Rocky's progress

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marlena

Member Since 2015
Rocky's SS looks much better now but I would appreciate some comments and thoughts.
I shoot low numbers trying to keep Rocky in a healthy range of BG.
I have a lot of data and I test often but looking at the numbers my conclusion is that every cycle is different even on similar BG and same dose I get slightly different or very different results.
Correct me please if I'm wrong but I observe that he's got late onset and nadirs but I'm not sure about duration - it seems that I can shoot on those low numbers because I always check his PS numbers few times making sure they rise before I give him his dose so giving insulin is sometimes delayed by half or one hour. If I reduce the dose he goes higher and then he drinks more water.
Another complication is that I use pet meter and advice here is given on the results from human meter. I often compare both meters (I need both in case I need back up if one stops working) and I can tell with confidence that my meters give me very similar results when it comes to mid range numbers but vary about 10 percent on higher numbers (AlphaTrak higher than Accucheck Aviva Nano). On low numbers Accucheck was higher than AlphaTrak .
My understanding is that if BG on Alpha (at nadir?) is below 5 (Am 90) one should reduce the dose so what is that number on a human meter?
Just trying to lay things in my head so please give me some feedback.
PS. I would like to post the average numbers from AlphaTrack meter:
7 days - 10
14 days -10.2
30 days - 12.4
Are they important?
Many thanks,
Marlena
 
When dealing with the low numbers on AlphaTrak, I would err on the side of caution - mainly because they are low numbers. I think our hypo range alert is 68 on the AlphaTrak on the forum; I know that 90 is the "earns a reduction" number on the Start Low Go Slow approach for Lantus, but don't think anyone has ever found a reliable way to correlate AT and human meters to know what that number might be on an AT. So I'd pick a number you are comfortable with and go with that.

Again, I feel completely incompetent to advise on dosing as your insulin is unlike PZI/ProZinc. I'm sure @Elizabeth and Bertie will be along to advise. Meanwhile, it looks like Rocky is doing great!

I do think it's important (because new diabetics on ProZinc will be seeing this thread) to emphasize that Marlena is in the UK and is using a form of PZI that is not available in the States and works more like the depot insulins than it does The PZI we know. So she can shoot at lower numbers and expect a longer flatter cycle.
 
Hi Marlena,

Rocky's numbers are amazing! You are keeping him so balanced and I am so chuffed he's responding so well.

With respect to your question about variability with the two meters - I don't honestly think you will get a definitive answer from the forum about equivalency at either ends of the range of BG they detect. The important thing is to know how your cat responds at particular numbers on the different meters.

What you could do for peace of mind is to check him at different points during his curve on both meters (doing the tests within a minute or so of each other) and collect the data yourself that way. If you get a full curve on the same day with both meters, you can then compare them accordingly. (Comparing diagnostic test used to be something that I did for a living a couple of jobs ago, weirdly enough!). Ideally you need to use the same sample for each device. In this case, same cat, same dose of insulin, same time of day will have to do!

Yay Science!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top