Suzanne & Darcy
Member Since 2020
Most cats don’t do well on giving different doses for a.m. and p.m. There are a few exceptions that I have seen, but since one cycle affects the next, it generally doesn’t work and causes erratic BG.
If you would like to stay with SLGS then you should take the dose reduction that she has earned by reducing to 1.75 units at her very next shot. She already earned the reduction by dropping below 90 (on more than one occasion.)
The target nadirs for SLGS are between 90 and 150. That’s not horrible, but if your goal is to keep Rennie spending more of her time in the normal healthy BG numbers then you would be better off following MPM. There is nothing wrong with following SLGS, but it is unlikely to help your Rennie into remission or close to those normal BG numbers of 50-120 which are much healthier for her kidneys and other organs. That is the only reason I suggested you take a look at the Modified ProZinc Method. We would not be too aggressive with Rennie’s dosing, but we would have more flexibility to increase doses more quickly if needed.
If she eats only LC wet then I just recommended the MPM to help Rennie maintain better BG numbers and possibly even go into remission.
I hope this clarifies a few things. Ask any questions you have! Questions are good.
If you would like to stay with SLGS then you should take the dose reduction that she has earned by reducing to 1.75 units at her very next shot. She already earned the reduction by dropping below 90 (on more than one occasion.)
The target nadirs for SLGS are between 90 and 150. That’s not horrible, but if your goal is to keep Rennie spending more of her time in the normal healthy BG numbers then you would be better off following MPM. There is nothing wrong with following SLGS, but it is unlikely to help your Rennie into remission or close to those normal BG numbers of 50-120 which are much healthier for her kidneys and other organs. That is the only reason I suggested you take a look at the Modified ProZinc Method. We would not be too aggressive with Rennie’s dosing, but we would have more flexibility to increase doses more quickly if needed.
Rennie would not stay at 2 units per SLGS. She would be dropped back to 1.75 units if following SLGS. And we do not hold doses for ten days but for 7 days, and then we evaluate the nadirs to see if we should hold a little longer or increase. Reductions are to be taken as soon as Rennie’s BG drops below 90 (we don’t wait for seven days and then reduce, in other words.)What is the harm of staying with SLGS for Rennie? Have her stay on 2 units for a few more days. Then, I think she'll need 2.25 units. Stay with that for 10 days and see where she is at.
And, can I give her 1 dosage for the day, and a slightly lesser amount for her nighttime?
If she eats only LC wet then I just recommended the MPM to help Rennie maintain better BG numbers and possibly even go into remission.
I hope this clarifies a few things. Ask any questions you have! Questions are good.