Ruby 1/28

Status
Not open for further replies.

arozeboom

Member Since 2011
AMPS 214 (+11 from last night's shot)

These are last night's numbers

AMPS 406
+2 396
+4 347
+5 & 45min 293

Does the 214 this morning make sense?

(AlphaTrak numbers)

edited to fix the date
 
Re: Ruby 1/29

If you can, I'd watch her numbers today to see if it repeats. And maybe again tonight, if possible.

If it repeats, that fat .5u may need to become a skinny. :-D
 
I marked the syringe this morning with how much I gave her and kept it. If its a good dose, I'll be able to repeat it.
 
Great idea, this way you can keep giving her the same dose
just remember that not days are the same,
some days we have a smiley face with the numbers
other days we have slants
 
Today her numbers have been pretty much flat as a pancake. I'm not sure if that warrants smiles or slants.
 
Oh now I have a craving for chocolate chip pancakes!

sorry I forgot about the flat days, which I dont know how I could have done that!
most days are flat with Shakes
 
I'm all about the pancakes.

Unfortunately there are no pancakes today, just a day with almost completely level readings.
 
Well, not giving us clear cut info this curve. Interesting that your amps might have been the low point for your cycle last night. I wonder if she will drop any more this cycle? Logically if .75 was giving you amps numbers too low to shot, .5 should have worked. (Hah, like there are any shoulds in this dance.)

I hope Carl is around tonight and can weigh in.
 
I'd be tempted to go for a skinny .5u. We already know .75 is too much, and the straight .5u from before looks an awful lot like the fat .5u now.

I know we normally look for low drops if it's too much insulin, but sometimes our cats, precious creatures that they are, will throw wonky numbers at us when it's a tad too high a dose.

I wonder what others think.....

Edited to add: although...those are some nice yellows after all those pinks. :-D
 
I'm not complaining about the yellow, that's for sure! :smile:
I'm just perplexed by the timing of the lows and the virtual flatness of the whole thing.
 
Hmmmmm,

I wouldn't rule out the .75 dose myself. You've only done that dose twice.
The first time, PM on the 23rd, it didn't give you a normal curve, but it gave you a "slant" that resulted in a too low to shoot AMPS the next day. Then Ruby got no shot that morning, which caused the ugly red PMPS on the 24th. So you tried the .75 again that night, and got another slant. Both of those slants indicated excessive long duration, but not necessarily a deep curve. It may or may not have been "too much".
Looking past that, it looks to me like the .5 into the 147 on the morning of the 25th may have been too much, but only because the AMPS was so low. Maybe a .25 might have worked better that day? I don't put any weight on the +1 256 that morning, because the insulin hadn't even taken affect yet. He may have gone pretty low that day and it caused a bounce that night to the 415 at PMPS. Again, not because the dose was too high, just too high for THAT number that morning. That night, the 25th, it looked like a really good dose dropping the 415 to the blue nadir. But since then, the .5 hasn't done much of anything, IMO. Some people might look at today, and say the curve is somewhat inverse, but all those numbers fall within the 20% meter variance, so pretty much a flat day.

I'll go back to Dr. Lisa's line about looking for repeatability here. She said to not make decisions based on something that happens once in a while, or randomly, but to base decisions on doses when you see repeats. I think, you are seeing some repeatability with the .5 dose. If you continue to see sort of flat cycles for another couple of days, then that would tell me that the dose needs to be adjusted, and I would think "upwards" by a bit.

Are you using u100 syringes or u40's? Just thinking about your chances at eyeballing increases in small increments like .25ish. I think that if you continue to see flat yellows, then maybe think about trying .75 again for a couple of cycles?

Oh, there isn't anything terribly wrong about "flat". It depends on the color. I mean, a "normal" BG would be flat and green, right? If Bob were still on insulin, and I could get a flat blue cycle every day, I'd be tickled pink!

Flat usually means that more insulin is needed. The color determines how much more is needed. The wild card in the whole dance is how much Mr. P. is going to play along. The lower the overall numbers, the more critical that is, because when the P kicks in, suddenly a dose is much more effective. But as the pancreas heals, and starts to produce insulin, my thinking is that it won't always dump "too much". It'll just try to regulate the numbers better than the shots are doing, and not overproduce. So the first couple of times it sputters, it might cause really low numbers, but the more it sputters, the less adverse the reaction, if that makes any sense to anyone but me! :lol:

Carl
 
I use U40s.

I think I'm going to call the vet on Monday and send her a couple of the graphs from the past few days and see what she says to do.

+2 from the PM shot is 267
 
Well, knowing from doing a lot of reading, especially in Health, I'll bet you a buck the vet says "You need to increase!". That doesn't mean that you do, but I'm pretty sure that is what you'll hear. :lol:
 
We did that after the first curve that was done at the office. Dr. K bumped her up to 1.5 units and Ru had her hypo-ish evening so we took her back to 1 unit.
After that, she kept getting too low in the mornings to shoot and I went to the .5

At+4 she's 221
 
237, 267, 221... hmmm.

okay I'm going to discount variance and just take these numbers "as is".

slight climb two hours after eating, before insulin onsets (or right about that time), then a 45ish drop in the next two hours. Pretty flat so far, but still some time before nadir.
 
Well, that's more like it. Not too much drop, but at least not flat, right? From the post meal boost (267) to nadir, is about a 30% drop.

Carl
 
Hard to pinpoint but it looks like she tends to get there before +6 a good bit of the time.
carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top