Rocky 7/8

Status
Not open for further replies.

totallybeachin

Member Since 2011
Well, it's been a messed up couple of days around here.
Finally got my computer back up and running. Thank goodness. Trying to get anything done on the wii is quite difficult. :?
I had some last minute schedule changes at work which caused me to shoot 45 min. early for PM dose on 7/6,
AND I had to shot the AM shot following day 45 min. early.
I tried to do the best I could with the time I had to work within. I didn't really reduce his dose by more than a drop. I had been giving him F.8's and I just went with straight .8 for those 2 doses. I figured I had a little room to play with since he doesn't typically go to low. Not sure if that was a wise choice. I wasn't able to check him at all yesterday until I got home from work around 5:30 and he was in the pink. Same as amps and pmps.
The evening shot was on schedule (with the am shot time) and I did see some blue before bed, but that was the only test I got in.
Thought I would be back on track starting today, but for some reason, my alarm didn't go off. The kids finally woke me around 20 after 7, sooooo, he got started off late today by 30 minutes. Personally, I would rather be late than early.
Went with a regular .8 dose since his schedule has been so out of whack, and figured I would get him back on track after a few "normal" cycles.
I "fed the drop" today at +3 with just a little portion of a 2 carb meal. It worked. As far as stopping the drop. Unfortunately, it didn't help him surf any. He just bumped back up and stayed there. I imagine his pmps will be pink as his +8 was 272 and I fed him another small snack.
PMPS will be 7:30 and since I was only able to dose him a f.8 for 2 cycles, should I go ahead and get back on track with that, or should I wait it out a little and continue .8?
Or should I perhaps go a different route entirely?
I am so messed up.

On another note, Rocky's "Mom" has come to visit a couple times and is possibly securing herself a new residence this coming Sunday. I *may* keep Rocky a little longer just to try and get him back on track somewhat. I showed her how to home test, she even practiced a couple times and did pretty good. Not as good as me... :lol: :lol: :lol: , but I have LOTS of practice under my belt. I feel like the lancet warden. :lol:

She was amazed when I told her "Watch this". Rocky had been sleeping under the bed. I shook the testing strips bottle, and out he cam and jumped right up on "his" dresser to be tested. I think that helped her in knowing that the ear pricks really don't bother him.

Wow, I feel like I could go on and on. See what happens when I lose access to a computer for a few days. :lol:
I feel like I have been locked in a room by myself and want to talk everyone's ears off.
What else can I say besides it feels comfortable to be back! :-D
 
Glad you're back & I love the story about Rocky coming when you shake the test strip bottle! I hope if & when he goes back she keeps up with his diabetes!
 
Callie Mae is doing absolutely wonderful.
She looks so good in green. :mrgreen:
Although occasionally, she tries on a skimpy blue number. So skimpy that it's practically green.
:lol:
All the worrying about her numbers when Rocky first got here. Pffttttt. That damn dry kibble.
 
Absolutely!
You can't get rid of me that easy.
Besides, I still have Callie Mae to brag about. :lol:
Not to mention, you guys know more than just FD! You guys just know CATS!! And I love mine, as do we all.
I consider this place my first stop if/when something goes wrong.
Or right! ;-)
 
LOL I love it that he showed off his testing savvy for his (other) mom, how cool is that! If you can keep him a little longer that would be great, if he would (c'mon boy) go OTJ [anti-jinx] before heading back I think he'll do much better. I would imagine if she was overwhelmed before, testing will be beyond her.

And you will need to have unannounced visits to be sure she isn't feeding him dry!!!!

On the dose, you are kind of at the fine-tuning stage, which can be tricky, but nice to have completely bypassed the dose ramp-up stage! I would just experiment with it - you tried early feeding today and maybe it helped, but not completely. You could try a skinny 0.8 one day and see what happens, you could try 0.9 (with feeding the drop) and see what happens. I don't think he will hypo or go super-high with tiny dose changes, so I think it is some trial & error and see what works. Generally speaking, the higher doses are better as long as they aren't triggering a bounce.

Also I can't remember if I said yesterday, but you could experiment too with shooting early if you want, even for a long weekend or so, and see if that helps his duration going back to BID during the week. If you are interested in that, just ask and we can fill you in on the ground rules if we haven't already. My memory is toast, lol.
 
Well, my pm +4 was not to promising.
I went with a .8, but he was feed a little earlier than usual in relation to shot time.
Normally, I shoot while he is eating. This evening however, the were both howling like they were starving eveytime I so much as blinked, so he was fed about 35 mins. or so before shot time.
Maybe that will be the trick. Not to fast of a drop, and possibly a longer surf.
I am going to stay up long enough to get a +5 or 6 and see how he's doing.

After I get my schedule tomorrow, I will consider TID when I know I can be around. It has been mentioned briefly. I know I have to take his daily dose and add it together then divide it by 3 and shoot every 8 hrs or so, I think. Is that right?
Might be interesting to see how he does if he is going to continue dropping so early on and heading back up so soon.

I would LOVE, LOVE, LOVE to get him OTJ before having to send him home. I would feel a lot better about the situation. I don't think I have to worry about the dry food. She (Rocky's *other* mom.. ;-) ) pretty much understands and agrees with the whole concept. She made the switch to wet before she brought him here, and she had no problem with it. And now, since he has been dx as well, she's really all for keeping him off it. She had only made the switch beforehand because she knew Callie Mae couldn't have it. Now she knows Rocky can't either.

Is it even likely that he can go OTJ with these kinds of numbers? I mean, he doesn't even look like he gets any kind of consistency. All over the place. Or is that because of my erratic dosing practices? :lol:

Will post my late night findings in the morning with his amps as I'm sure most of us are probably going to be in La-La land by then. (Not to be confused with Lantus Land... :lol: )
Except Kim, of course. Kitty likes to have her up at all kinds of weird hours. :lol:

edt: I forgot to post his numbers!
Pmps 291
+4 204
 
Why don't you start a new thread and ask? I have never done TID. You are right in theory (divide the dose into thirds and give every 8 hours); I just don't know about doing it with such a low dose......

My vote is to raise the dose by a little bit to see if you can get lower numbers. But I am fully prepared to be outvoted.
 
I'm voting with Sue here. You could try a f.8u to see if that will give him some better numbers, if it does but not enough then try .9u etc.
 
Yeah, I just threw out TID as an option. I think if you want to try it, it is reasonable b/c his duration looks a little short, but I think a higher BID dose is a fine trial too. His numbers are pretty good, so I think there is a decent chance that if he can spend a little more time in blues & greens you will see improvement in duration. I think he is an excellent OTJ candidate b/c the dose is so low that seems like a good sign to me, and he doesn't zoom a lot, so that also seems like a good sign. If his pancreas weren't working at all, I think the picture would look different, but that's just speculation.

If you do try any early shooting, you want to be sure he is past nadir, so you want to test for a rising number, either from having a spot check earlier in the cycle (nadir or past - on the way back up that is), or you do a rising number check before shooting - two tests maybe 10 minutes apart.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top