? Rocky8/15/17 AMPS 217,PMPS 407, +3 325

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bee

Member Since 2017
Yesterday his AMPS 152 , +10 288, PMPS 260, +3 360. I don't know how to post my older post but do you think i should still go back up to 1u ? I did a mini curve on 8/13. Im worried if I go to 1 u he's going to have AMPS to low to shoot and he will only be getting a shot once a day instead of every 12 hours
 
I don't know enough to give advice on dosing, so go with the advice of someone more knowledgeable. But after saying that, I'll add my thoughts.

Are you going with TR or SLGS? If you're doing SLGS that 152 on 8/14 would indicate you should stay with the .75U. At least it would with me since the 152 is so close to 150. The PMPS 407 Rocky had last night could mean he went lower during yesterday's cycle, and so he's bouncing. Just my thoughts...

At least this post will bump you up so someone can add their expertise. If you put a ? in your thread title and add dosing question you'll probably get more replies. :bighug:
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Bee
Morning Bee, if you could put your dosing method in your signature it would help folks give advice, as based on your dosing method the advice will be different. That would be great. I think that Rocky maybe bouncing from a lower than usual BG number probably mid cycle yesterday.

As for dose advice, I am sure someone more experienced than I will drop in soon.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Bee
I don't know enough to give advice on dosing, so go with the advice of someone more knowledgeable. But after saying that, I'll add my thoughts.

Are you going with TR or SLGS? If you're doing SLGS that 152 on 8/14 would indicate you should stay with the .75U. At least it would with me since the 152 is so close to 150. The PMPS 407 Rocky had last night could mean he went lower during yesterday's cycle, and so he's bouncing. Just my thoughts...

At least this post will bump you up so someone can add their expertise. If you put a ? in your thread title and add dosing question you'll probably get more replies. :bighug:

Im doing SLGS I am not always home at the same times to do TR . I try to feed him the same amount every day at thee same time but sometimes its off. Yeah I am thinking about staying with .75 since he tend to be so low in the AMs. When he was 1st diagnosed the vet suggested i do 2 different doses .5 am and 1 night but everyone here says its better to stick to the same dose every 12 hours but i wonder if anyone else kitty has a different Am and Pm dose. Anyways thank you for your suggestion
 
I do SLGS also. I do the same dose AM and PM. Since Lantus is a depot insulin it works better that way. You're welcome. :bighug: Hope someone that is more experienced will add their input.
 
anytime you are't getting an answer, you can bump yourself up to the top just by posting... bump.

I am very suspicious of that sudden red, don't know if its from a low blue, or maybe even a green....
I would like to see more random tests to try to catch it.

If you do decide to increase, be sure that you can get those random tests in....
given that you haven't seen anything lower than 152, it would be time to increase....


I just want you to catch those lows so you can see how low he goes.
 
anytime you are't getting an answer, you can bump yourself up to the top just by posting... bump.

I am very suspicious of that sudden red, don't know if its from a low blue, or maybe even a green....
I would like to see more random tests to try to catch it.

If you do decide to increase, be sure that you can get those random tests in....
given that you haven't seen anything lower than 152, it would be time to increase....


I just want you to catch those lows so you can see how low he goes.

Rhiannon, as I said above I don't know enough to give dosing advice, (but then I go ahead and give it--that would be me :blackeye: :confused: o_O). So the 152 isn't close enough to the 150? Just checking for future reference and to prevent more bad advice on my part. :banghead: ;) :)
 
anytime you are't getting an answer, you can bump yourself up to the top just by posting... bump.

I am very suspicious of that sudden red, don't know if its from a low blue, or maybe even a green....
I would like to see more random tests to try to catch it.

If you do decide to increase, be sure that you can get those random tests in....
given that you haven't seen anything lower than 152, it would be time to increase....


I just want you to catch those lows so you can see how low he goes.

Mon-Fri i work so i cant check him till +7 last week i did a mini curve , he seemed to be in yellow until PM +2 i should have tired to catch another test to see if it had dropped. The next morning his AMPS was 152 . Maybe i'll try 1 U starting Saturday so i can be home to keep an eye on him . To me it seems like hes between .75 and 1 if that's even possible . Could he do a .75 Am and 1u pm ? I know they say with Lantus its best to keep the same doseing but .75 and 1 is close .
 
So the 152 isn't close enough to the 150?
The SlGS document says if the nadirs are above 150, to increase the dose by 0.25 units. We go by what we see on the meter, not by "close enough". I like your idea of increasing to 1.0 and I would do both AM and PM dose the same. Due to the nature of the depot, what you shoot in one cycle can impact the next. The timing of the increase is a more interesting question. Last time you increased to 1.0, it wasn't until the 5th cycle that you started to see some blue action. And if you increased on Saturday, that would put you back on Monday for the blue. Not that cats do the same thing twice in a row of course. :rolleyes: Anyway, maybe Friday night might be a better time to increase. It would give time to get over New Dose Wonkiness.
 
The SlGS document says if the nadirs are above 150, to increase the dose by 0.25 units. We go by what we see on the meter, not by "close enough". I like your idea of increasing to 1.0 and I would do both AM and PM dose the same. Due to the nature of the depot, what you shoot in one cycle can impact the next. The timing of the increase is a more interesting question. Last time you increased to 1.0, it wasn't until the 5th cycle that you started to see some blue action. And if you increased on Saturday, that would put you back on Monday for the blue. Not that cats do the same thing twice in a row of course. :rolleyes: Anyway, maybe Friday night might be a better time to increase. It would give time to get over New Dose Wonkiness.
So close isn't good enough. Like with math problems. Bummer! :D Thanks for clarifying, Wendy. And sorry for the questionable advice, Bee. :oops: :)
 
The SlGS document says if the nadirs are above 150, to increase the dose by 0.25 units. We go by what we see on the meter, not by "close enough". I like your idea of increasing to 1.0 and I would do both AM and PM dose the same. Due to the nature of the depot, what you shoot in one cycle can impact the next. The timing of the increase is a more interesting question. Last time you increased to 1.0, it wasn't until the 5th cycle that you started to see some blue action. And if you increased on Saturday, that would put you back on Monday for the blue. Not that cats do the same thing twice in a row of course. :rolleyes: Anyway, maybe Friday night might be a better time to increase. It would give time to get over New Dose Wonkiness.

Ok thanks I will try that and see how he does. So Start 1 U Friday night not Sat morning ?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top