Marlena
Very Active Member
Rocky's SS looks much better now but I would appreciate some comments and thoughts.
I shoot low numbers trying to keep Rocky in a healthy range of BG.
I have a lot of data and I test often but looking at the numbers my conclusion is that every cycle is different even on similar BG and same dose I get slightly different or very different results.
Correct me please if I'm wrong but I observe that he's got late onset and nadirs but I'm not sure about duration - it seems that I can shoot on those low numbers because I always check his PS numbers few times making sure they rise before I give him his dose so giving insulin is sometimes delayed by half or one hour. If I reduce the dose he goes higher and then he drinks more water.
Another complication is that I use pet meter and advice here is given on the results from human meter. I often compare both meters (I need both in case I need back up if one stops working) and I can tell with confidence that my meters give me very similar results when it comes to mid range numbers but vary about 10 percent on higher numbers (AlphaTrak higher than Accucheck Aviva Nano). On low numbers Accucheck was higher than AlphaTrak .
My understanding is that if BG on Alpha (at nadir?) is below 5 (Am 90) one should reduce the dose so what is that number on a human meter?
Just trying to lay things in my head so please give me some feedback.
PS. I would like to post the average numbers from AlphaTrack meter:
7 days - 10
14 days -10.2
30 days - 12.4
Are they important?
Many thanks,
Marlena
I shoot low numbers trying to keep Rocky in a healthy range of BG.
I have a lot of data and I test often but looking at the numbers my conclusion is that every cycle is different even on similar BG and same dose I get slightly different or very different results.
Correct me please if I'm wrong but I observe that he's got late onset and nadirs but I'm not sure about duration - it seems that I can shoot on those low numbers because I always check his PS numbers few times making sure they rise before I give him his dose so giving insulin is sometimes delayed by half or one hour. If I reduce the dose he goes higher and then he drinks more water.
Another complication is that I use pet meter and advice here is given on the results from human meter. I often compare both meters (I need both in case I need back up if one stops working) and I can tell with confidence that my meters give me very similar results when it comes to mid range numbers but vary about 10 percent on higher numbers (AlphaTrak higher than Accucheck Aviva Nano). On low numbers Accucheck was higher than AlphaTrak .
My understanding is that if BG on Alpha (at nadir?) is below 5 (Am 90) one should reduce the dose so what is that number on a human meter?
Just trying to lay things in my head so please give me some feedback.
PS. I would like to post the average numbers from AlphaTrack meter:
7 days - 10
14 days -10.2
30 days - 12.4
Are they important?
Many thanks,
Marlena