Ricky update, AMPS(235), +2(242), +4(207), +6(230), +8 (202), PMPS (202)

Status
Not open for further replies.

PamJV

Member Since 2017
I've been giving Ricky 2.75 units twice a day for 7 days. During the course of this time I was running out of the Dr. Elsey's food and was out completely for two days. I think his numbers bumped up a bit because of that. Now we have a good supply and numbers are back down, but no blue again yet.

I did a curve Sunday resulting in AMPS(235), +2(242), +4(207), +6(230), +8 (202), PMPS (202). What does this suggest? Should I increase the dose to 3 units? Or should I keep going and see if the blue numbers appear again giving it more time on the Dr. Elsey's food consistently?

Plantigrade gait is still on going !

Pam
 
Hi Pam, I can't give dosing advice but hopefully my reply here will bump up your post so that someone more experienced can see it.
I hope the Dr. Elsey's food will help bring Ricky's numbers down and I'm sorry to hear the Plantigrade gait is still happening. I've read here on a few of the posts that it can take some time to get resolved when being treated. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Pam, I can't give dosing advice but hopefully my reply here will bump up your post so that someone more experienced can see it.
I hope the Dr. Elsey's food will help bring Ricky's numbers down and I'm sorry to hear the Plantigrade gait is still happening. I've read here on a few of the posts that it can take some time to get resolved when being treated. :bighug::bighug:
Thanks, The AMPS today was 252 ! Pam
 
Thanks, The AMPS today was 252 !
Hi Pam,
I was wondering if you took any additional tests after that AMPS.
There is no data for the last night in the SS so it is hard to be sure but the "flat yellow" cycle you had yesterday in the AM is often indicative of an active cycle coming up. How's Ricky's day going?
 
Since you are following SLGS, the increase to 3.0 units was a good plan today. However, I would try to do a little bit closer monitoring if you can, while you transition back to the Dr. Elsey's food as it could bring lower numbers. Getting some evening tests would be great, especially those nights like last night when you had a lower PMPS than you normally see.
 
I see you went ahead with the increase. I'd say it was probably a good decision, based on the tests you have. I would recommend trying to get at least a "before bed" test in the evenings, though. Many cats go lower at night, and sometimes the higher numbers we see during the day are a bounce caused by those lower numbers. The only way to find out is to get some nighttime tests.

Has anybody suggesting increasing the Zobaline dose to twice a day? Ricky is a pretty big cat, so maybe he needs more. It won't hurt him - he'll just pee out the excess.
 
Hi Pam,
I was wondering if you took any additional tests after that AMPS.
There is no data for the last night in the SS so it is hard to be sure but the "flat yellow" cycle you had yesterday in the AM is often indicative of an active cycle coming up. How's Ricky's day going?
On Sunday I was testing every two hours and that seemed to be a lot for Ricky to handle. So I didn't test at night. My night shot has been around 10 pm so it is kind of late to go on into the PM with testing.

I was thinking of going up to 3 units and wait about 4 or 5 days to then do another curve. I could try spreading tests in a curve to every 4 hours so it wouldn't seem like too much for him to handle in PM. He still reacts pretty strongly to the tests bothering his ears.
Pam
 
I see you went ahead with the increase. I'd say it was probably a good decision, based on the tests you have. I would recommend trying to get at least a "before bed" test in the evenings, though. Many cats go lower at night, and sometimes the higher numbers we see during the day are a bounce caused by those lower numbers. The only way to find out is to get some nighttime tests.

Has anybody suggesting increasing the Zobaline dose to twice a day? Ricky is a pretty big cat, so maybe he needs more. It won't hurt him - he'll just pee out the excess.
Tricia, Yes someone suggested trying two Zobaline. I did that one day giving two in the morning but then he vomited pink liquid. I should try giving one in the morning and one at night. Two at the same time was too much. My PMPS is usually about 10pm. If Ricky was more receptive to tests it would be easier. He will hide and he's so big it's hard to lift him out of his hiding spots some times.
Pam
 
I should try giving one in the morning and one at night.
That is what I would recommend.

He will hide and he's so big it's hard to lift him out of his hiding spots some times.
I have been known to test Cinco while practically standing on my head - he would be comfortably ensconced under his favorite entable and refuse to move, so I would hang off the edge of the sofa and stick my hands and head in there and get the test! It can be done! Just keep trying. It's that important.
 
That is what I would recommend.


I have been known to test Cinco while practically standing on my head - he would be comfortably ensconced under his favorite entable and refuse to move, so I would hang off the edge of the sofa and stick my hands and head in there and get the test! It can be done! Just keep trying. It's that important.
Tricia, That would take a lot of agility and skill ! So far every time I test Ricky I pick him up and take him to the kitchen counter, where I have all the supplies set up and me wearing a headlight and high power glasses. The thing is this is disruptive for Ricky unless he happened to be sitting right there near the kitchen at the time.

Ricky has the habit if flicking his ear right when the needle comes near. I usually get a drop of blood just from that needle nicking his ear while he flicks his ear. But then he will also continue to flick his ear so I have to try to calm his head so the blood doesn't fly away.

Basically what I'm saying is I don't have a situation where Ricky hardly knows it's happening. I wish I could just test him where ever he happens to be. But putting him on the counter means he won't try to get away.

Pam
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top