Roo 12/30 AMPS 599 Request dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

blueroo

Member Since 2009
I've had Roo on 1.25 units since 12/17 and his numbers are consistently higher than when I had him on 1 unit. Makes no sense to me. Should I increase his dosage to 1.5 units? Also, starting next week, I can't do his morning shot at the regular time two days out of the week. I would either have to do it 2 hours early, or skip the shot. Which is the better choice?

Thanks,
Deb & Roo
 
glad u made it over! here are instructions to link ur SS...hang on for dose help ok?

SS linking:
Log into your SS and click on the Share tab that is on the upper right hand side of the page. Then click on Publish As Web Page. Put a check mark nex to "Automatically republish when changes are made" and make sure the drop down box above it set to All Sheets. Then copy the link in the bottom box. Click the Close button to save.

EDIT TO ADD: after you copy the link from google SS, come back here, go to USER CONTROL PANEL, edit signature, and paste the link, and submitt.

EDIT : SS is viewable Thanks!
 
I'm not sure about dose advise, but I'll put this question out there - are u testing for ketones?

What is Roo eating? are u home today to monitor?
If u could update a bit on those things since we haven't seen u in a while ok? this will speed up the process for dose advise.

hang in there!
 
I haven't tested for ketones. Sneaky cat won't let me near him when he pees. He is eating Wellness canned food, only the approved flavors from Janet & Binky's list. He is acting healthy, not drinking gallons of water, not vomiting. If it wasn't for his blood sugar, I wouldn't know he has a disease at all.

I am home most of today to monitor.
 
Deb:

Good to hear from you. The biggest factor that will influence dosing advice is that you are missing half of the data -- you really need to get PM spot checks. Just because Roo has high numbers doesn't mean you can skip, at minimum, a before bed check. Gabby has had numbers that were in the 400s at pre-shot times and in the 40s at mid-cycle and earned a decrease. Without the spot checks, you miss information which would potentially explain bounces.

If you're able, please post more often. I know that I've found having the benefit of many eyes on a SS can be very helpful.

I agree with Ronnie, please test for ketones.

Hopefully, one of the dosing team will be by to offer a recommendation.
 
I am now keeping the Lantus refrigerated. I haven't been doing post-PM shot tests because I usually go to bed right after his evening shot.
 
Deb, according to your SS, the current lantus vial you are using is about 28 days tomorrow correct?


Please confirm for Heather.
 
blueroo said:
I am now keeping the Lantus refrigerated. I haven't been doing post-PM shot tests because I usually go to bed right after his evening shot.


Was there some time it wasn't refrigerated? if so for how long?
Unfortunately, you should really get at least one test in after PMPS - you really need that data to see what's happening after the evening shot.
 
That sounds about right. I had used the coupon to get a free box of 5 Lantus pens. This is the third of the pens and I only started using it last week. The first pen I discarded because I hadn't been refrigerating it and I thought it was getting old. The second pen I put in the wrong section of the refrigerator and it froze :cry:

So, are the remaining pens outdated even though I haven't opened them yet?
 
blueroo said:
That sounds about right. I had used the coupon to get a free box of 5 Lantus pens. This is the third of the pens and I only started using it last week. The first pen I discarded because I hadn't been refrigerating it and I thought it was getting old. The second pen I put in the wrong section of the refrigerator and it froze :cry:

So, are the remaining pens outdated even though I haven't opened them yet?


ok - this is good - glad u began a new one...please mark that in ur comments for reference.
i'm pretty sure the rest would be ok, as long as they are properly refrigerated. Let's see what others say.
 
Sorry for the duplicate post, new to the new board, didn't see to change pages. Doh!

Still waiting for dosing advice plus what to do about those 2 days/week. Thanks!
 
Hi Deb! About the two days next week. Shooting two hours early is quite a difference and with numbers this high I definitely would NOT want to skip a shot.

Can you start tonight and start shooting 1/2 hour early for just the PM shots? Like this:
Wed PM shoot 1/2 hr. early +11.5
Thu AM shoot on time +12
Thu PM shoot 1/2 hr. early +11.5
Fri AM shoot on time +12
Fri PM shoot 1/2 hr. early +11.5
Sat AM shoot on time +12
Sat PM shoot 1/2 hr. early +11.5

By Saturday PM, you will be 2 hours early and can shoot those morning shots on time. The only question I have is - can you also adjust the PM shots earlier to make your whole schedule 2 hours earlier than it is right now? From your question in the first post, I couldn't tell exactly.

If you move shot times earlier then you could get some PM spot checks before you go to bed, that would help a lot with dosing advice.

As for raising dose, I do think it is time. Let me check with other advisers and we'll get back to you.
 
Yes, I can start shooting earlier, but what happens is this... two days/week I have to commute a long way to work so those days, I have to get up at 6am. Every other day I get up at 8am. To test Roo and give him his shot, I'd need to get up at 5:45am. I was really trying to avoid having to get up at 5:45am every day of the week for the next 5 to 10 years. So, if I move it up this early, is there light at the end of the tunnel where maybe eventually I can skip those shots if he starts getting good numbers?

:?
 
blueroo said:
Yes, I can start shooting earlier, but what happens is this... two days/week I have to commute a long way to work so those days, I have to get up at 6am. Every other day I get up at 8am. To test Roo and give him his shot, I'd need to get up at 5:45am. I was really trying to avoid having to get up at 5:45am every day of the week for the next 5 to 10 years. So, if I move it up this early, is there light at the end of the tunnel where maybe eventually I can skip those shots if he starts getting good numbers?

:?
I do understand you not wanting to get up so early every day.

But.... skipping shots isn't recommended because the goal is to keep the BG as even and flat as possible. There are some unusual times when shots are skipped, but for the most part kitties need two shots 12 hours apart. I hope this getting up early is not a 5-10 year routine for you and Roo. :D I always hope for that light at the end of the tunnel!

Speaking of better numbers, the dosing group suggests you increase Roo to 1.50u tonight. And try getting a +1 BG test before you go to bed. That would be great!
 
OK, and thanks! I will just bite the bullet and pull my sleepy head out from under the covers at that ungodly hour every day. I will also up his dosage to 1.5u starting tonight, and will start doing evening testing.
 
one of the great pleasures of getting up that early is the discovery of how good it feels to go back to bed. There's something very luxurious about being able to crawl back under the covers for another hour or two. :)

Good luck with the dosecrease!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top