radiologist and I really trust him. I hope your ultrasound specialist is wrong about being concerned. It was good that you went ahead and had an xray done. It's so much better to know what you're dealing with.

Sandy
 
Re: How to handle the guilt/stress?

Sounds like Owen is making progress! Keep us updated, and let us know when you are ready to talk about better managing his diabetes!

Wendy
 
Re: How to handle the guilt/stress?

Sandy and Brie said:
Hi Susan
I'm glad Owen is doing better. Any news on the xray? I hope they're clear. The guy who I use for ultrasounds is a veterinary radiologist and I really trust him. I hope your ultrasound specialist is wrong about being concerned. It was good that you went ahead and had an xray done. It's so much better to know what you're dealing with.

Sandy

Thank you! Owen did a lot better today, but his phosphorus is still higher than the vet wants, so he is stuck being supervised at the e-clinic again tonight. :( The xray gave us the very good news that there does not appear to be any kind of stone ... which made us very happy. The guy who did the ultrasound is also a veterinary radiologist, and I am sure he is very good but I am pleased that his concern turned out to be unjustified. Veterinary xrays are actually something I know a bit about, as I worked in radiology product development for many years, several of them focused on veterinary imaging. I got to look at the films myself this afternoon and evaluate them, so I feel confident that they were clear.

The net net is Owen is continuing to improve across the board, it's just kind of a slow and steady thing. We are really hoping with one more day on fluids, he will be able to come home tomorrow.
 
Re: How to handle the guilt/stress?

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Sounds like Owen is making progress! Keep us updated, and let us know when you are ready to talk about better managing his diabetes!

Wendy

Thanks, Wendy! He is definitely doing better, and hopefully will come home tomorrow.

Of course I am hoping that we will be able to get him back to the point where he can be well managed on diet again. If it turns out that that is not possible (and most likely he will be on insulin at least for a while) then I will certainly be asking for more advice here!
 
Re: How to handle the guilt/stress?

Trix and((( Teddybear))) GA said:
Hoping and praying he does well tonight and comes home to you tomorrow.....Sweet sweet Owen.I hope he has a good night.....

So your prayers worked and Owen had a very good night!

We had a different vet at the e-clinic last night and to be honest, I liked him even less than the guy from the night before. Owen had been eating better at the regular vet's all day so I asked them to make a note on his chart about that, and requested that they ask the e-clinic vet to try to encourage him to eat regular food before resorting to syringe feeding him. They gladly agreed to do that, and I heard the regular vet conveying those instructions to the e-clinic vet... but when we got to the e-clinic and met Vet #3 (apparently the clinic owner) he immediately said they would be putting him back on a drip and force feeding him all night. :-x

I took exception to that and said I would appreciate it if they would try to encourage him to eat on his own, gave him the food he had been eating (his fav beef flavor FF) and in return got a lecture on how important it was to get calories into him. Maybe it's because I was just very tired at that point, but I had had it with the guy's attitude. For $400 a night I felt he could make the damn effort to let my cat eat what he wants instead of just doing it the "more efficient" (and I am sure more profitable) way of force feeding him. Anyway, I had the regular vet call and discuss the issue AGAIN ... and it seems to have been effective. When we picked Owen up this morning, the (very nice) tech told me he had eaten regularly throughout the night and had "chowed down" on his breakfast this morning. He laughed and said, "Seven AM must be breakfast time, huh? Cause he was howling for his food!"

The associate vet at the regular clinic was pleased with the labs from overnight, and said they would put him back on the drip today to make sure that he continues to improve. Now that he is eating better, they hope that phosphorus level will come down, so he can come home. They are planning to let him have breaks during the day from the IV so he can run around and play a little, which I am sure he will enjoy... they have already figured out he likes to sit in the open windows, which he did quite a bit yesterday apparently. Please continue to think good thoughts that Owen can come home soon...!
 
Re: How to handle the guilt/stress?

Good news indeed. And good for you for standing up to the vet and telling him what you wanted. Sorry you had to go through that. But as we all know it is important for them to eat on their own and if he was already eating on his own, then the vet should be encouraging instead of taking the easy and I'm sure costly way out. And maybe that is what he was thinking, that it would be easier for them.

Let's hope you can bring him home tonight and be done with the eclinic. Maybe discuss it with the vet today. Tell him/her your concerns about the care at the eclinic (and the expense of course) and now that he is eating on his own, you would feel he will recover quicker at home.

Honestly, the phosphorous issue may or may not clear today, but I have a feeling it may be an ongoing issue and could be kidney related. If that is the case, then you will need to feed him low phosphorous foods, which would be 250 or less and I'm sorry to say that FF will have to go. The inexpensive food that met the phosphorous and low carb needs was Friskies Special Diet. It does come in a beef flavor along with fish, turkey and chicken. So, you may need to wean him off FF and introduce FSD or another brand that is low carb and low phosphorous.

I know, just when he shows interest again, you have to change it up and figure out what else he can eat. The food charts should help. Pull them out and start looking for ones that meet both these requirements.
 
Re: How to handle the guilt/stress?

Hillary & Maui said:
Good news indeed. And good for you for standing up to the vet and telling him what you wanted. Sorry you had to go through that. But as we all know it is important for them to eat on their own and if he was already eating on his own, then the vet should be encouraging instead of taking the easy and I'm sure costly way out. And maybe that is what he was thinking, that it would be easier for them.

Let's hope you can bring him home tonight and be done with the eclinic. Maybe discuss it with the vet today. Tell him/her your concerns about the care at the eclinic (and the expense of course) and now that he is eating on his own, you would feel he will recover quicker at home.

Honestly, the phosphorous issue may or may not clear today, but I have a feeling it may be an ongoing issue and could be kidney related. If that is the case, then you will need to feed him low phosphorous foods, which would be 250 or less and I'm sorry to say that FF will have to go. The inexpensive food that met the phosphorous and low carb needs was Friskies Special Diet. It does come in a beef flavor along with fish, turkey and chicken. So, you may need to wean him off FF and introduce FSD or another brand that is low carb and low phosphorous.

I know, just when he shows interest again, you have to change it up and figure out what else he can eat. The food charts should help. Pull them out and start looking for ones that meet both these requirements.

Thanks, Hillary :)

I do feel like the interventional work at the e-clinic was top notch (that was Dr. Owens, who we haven't seen since) but they are not quite as good at the "monitoring" type stuff. Maybe that just comes with the territory of handling emergency after emergency and they are just kind of oriented that way... The tech last night though was really good; I think he "got" my concern and he clearly spent some time encouraging Owen and was successful getting him to eat. He laughed and said he'd never seen a cat who would eat off a fork before ;)

But in any case, I don't think we'll be going back there for anything non-emergent after this. For one thing, we are hitting the limits of my budget as our current bill is over $5K at this point, and I also do think he will improve better at home (as long as he is stable, of course.) I will definitely speak to the vet today about bringing him home and putting him on a low phosphorus food. Owen is not generally a picky eater thankfully, so I am guessing he will adapt to a new food if necessary. Guess I will be printing out those food charts again ;)
 
Re: How to handle the guilt/stress?

You may also want to discuss with the vet about the use of phosphorous binders. I haven't used them or know much about it, but I do know it is used for cats with kidney issues. It may be way too soon to use (it was in my case), but worth a discussion and research to become more knowledgeable about it.
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

HAPPY UPDATE... OWEN IS HOME!!!

Just wanted to post a quick note to let everyone know that Owen was able to come home tonight. :-D

As you would expect, he is very, very tired. When I got to the vet's tonight to pick him up, he was curled up on a little sheepskin pillow, sound asleep in the window of the clinic. Apparently he had a big day today, as they let him "loose" to explore the clinic a bit. He went out on their (enclosed) porch, checked out the playrooms and generally made a tour of the facility.

We got a long list of instructions for him, as he has a long way to go to return to being completely healthy. Tomorrow he will start on omeprazole, cerenia, buprenex, subQ fluids and insulin. They want him on 1u of the PZI twice a day, if his pre-shot BG is above 100. My gut says that is kind of a lot considering how much weight he has lost; he's down to 9.75 lbs now compared to his 13-14 lb normal weight. Prior to this crisis, his BG stayed in the low 100's very consistently on diet alone.
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

Is he prone to ketones? If not, you could wait and measure him a few days to see how he is doing first. Chances are he might not be eating properly anyway. And the you could start him on 0.5unit and see how he goes. But let's take a look at those numbers first.
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

Wendy&Tiggy said:
Is he prone to ketones? If not, you could wait and measure him a few days to see how he is doing first. Chances are he might not be eating properly anyway. And the you could start him on 0.5unit and see how he goes. But let's take a look at those numbers first.

No, ketones have not been a problem (and that was the case even during this crisis, which surprised the vet a great deal.) He is currently eating a bit less than the 6-7 oz per day that the vet wants us to shoot for, and he has asked us to syringe feed him if he doesn't eat that much on his own. I am hoping that he will eat a bit better at home than he did at the clinic, where he ate best only when my DH and I were there encouraging him.
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

when starting on insulin, we usually say to not shoot below 200. so if you want to play it really safe, you could up the vets recommendation of 100 to 200 and be safe.

very happy to hear he is home now and that he had a good day at the vet - an outside catio must be a real treat! I like the sound of this vet's place - playing with them, letting them roam through the place and not keeping them in sterile cages all day.
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

Hillary & Maui said:
when starting on insulin, we usually say to not shoot below 200. so if you want to play it really safe, you could up the vets recommendation of 100 to 200 and be safe.

very happy to hear he is home now and that he had a good day at the vet - an outside catio must be a real treat! I like the sound of this vet's place - playing with them, letting them roam through the place and not keeping them in sterile cages all day.

Thanks Hillary!

I would be a lot more comfortable shooting at around 200... 100 seems really low to me. He had several incidents of getting down to 60-70 at the vet's following their insulin administration, and that is just way lower than he is normally. Of course I really do like this vet and am a little fearful of not following instructions given that we are now dealing with not just the plain vanilla diabetes but also the kideny issues etc...!!!
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

given that he went to 60/70 which honestly are great non-diabetic numbers, I would suggest dosing at 1/2 unit and not shooting below 200. as you get more comfortable with testing and start to build your spreadsheet, you can lower the no shoot threshold and eventually even shoot a 70!

remember you hold the syringe and you are in charge. being conservative and erring on the side of caution will always keep your cat safe! and remember you have our support!
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

Hillary & Maui said:
given that he went to 60/70 which honestly are great non-diabetic numbers, I would suggest dosing at 1/2 unit and not shooting below 200. as you get more comfortable with testing and start to build your spreadsheet, you can lower the no shoot threshold and eventually even shoot a 70!

remember you hold the syringe and you are in charge. being conservative and erring on the side of caution will always keep your cat safe! and remember you have our support!

Thanks... I do want to be conservative. Right now he is not getting wildly high although of course he has been getting insulin at the vet's when needed. I do think maybe I will start at 1/2 unit, though, that seems safer to me.

Poor guy is sleeping in my closet right now, he must be exhausted and who can blame him for hiding a bit after all he has been through? Of course I wish he would sleep in my bed like he does usually, but that is probably too much to ask right now. I don't think I am going to sleep a wink tonight :(

Thanks for all the support, it really helps.
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

Trix and((( Teddybear))) GA said:
I am so so glad Owen is home :) Let's keep him there WTG big guy :)

Thanks for the good wishes, Trixie. Unfortunately Owen's stay at home was pretty brief. He was comfortable overnight but the following morning, he had no appetite and was very lethargic despite our syringe feeding, meds and subQ fluids. We took him back to the vet that afternoon and it was determined that he needs to stay on IV fluids for now. Thus he is spending his nights at the e-clinic and his days at the regular vet's. <sob>

The IV is definitely helping him, and he ate well again this morning, so it was the right thing to do, but it's not been easy. The vet says we have a "long road ahead of us." Tonight I am going to have to ask him exactly what that means, because at $1000-1500 a day, I sadly can't do this forever. (Hence my post on whether anyone has managed to do IV fluids at home. If I can handle things for him at home overnight, and just have him do the days at the vet's, I could do this a lot longer...)

Please say a prayer that he will get better soon and be able to come home to us.
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

how about asking the vet if you could give subq fluids at home - if the vet will teach you, it isn't hard and this way you can sve money and he can stay home
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

Hillary & Maui said:
how about asking the vet if you could give subq fluids at home - if the vet will teach you, it isn't hard and this way you can sve money and he can stay home

That was actually the plan we had when we brought him home the other day. We gave him the subq fluids without a problem but it was not sufficient to keep the BUN under control :( The vet feels strongly that he needs to be on the IV if we are going to have a shot at the BUN getting back to an acceptable range.

He did definitely improve on the IV and is eating voluntarily again, so it seems like the IV does help in a way that the subq fluids did not. Sigh.
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

you could try to get a care credit card and see if your vets take it - as they will allow payment plan options with that card - and if they don't take care credit, ask about payment plan and maybe discount plan, hopefully they will work with you..and what if you take him to the vet durin gthe day for iv and home at night with subq, this will alleviate the eclinic charges..and may work...
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

Hillary & Maui said:
you could try to get a care credit card and see if your vets take it - as they will allow payment plan options with that card - and if they don't take care credit, ask about payment plan and maybe discount plan, hopefully they will work with you..and what if you take him to the vet durin gthe day for iv and home at night with subq, this will alleviate the eclinic charges..and may work...

Good thoughts, thank you. The vet does not take care credit but I haven't asked about a payment plan. Unfortunately the reality is though that we cannot afford to spend an unlimited amount, even if the payments are over time. I hate that with all my heart but my DH and I have pretty much agreed that ten thousand dollars is the most we can spend. We will hit that amount, probably, in the next few days unless I can take him home at night. The subQ fluids were not sufficient when we tried that earlier, so I am trying to figure out if we can do an IV at home and then just bring him back to the vet during the day.
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

good luck, hopefully he will come round real soon and you can be done with the vet visits - and he can get a job to pay for his bill....
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

Thanks Hilary,

I wrote a long update on my other post (about maybe doing IV fluids at home overnight) ... basically Owen did not have a great day today but the vet feels it would be more realistic to look for significant improvement tomorrow or Sunday. He did not look good to me when we got to the vet's tonight but he did perk up quite a bit when we got him out of his cage to get ready to go to the e-clinic, and when we left there, he looked more like himself and he was resting comfortably.

We are so hoping that he is better tomorrow and that his labs continue to improve. His phosphorus was about 20% better today but the BUN values only came down a few points. The vet reminded me that his BUN was way higher on his first day and he did a lot better after 48 hours on the IV fluids... so he would expect to see improvement tomorrow or Sunday.

Please think good thoughts for my little Owie. He's hanging in there and we are desperate for him to come home.
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

It sounds like he prefers you being around and would do better at home if you can do fluids there. I hope he improves soon! (Hugs)
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

Wendy&Tiggy said:
It sounds like he prefers you being around and would do better at home if you can do fluids there. I hope he improves soon! (Hugs)

Thanks, Wendy.

I do feel like he does better when we are around, but at the moment it looks like the earliest he could be expected to come home would be maybe Monday. The next few days are critical. If he is not significantly better by then, we might be at the end of the road.

The vet does think it is reasonable to expect that he will be a lot better by Sunday, and if so... we have a good shot at recovery.

Thanks for all the support.

Susan
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

are you serious?! owner stupidity? meaning what? listening to vets, following they would say?
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

Owen is in such serious condition because I did not recognize that he was getting dehydrated and in trouble. I should have taken him to the vet the minute he looked like he was losing weight instead of simply upping his food.
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

And who said owner stupidity - you or the vet?

Stop beating and blaming yourself. You did what you thought made sense. While we see our cats every day, we don't always realize that something is wrong and vet intervention is needed. We do have lives too and things just happen.

The point is you did realize that something was wrong, more than just needing more food and you took him to the vet. It is unfortunate that he has these problems, but you are not to blame for that. My guess is, even if you took him a week earlier, these problems may not have been present and he still would be in trouble.

There is no owner stupidity and you need to remove that thinking. It doesn't do you or Owen any good.
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

That's not what I meant..!!! I meant the kidney problems, I don't know if I missed a thread but I know there was a kidney issue but they weren't sure what the issue was... That's what I was asking about.
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

Hillary & Maui said:
And who said owner stupidity - you or the vet?

Stop beating and blaming yourself. You did what you thought made sense. While we see our cats every day, we don't always realize that something is wrong and vet intervention is needed. We do have lives too and things just happen.

The point is you did realize that something was wrong, more than just needing more food and you took him to the vet. It is unfortunate that he has these problems, but you are not to blame for that. My guess is, even if you took him a week earlier, these problems may not have been present and he still would be in trouble.

There is no owner stupidity and you need to remove that thinking. It doesn't do you or Owen any good.

Oh, the vet has been very kind - he hasn't said anything like that. And I really like this vet, he listens well and he is treating Owen the cat, not just a patient with various lab values and problems. When we went to pick Owen up last night to take him to the e-clinic, he looked truly awful. I said to the vet it was the first time in this whole crisis when he just doesn't look like Owen to me. He was just laying there looking out of it and miserable. Even that morning, he was recognizably himself - he meowed and he was looking around at me and out the window as we drove to the clinic. The difference at 6pm was dramatic.

I actually whispered to Owen to ask if he wanted to keep fighting and he kind of looked away. I cannot even describe the devastation I felt. The vet totally understood what I was saying, though. He said he often asks the techs during the day how the cats are and to him their subjective evaluations are just as useful as the diagnostic tests. He also said that he feels the owners usually know when the cats are ok with continuing the fight and also when they want to stop, and he respects that. We had a pretty long conversation about what Owen's prospects are for a recovery and a good quality of life. I cried a lot. My feeling is that if there is a reasonable chance that Owen can recover from this crisis and have a good quality of life, then I want to give him every chance, and I will figure out how to afford that for him. If the prospects for recovery are poor or it would require weeks and weeks of this kind of treatment, spending his days in a cage with IVs and catheters and force feeding... I am not comfortable with that. It is too much to put him through.

The vet made it very clear that he would understand, respect and support whatever we thought was best for Owen. He does still feel that Owen has a reasonable chance of recovering and having a good quality of life, even though he did not make much progress yesterday, and that was very disappointing. He told us that probably taking him home on Wed. night with the subQ fluids set us back, kind of starting the clock over (yes, I felt bad about that too.)

Then he said, "look, the lab values were much worse on Monday when he arrived than they are now, and by Wed, they were way down and he was eating well and walking around. It might just be that he needs a few more days on the IV fluids and other meds to improve, and it's not unrealistic to think he might be back to eating and walking around again by Sunday or Monday. His phosphorus has come down a lot - about 25% which is good progress. The BUN is still high (it only went down a couple points) but it took 3 days on the IV to bring it down last time, too. There is no way to know definitively what his long term kidney function is right now, or how well he will manage on whatever function he does have over time, but he could be a lot better in a few days and be able to go home early next week. He's not feeling great right now, but he's not in pain and he is tolerating the treatment well."

That made me feel like the right thing to do is to continue through Monday to see if he can improve to the point where he is likely to be able to come home and enjoy a good quality of life. He did well at the e-clinic last night and actually pawed at his cage this morning wanting to be let out. (Can I just say how much I love the overnight tech, Jennifer, who said, "hey, he's family here now, if he wants out, he doesn't have to stay in a cage.") When we arrived, he was curled up on a cushion at her feet, looking curiously at one of the dogs who was in a cage across the room. She reported that while he wasn't eating on his own, he was doing well with the syringe feeding and had had a BM in the litterbox which he had not done in a while, so that was great news. He looked so much better to me than yesterday, not like nothing was wrong obviously, but he was recognizably Owen again.

So, at this point we are hoping that he continues to improve today, and that we have more significant improvement tomorrow. If he is not a lot better by Monday we will have hard decisions to make, but I am hoping that we have turned a corner now and won't have to think about that.
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

Wendy&Tiggy said:
That's not what I meant..!!! I meant the kidney problems, I don't know if I missed a thread but I know there was a kidney issue but they weren't sure what the issue was... That's what I was asking about.

I don't think they are really sure what started this whole cascade of problems really. Maybe the dehydration came first or he could have had some sort of infection - his white cell count was sky high when we took him in, though it has come right back to normal on the antibiotics. There is still concern about a possible obstruction. The xrays do not appear to show a stone so the vet feels the most likely reason is just an accumulation of some waste that got "clogged up" there which will hopefully resolve as they diurese (sp) him with all the fluids. He is still making plenty of urine and I think they are hoping that having the urinary catheter will help things settle down some while the IV fluids do their job, too. They did up his fluids yesterday and he has been tolerating that well so far.

Today the goal is to keep getting enough calories into him and keep trying to get the BUN values down. The wonderful lead tech at the regular vet got about two full cans down him via syringe yesterday, on top of what he ate voluntarily that morning. This morning he did not eat anything on his own so they will syringe feed him again.
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

Ah ok. Keeping my fingers and my babies paws crossed for him and ((hugs)) for you Owen and your husband!!

Thanks for keeping us updated!!
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

So, we picked Owen up to take him to the e-clinic for the weekend, since our regular vet's office closes at 2 on Sat. The techs were both very sad, and feel he is not doing well. He did improve today, but only a little. He did perk up a bit when we stroked him and talked to him, and I still see Owen in his eyes. I don't think he is giving up, and the vet agreed. The vet also said that while he thinks our chances are now 50-50, if he does recover we could expect him to have a very good quality of life. So we took him back to the e-clinic, and the ER vet is taking a very aggressive approach to rehydrating him, as that is still our biggest challenge. The ER vet also thinks that if he can get him rehydrated, we may find the kidney issues are not a permanent problem (in other words that the dehydration is driving the kidney values we are seeing now, not the other way around.) He feels very confident that he can get him rehydrated if he can tolerate a pretty fast drip. The risk with that is that he could get pulmonary edema, but really we have no other choice now.

Please say a prayer that the treatment works and that Owen can tolerate it without complications. I feel like we are so close to turning a corner tonight.
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

I haven't posted before but have been keeping up with your posts on Owen. Just wanted to add my hugs and many prayers for you and Owen that he pulls through this and is soon back home. Always in my prayers.

praying_kagura_pt__ii_by_photo_cap.jpg
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

Hi Hope and Dian,

Thank you all for your kind thoughts and prayers for Owen. We just got back from visiting him and I am a little encouraged. The tech told me he has been moving around in his cage instead of just laying there, and he seemed brighter. We got about a third of a can of food down him without too much difficulty. He doesn't really want to eat but if I put the food on his tongue he is willing to take it. He is tolerating the fluids so far and maintaining his body temperature at a normal level, which is an improvement from earlier today.

Right now we are just praying that all his cells are absorbing those fluids and getting him rehydrated... if that goes well, we have a really good chance at recovery.
 
Re: How to handle UPDATE: Owen is HOME! (p2)

Hi Hope and Dian,

I don't know if he has had any appetite stimulants - I will ask next time I see the vet. I go to visit Owen every few hours, but over the weekend he is at the e-clinic and many times the tech just brings him in to me and we don't get to talk much beyond, "how's he doing?" He is on so many different things right now - antibiotics, anti nausea, pain meds, insulin, and also some stuff they are giving him to encourage his bladder to have better tone, I believe. It is a little hard to keep up with that sort of stuff at the e-clinic because they tend to be very busy dealing with emergencies and surgeries, but the techs there are wonderful and I am sure they would know.

I feel like he is doing a bit better this morning. The tech said he was talking up a storm to her all night :) So far he seems to be tolerating the fluids well. We have gotten a fair amount of food down him yesterday and today, mostly by putting it on our fingers and sticking it in his mouth (works better than syringing him and he does chew and swallow it.) He also ate a little bit on his own earlier this morning (yay!) And he is drinking, peeing and pooping (yay again.)

The other interesting news is that somewhere between the regular clinic and the e-clinic, they lost his vial of PZI. It is not at the regular vet's, and the tech who received him at the e-clinic couldn't find it either. The e-clinic has a different insulin, not one I had heard of before, and they used that instead. He is responding better to it than he did to the PZI so maybe that was a blessing in disguise.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top